Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 08:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Raring Puppy 5.6.94 (5.7alpha2), released June 29, 2013
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1691

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 10:53    Post_subject: speed  

I was wondering if the perceived speed of Raring is hardware specific.
Run just a couple of tests in Raring 5.6.94 vs Precise 3.8.3.1 (to get the kernels as close as possible) and the data point to Precise!.
This is on the same virtual machine booting from the same virtual disk where all the (frugal) puppies reside.
All the apps (but seamonkey - so will cache) was opened for the first time in the session and then just closed.
Here is the data:
Code:
Puppy Raring 5.6.94        Upup Precise 3.8.3.1
------------------------------------------------
# time seamonkey
user   0m1.103s              user   0m0.740s    
sys   0m1.447s            sys   0m1.057s

# time geany
user   0m0.240s         user   0m0.327s
sys   0m0.370s            sys   0m0.433s

# time abiword
user   0m0.637s         user   0m0.183s
sys   0m2.780s            sys   0m0.740s

# time ppm
user   0m2.270s         user   0m1.243s
sys   0m4.517s            sys   0m3.963s

# time gnumeric
user   0m0.800s         user   0m0.320s
sys   0m1.283s            sys   0m0.747s

# time gparted
user   0m0.207s         user   0m0.210s
sys   0m0.773s            sys   0m1.047s


Does anyone has any numbers showing the opposite and in what hardware?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 552
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 11:16    Post_subject: 5.6.94  

Hi ankin,

Quote:
And the biggest annoyance is that I can't save a file to (or open one from) a mounted partition. Mounted partitions are not available! See picture below.

Try clicking as shown below. If you want your drive/partition icons to appear in the "places" column, just drag them across.
image-2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   124.46 KB
 Viewed   1245 Time(s)

image-2.png


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 12:19    Post_subject: Internet connection
Sub_title: 3G modem
 

In home PC, I have installed Raring Puppy 5.7 alpha2 several times( frugal install). However, my 3G Hauwei modem is not detected. Hence no internet. In lsusb command, the Hauwei modem detecting. However, not detecting either Mobile Partner or inbult dial-up connection.

Usually while initial boot up, it will show a message that Configuring/Detecting 3G Modem. However no such message in raring puppy 5.6.94. I have also same problem in AlphaOS 8.

Please help me .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 507

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 17:06    Post_subject:  

Hi ETP,
I didn't know that partitions could be dragged to the left pane. Thanks for the tip. But that's still too much work for someone who's been spoiled by ThinSlacko. Mounted partitions are always there, ready to be used and you take them for granted. Raring deserves to have the best of what's been implemented in other puppies ... I'm not going to be satisfied with anything less than that Smile

Here's a quick list of what, in my humble view is in need of upgrade:

1) Geany 0.19.1 (2010),
latest version is 1.23.1 (2013)
2) urxvt v9.05 (2008)
latest version is 9.18 (2013)
3) make - 3.81 (2006)
latest version is 3.82 (2010)

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 01:05    Post_subject:
Sub_title: how to improve of openGL rendering?
 

Hi,
i use a CAD drawing tool called gCAD3D whose debian archive download is here
http://www.gcad3d.org/
There is also a pet available on pemasu's repo here
http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-exprimo/gCAD3D-1.82.pet

I got a try installing it on this raring-5.6.94: firstable, the rendering does not show the common coordinates axis X,Y labels, but a white square instead;
nor the so called «texturation» of objects.
This also on other Raring and Precise puppies (see screenshot shot below)

[ last edited: this might well be relevant to a so called «TEXTURATION» rendering property . Indeed, when the TEXTURE_ON parameter is set to 0 in /root/gCAD3D/cfg/gCAD3D.rc, then the X,Z labels are readable, whereas there is no texturation of the surfaces. This could be a workaround as for common geometrical drawing, texturation is not usefull ... Smile ] does TEXTURATION be one of the enable/disable compiling options of mesa ?

So i got a try installing a former mesa version, i.e. z_mesa-8.0.3.pet from ibiblio Precise repo. Now the coordinates axis X,Y labels are displayed; but display refresh is awfully slow (glxgears reports ca 80 frames per 5 seconds...!).

Any idea on how to get a working openGL?
See screenshots below.
(Till now, the only puppies which allow gCAD3D running are dpup exrimo and wheezy-3.5.2.5,..as also exprimo-5X15)

thanks for any advice
charlie
gC_Rar5694.png
 Description   X, Y labels are NOT readable
 Filesize   4.63 KB
 Viewed   1070 Time(s)

gC_Rar5694.png

gC_Rar5694+Prec_mesa8.03.png
 Description   X, Y labels are readable; but display is toooo slow
 Filesize   4.86 KB
 Viewed   1092 Time(s)

gC_Rar5694+Prec_mesa8.03.png

gC_wheezy.png
 Description   X, Y labels are readable
 Filesize   6.93 KB
 Viewed   1058 Time(s)

gC_wheezy.png


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tomo3

Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 08:38    Post_subject: abiword bug  

Code:
# abiword

abiword: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libtelepathy-glib.so.0: undefined symbol: dbus_g_connection_unregister_g_object



#rm -f /usr/lib/libdbus-glib-1.so.2.1.0

install new libdbus-glib
libdbus-glib-1.so.2.2.2.pet Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 09:07    Post_subject: gtkdialog-splash + rounded corners  

Hi,
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash displays so nicely rounded corners...

copying that /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash script to another distro although does not show anymore rounded corners ...?? Shocked

question: is there a specific gtk setting external to the gtkdialog-splash script to get those nice shaped rounded corners ?

