Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 06:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-5.6 Final - plus testing next
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 31 [454 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 01:41    Post subject:  

Billtoo,

No, by that log it's an nvidia error. Looks like it isn't ready for k3.10x yet.


-------------------------


Anyway, as I do, I'm trying a radical experiment. I'm dd'ing my stick to the SSD of my eee-701SD, see what happens...

I've also noticed there is dramatic differences in speed with different nand media. I have a couple of thise Lexar firefly sticks and they go great. I have a newish imation and that is as slow as treacle. Also, old SDHC class4 cards are a bit too slow.

F2fs also slugs a fair bit of space for itself, around 11%. I'm thinking the best way to make use of it is to have all the read only files (initrd, vmlinuz, main sfs and others) on there own separate partition, either vFAT or ext, and then mount the f2fs partition as a directory for storage. That way we can get the full speed of AUFS and the advantages of f2fs.

It certainly is faster (imho) than a full install of ubuntu or mageia to a stick.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 01:56    Post subject:  

You are dead right about media speeds. I get most consistent results with Sandisk media. Not quite sure where this USB thing is going though. Considering everything, space used, speed, and simplicity, surely ext2 or 3 frugal installs running in pupmode12 makes more sense? It is my understanding that sfs files for things like OpenOffice can't be used with full installs. Have I got that right?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 02:20    Post subject:  

Dave, we'll see where it leads, but I think my last idea is the best. Mount the partition as a layer. I believe it can be done.

Anyhow, the eee experiment is a success, with 1 caveat. F2fs can't be resized, so my 4gig stick partitions have to stay put, so I just made the other 4 gig into another partition. It runs plenty fast so maybe the future of f2fs lies with SSD's.

'nuff about f2fs, it's another toy to play with.
eee-f2fs.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   67.48 KB
 Viewed   839 Time(s)

eee-f2fs.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 04:05    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
PAE version is released

It is named 5.6.71. The kernel was released this morning (my time). I haven't tested it much but it looks like the kernel source is ok.

See main post.


LOL, back at the coffee shop . . . .

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 07:07    Post subject:  

@Billtoo

I was right. It's the nvidia driver. It can be compiled with a patch. I used the latest nvidia beta driver. Works.
Code:
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.5.71

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 8400 GS] (rev a1)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe
  Drivers requested to be loaded:       nvidia

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
  Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse ramdac record shadow wfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1366x768 pixels (413x232 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video


Let me know if you want instructions.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 08:21    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
@Billtoo

I was right. It's the nvidia driver. It can be compiled with a patch. I used the latest nvidia beta driver. Works.

Let me know if you want instructions.


I changed card 1 back to one ext4 partition with the bootflag set and
did a manual frugal install of 5570, used grub4dos for the boot loader
and the card has a 4gb savefile on it.
I think I'll stick with the older kernel for now Smile

Thanks

EDIT:GNOME Mplayer does a great job of streaming music, I just
discovered that while waiting for kdegames to download and install.

http://streaming208.radionomy.com:80/Golden-Country-Songs
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.84 KB
 Viewed   681 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 876

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 09:03    Post subject:  

Ehh, bad news about the "BUG" - it revealed itself in the first attempt (k3.4.52).
BTW, I've noticed some time ago that this problem is not limited only to savefiles on NTFS filesystem; on Acer (with Slacko-5.5-PAE), where I have ext4 formatted (ext2/3 were even worse) TrueCrypt volume on ext3 partition, same thing happend few times while writing large files...
Oh well, I'll stick with k3.10.1. Cool

I didn't notice before, but this issue emerged yet in αlpha - mplayer: video works, but no sound when playing wmv file/stream:
mplayer mms://media4.abc.net.au/broadbandkids/20070521_1500/story6hi.wmv wrote:
[...]
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
Unsupported AVSampleFormat 8
ADecoder init failed Sad
ADecoder init failed Sad
Opening audio decoder: [dmo] Win32/DMO decoders
ERROR: Could not open required DirectShow codec wmadmod.dll.
ADecoder preinit failed Sad
Win32 LoadLibrary failed to load: /usr/lib/codecs/wmadmod.dll
IMediaObject ERROR: 0x83fd69d could not open DMO DLL (0x0 : 0)
ADecoder init failed Sad
Opening audio decoder: [acm] Win32/ACM decoders
ACM_Decoder: Unappropriate audio format
Could not load/initialize Win32/ACM audio codec (missing DLL file?).
ADecoder preinit failed Sad
Loading codec DLL: 'divxa32.acm'
Win32 LoadLibrary failed to load: /usr/lib/codecs/divxa32.acm
Can't open library divxa32.acm
ADecoder init failed Sad
Cannot find codec for audio format 0x161.
Audio: no sound
Starting playback...
[...]

Putting wmadmod.dll (extracted from mplayer-codecs-20110131-i686-1sl.txt) into /usr/lib/codeds did fix that for me...but it's a .dll. Rolling Eyes

@Zigbert:
'Radio stations -> Setup -> Install' doesn't work anymore.
Is it due to Russoodle's server recent problems?
The 'build index' option works though. Smile
____________

EDIT: ffconvert has some problems with the new ffmpeg. Here's what I got while trying to convert .wmv/.avi/.mov/.mpg file (see screenshot).

