Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 13:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Who's spying?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jun 2013, 12:17    Post_subject:  

Seems to work well on lupu 528.005 it tells the name of
my ISP four instances but I have no idea what they tell.

Could mean my ISP wants to have 4 ports open?
Maybe one are to ping me to see if me still have computer running?
But all the others+ No indication that they go outside of ISP
no mention of any IP only teh coded name of my ISP

Even now when I have the browser looking here in thread
two tabs open to Murga forum it still only give this

COMMAND PID USER FD TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF NODE NAME
cupsd 6211 root 6u IPv4 5654 0t0 TCP localhost:631 (LISTEN)
cupsd 6211 root 8u IPv4 5657 0t0 UDP *:631

okay I test the original now and not the final code I get back
nope that gave same result. If I clich the network icon in tray it says

Murga-linux.com
208.109.22.214/‎

when I google so the icon gives more information
about such but I know the other program is for to see
if some program own things still after not being on net ?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jun 2013, 20:16    Post_subject:  

Hi musher0.
I have set up my Firefox to delete all history and all cookies when closing FF, see pic, and I have made it a habit to close the FF after browsing a site - like this one - where I log in, or after having made a lot of queries or browsed a lot of sites about a spesific topic.
I guess your browser activity level will decide if it is suitable for you.

I placed a question in a thread some time ago, whether Google was activated if you only write part of the name of a site you want to browse, and the answer was YES, if Google is set as your default search engine.

tallboy
prefs.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.82 KB
 Viewed   289 Time(s)

prefs.jpg


_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4254
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jun 2013, 23:50    Post_subject:  

@tallboy:
I use opera, and I do very much the same as you suggest above to keep my connections "clean".

@nooby:
Actually, nooby, that's exactly my initial question.

As you can see from the attached illustration, I have only one tab open in
opera (this thread on the Puppy forum), but I have 8 listings in lsof and as
many in htop.

You may think that I am very advanced, but I'm self-taught in computing,
probably like yourself, so there are many questions I do not have an
answer to. This is one of them.

So... Why 8 connections for 1 web site? What's going on here?

Maybe somebody knowledgeable in Internet connections could shed
some light on this? Thanks in advance.

Best regards.

musher0
lsof-htop-opera_2013-06-28_23.jpg
 Description   From top to bottom: lsof listing, htop listing, opera showing this forum/this thread.
 Filesize   84.06 KB
 Viewed   282 Time(s)

lsof-htop-opera_2013-06-28_23.jpg


_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 727

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 01:17    Post_subject:  

The items below, which are in some browsers, will connect to the internet even though you’ve just opened a browser window …

Live Bookmarks “RSS feed” , (e.g. UK Firefox comes with BBC news RSS feed in bookmarks which automatically downloads today's headline stories ).

Google Safe Browsing , ( built in to browser, on by default ), or similar service like Yandex to protect you from malware phishing sites.

WOT (a browser add-on) … http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WOT_Services connects to the internet as soon as you open a browser window.

If you actually visit a webpage then that page can connect you to other resources , say YouTube because here is an embedded YouTube video on the webpage.

The browser addons NoScript AdBlockPlus and Ghostery block unwanted stuff when browsing via FireFox, (the latter two are available for Opera).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 02:21    Post_subject:  

Thanks Barkin what you write there most likely do explain
why so many connections are active. We need to find out
what one can do to get aware of when something bad is connected?

Take this things named "Key Loggers" that is really bad things.
They lay there on your computer and get activated as soon
as you start up and they record every key press and send these
on demand to the person that wants to be able to log in to your Bank?

Then we have those that intercept and redirect to faked sites.
such looks like the real site they have duplicated real sites
but have their own code on it so work as a in between
and can use your input for to move money from your bank
to their bank while you think you move your money to something
you buy or within your own bank.

Would be cool to have some pet or sfs that can warn about such activity
and stop it instantly obviosly.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4254
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 02:55    Post_subject:  

Thanks Barkin for the references.

Installing the AdBlockPlus extension in opera instantly reduced the number
of connections. But now I have 1 listing less in lsof than I have tabs in
opera...

All this is still a bit mysterious...

nooby said:
> Then we have those that intercept and redirect to faked sites.
It's called "phishing", and opera has a parameter you can activate to detect
that (I don't know if the Mozilla browsers have the same. Probably.)

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4254
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 03:05    Post_subject:  

Hello, again, all.

I know that using a good hosts file can increase security.
For ex., the MVPS HOSTS file from
http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm

How about the hosts.allow and hosts.deny file in /etc?
Can they also be used to increase security? If so, how?

Thanks in advance.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 727

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 12:19    Post_subject:  

musher0 wrote:
How about the hosts.allow and hosts.deny file in /etc?
Can they also be used to increase security? If so, how?

The MVPS HOSTS file performs the same function as AdBlockPlus, however AdBlockPlus has the advantage that its blacklist ("filter subscripions") is automatically updated weekly.

NB: Having a very large hosts file can slow down browsing.

NoScript uses a white-list rather than a blacklist: no script (geddit), runs without your consent, a whitelist is quicker and safer than a blacklist. IIRC NoScript is only available for Firefox & seamonkey.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Teh Agnostic Anarco

Joined: 17 Sep 2014
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct 2014, 12:42    Post_subject:  

8-bit wrote:
Another thing to think of is that you may have been part of the many that the NSA is spying/monitoring.
And if it was not for Edward Snowden bringing it to light, we may have not known.
The NSA also seems to be in a hurry to silence him as they are unsure of additional information he may have.

And you are not necessarily being spied on by the NSA.
They may have contracted others to do the spying.
Also, it is not just phone conversations, it could be looking at what you do on the net as to where you go and what you do.

But any spying on correspondence in whatever country without any form of warrant, is just plain wrong.

As a for instance, lets say that I was interested in the technology of the new printers that can make human body parts or firearms and investigate how to do it as well as download some free plans for making something with a printer.
Will this flag me as a possible "Enemy of the State" to be monitored as to where I go and what I do as well as tapping my phone calls and web activity?

In all of this, I am not singling out any country or nation.
Just imagine if I was considered a risk and was targeted for removal with a drone?

At what point do we say enough is enough?


Correct, but the Snowden part might be the biggest "conspiracy" yet, I read somewhere that the same 2 guys that were publishing Snows documents who one happens to be ebay founder, and the other is now funding the western ukrainian nazi nationalists..... Something is not right... And if you think about it, what did Snow really "reveal" to the world? REallly what did he? That spy agencies spy? Ohh really? Is that supposed to be a new paradigm shift for everyone or was that now common knowledege anyways?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0746s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]