Thanks for replying
Charlie
gtkdialog-splash rounded corners.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11 KB
 Viewed   1045 Time(s)

gtkdialog-splash rounded corners.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 09:45    Post_subject: Re: gtkdialog-splash + rounded corners  

charlie6 wrote:

question: is there a specific gtk setting external to the gtkdialog-splash script to get those nice shaped rounded corners ?

Thanks for replying
Charlie


this is as close as I could get . . .

Code:
# ./gtkdialog-splash -bg orange -deco ' ' -fontsize x-large -border false -text 'Nice rounded?'

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3337
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 14:13    Post_subject:  

Bug report...

After installing icake's Chinese pet packages
the Start menu doesn't display Chinese characters, however the icons on
the desktop do show the Chinese characters.

This occurs in alpha 1 and alpha2 of Raring. Earlier version doesn't
have this bug. Precise or Slacko doesn't have this bug.


______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3337
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 15:02    Post_subject:  

I have a suggestion for Raring...--->
make Xdialog message boxes yellow.

Here's how it's done...

Create a file named yellowbox.rc
somewhere in /root/.config/

Code:
style 'yellow_background' {
                bg[NORMAL] = { 0.99, 0.99, 0.50 }
                fg[NORMAL] = { 0, 0, 0 }
}
widget '*' style 'yellow_background'


Xdialog can then use file for color info

Xdialog --rc-file /root/.config/yellowbox.rc

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5235
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 21:06    Post_subject:  

From Barry's blog:
Quote:
Posted on 1 Jul 2013, 22:21 by BarryK
Re Raring 5.7
I've been thinking about it some more, and I don't think that I want to develop Raring Puppy to release status.

Besides, Ubuntu Raring Ringtail is one of the short-life releases, only until October.

There will probably be another official release of Precise Puppy ...sometime.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tomo3

Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 23:48    Post_subject: lang_pack_ja-1.5-Raring_5.6.94.sfs  

don570 wrote:
Bug report...

After installing icake's Chinese pet packages
the Start menu doesn't display Chinese characters, however the icons on
the desktop do show the Chinese characters.

This occurs in alpha 1 and alpha2 of Raring. Earlier version doesn't
have this bug. Precise or Slacko doesn't have this bug.
______________________________________________


Please refer to this sfs

lang_pack_ja-1.5-Raring_5.6.94.sfs
raring.png
 Description   
 Filesize   200.88 KB
 Viewed   834 Time(s)

raring.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1771
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jul 2013, 11:54    Post_subject: Re: Raring Puppy 5.6.94 (5.7alpha2), released June 29, 2013  

Billtoo wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
Have any other testers installed XBMC or VLC from puppy package manager successfully?
Installing them from ppm causes problems on every pc that I've tested the raring alphas on.

Are you downloading from one of the Ubuntu repositories?
If yes, are you doing the check for dependencies and downloading them?
Seems to need a lot of dependencies along with the VLC package.


Yes I download from the Ubuntu repositories, XBMC and VLC download and install fine, the trouble begins after rebooting the system, sound and the network connection are broken.
I have downloaded both in Precise 5.6.1 with no problems, although the versions of XBMC and VLC are older in Precise 5.6.1 they work fine.


it appears that it's libudev1_198-0ubuntu11.1_i386.deb causing those problems.... it's overwriting the one already in puppy... installing libudev from the PPM and uninstalling it should fix it.

or deleting libudev from /initrd/pup_rw/lib

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1771
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jul 2013, 11:55    Post_subject:  

in JWM, when i move a window to the edge of the screen it stops, instead of moving to the next virtual desktop, like in other puppies

EDIT: the window does move to the next desktop after a long delay ... "The optional delay attribute sets the delay in milliseconds before moving a window to a different desktop. Setting this to 0 disables dragging between desktops. 1000 is the default."

i changed the delay by editing /root/.jwm/jwm-personal and adding the delay switch

Code:
<MoveMode delay="500">outline</MoveMode>

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3337
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jul 2013, 19:03    Post_subject:  

tomo3 wrote:

Please refer to this sfs

lang_pack_ja-1.5-Raring_5.6.94.sfs


Thanks for the info. I would never be able to solve this problem
myself. Embarassed

By the way Pemasu's version of Raring does display Chinese characters.
_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1062s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]