EDIT2: Tried to do something and partially fixed.
It's at least a matter of different 'ffmpeg -codecs' output in new ffmpeg, so changing parsing method in FFConvert partially did the trick.

I changed:
Code:
  VCODECS=$(echo "$CODECS"|grep '^[ ]*[ D]EV[ S]'|sed -e 's/^[ A-Z]*//' |cut -d ' ' -f1)
  ACODECS=$(echo "$CODECS"|grep '^[ ]*[ D]EA[ ]'|sed -e 's/^[ A-Z]*//' |cut -d ' ' -f1)

to:
Code:
  VCODECS=$(echo "$CODECS"|grep '^[ ]*[ D]EV.*[ S]'|sed -e 's/^[ A-Z.]*//' |cut -d ' ' -f1)
  ACODECS=$(echo "$CODECS"|grep '^[ ]*[ D]EA.*[ ]'|sed -e 's/^[ A-Z.]*//' |cut -d ' ' -f1)

and successfully did convert those 3 vids from ~/puppy-reference/video/, however I'm absolutely not sure if I've done it right.
Also, due to different codec names lots of presets should be redone.

Well, it needs to be really fixed (where's Shinobar these days? Wink ).

Greetings!
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   33.79 KB
 Viewed   605 Time(s)

Screenshot.png


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.

Last edited by SFR on Sun 14 Jul 2013, 18:00; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1272
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 10:11    Post subject: Broadcom wl driver for k3.4.52 non-pae  

Available from:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76495&start=81

Both delta and full pet....

Cheers
PeeBee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
for_wov


Joined: 10 May 2013
Posts: 25
Location: Europe:Kiev

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 14:54    Post subject: wifi
Subject description: freezing system
 

broadcom 4313. this time brcsmac loaded correctly. simple network setup recognized wlan interface. scanned network. suggested to enter my pass (entered) and system frose (only power/reset button) this happend on some slacko versions before. alpha works great with blacklisted b43/ 5.6.71 haven't tested yet/ would submit some info on errors but freezing Idea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 17:47    Post subject:  

Full install of 5.5.71 (PAE) to ext4 partition

Only one small thing to report so far:

numlockx not included in startup folder. I checked numlock on quick setup screen, restarted x, then opened numlockx in startup and turned it off (my preference). restarted x again and it is now off.

Looks good - very fast boot on hp p4, 2.8ghz cpu, 2 mb memory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 18:09    Post subject:  

Hi SFR

Yeah, ffmpeg works ok, just seems they changed syntax and ff-convert chokes.

I'll PM shino see if he's interested in fixing the issue.

Thanks for the mplayer fix, that's a strange one.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 19:28    Post subject:  slacko-5.5.71 PAE version  

Hi Mick,

It's working great with everything tried except NVIDIA driver installation. Very Happy

Jim
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   42.14 KB
 Viewed   486 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5429
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 01:01    Post subject:  

Fresh frugal installation of 5.5.70.Everything working ootb. Because the 3.4.x kernel is being used the nouveau.noaccel=1 boot parameter is not needed.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.5.70

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse record shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 55
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 56
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 59
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 58
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
4353 frames in 5.0 seconds = 870.487 FPS
4599 frames in 5.0 seconds = 919.773 FPS
4627 frames in 5.0 seconds = 925.375 FPS
4583 frames in 5.0 seconds = 916.497 FPS
4506 frames in 5.0 seconds = 901.170 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory : 3373MB (215MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Slacko Puppy - 5.5.70
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Mon 15 Jul 2013 12:08:13 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on NV4C
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia


Kernel : Linux 3.4.52 (i686)
Version : #1 SMP Wed Jul 10 10:53:04 EST 2013
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.15 (stable)
Distribution : Slacko Puppy - 5.5.70
-CurrKernel : Linux 3.4.52 (i686)
Version : #1 SMP Wed Jul 10 10:53:04 EST 2013
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.15 (stable)
Distribution : Slacko Puppy - 5.5.70

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 3373796 606908 2766888 0 63592
-/+ buffers: 543316 2830480
Swap: 6211580 0 6211580

Looks good so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 07:38    Post subject:  

Tried the new full USB install with total success. Boot time is 27 seconds from pressing the button to a full working desktop including WiFi hookup. Sandisk USB stick.
Interesting thing: Gparted would not resize an existing FAT32 partition to 32MB, even though it was totally empty. Nagged about not being able to go that small because Windows wouldnt like it! Fix was to totally delete all partitions on the USB stick then start fresh. As there was no Windows install on either the stick or the HD, that was weird.
So strange not linking stuff to outside a SAVE file. Need to muck around with SFS files now to figure best way to load them. If I use Load SFS, which seems to work fine, will the files exist TWICE on the USB? Once as the original sfs, then again as the loaded version? Dont know yet.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 08:00    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
@Zigbert:
'Radio stations -> Setup -> Install' doesn't work anymore.
Is it due to Russoodle's server recent problems?
The 'build index' option works though. Smile
Suzie (russodle) is setting up a new server, and hopefully we'll be back on track soon.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 31 [454 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0978s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]