Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 02:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How Come Gparted Won't Let Me Resize? [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 908
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 15:58    Post_subject:  How Come Gparted Won't Let Me Resize? [SOLVED]
Sub_title: Frugal Install on sda1 - ext 3
 

How Come Gparted Won't Let Me Resize?
I am attempting to resize sda1 ext 3 from 4gb to 10gb.
I enter new size number but resize function doesn't activate.
What obvious thing am I overlooking?

Thank you in advance.
resize1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  resize1.png 
Filesize  126.14 KB 
Downloaded  91 Time(s) 
puppy528.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.77 KB
 Viewed   211 Time(s)

puppy528.png

sda1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   49.35 KB
 Viewed   218 Time(s)

sda1.png


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3938
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 16:11    Post_subject:  

I'll guess cause your swap's in the way. I'd unallocate it and retry- but that's me.

You may and probably should wait for someone who 'trusts' that sucka. Not moi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 17:49    Post_subject:  

Though your picture shows the swap partition is not in use:
You should use the swapoff command to swapoff the swap partition .
Code:
swapoff /dev/sdX

In your case apparently swapoff /dev/sda2 .
To verify :
Code:
free

and
Code:
cat /proc/swaps

that the partition as Semme's cryptic message says get's usable by gparted in a way to delete it ( Trash icon ) .
Then it should resize .
Then create a new swap partition .
Then make sure to inform the kernel about changes to the partition table in the MBR ( if gparted does not do it by itself ):
Code:
partprobe

Then swapon the new swap parttion :
Code:
swapon /dev/sdaY

Then verify by free and cat /proc/swaps again .

It is also possible to move the swap partition up to the end of the disk rather than deleting and recreating it .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1011
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 18:58    Post_subject:  

Quote:
It is also possible to move the swap partition up to the end of the disk rather than deleting and recreating it .
That's the sensible action.
_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 908
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 23:56    Post_subject: How Come Gparted Won't Let Me Resize?
Sub_title: Swap File the issue
 

Removing the swap file worked.
I did "swap off" via GParted.
I did remove swap and recreated it using GParted.

I did this:
Ran Puppy in RAM without a save file (puppy pfix=RAM)
Using Gparted:
deleted swap partition, (select, delete, apply)
selected sda1 ext3, (resize/move, change size, apply)
selected unallocated, (new, size, file system:linux-swap, apply)

Quote:
It is also possible to move the swap partition up to the end of the disk rather than deleting and recreating it .

Quote:
That's the sensible action.


Next time,... What is the procedure to move swap file to end of disk?
Will moving swap to end of disk make the system run more efficient?

Thank you for the terminal command lessons, much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1011
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jun 2013, 10:20    Post_subject:  

Not more efficient, but you won't have to move it at a later date- like you have now.
You probably could have just dragged it to the end in Gparted.

_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0560s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]