Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 23:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-5.6 Final - plus testing next
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 17:18    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.6.1

Using Firefox browser installed in Slacko 5.6.1.
Tried to download an image file and got this screen for selecting location to save to. Notice blank screen. Seemed to go blank at random times, trying to navigate to a location in file system.
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   35.08 KB
 Viewed   627 Time(s)

Screenshot.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 17:53    Post subject:  

Not a bug bigpup, you are running firefox as Spot. It will only be able to open /root/spot (spots home) and any sub-directory. If you don't wan to be spot, quit firefox, open menu>system>Login and Security Manager, uncheck firefox and click Ok.
ffspot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.05 KB
 Viewed   634 Time(s)

ffspot.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 18:23    Post subject:  

Alas ways PPM :

Hit button just download the dependencies (5) and the package (imagemagick) ..

NOTHING happens :


_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 23:00    Post subject:  

01micko,

I was wondering if Spot was the problem, but was not sure.
Now you know why I never use spot.

Test results:
Spot operation mode seems to be working in Firefox Very Happy Laughing Cool

Computer just gave me the coffee warning. Exclamation Laughing
coffee.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.56 KB
 Viewed   477 Time(s)

coffee.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 23:27    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.6.1

PPM (initial default setup)

Repositories showing in PPM are 5. OK.
Max number able to list at one time 5.
In configure PPM
6 repositories are selected initially, by default.
The Puppy-noarch offical repository is not showing.
This one should be seen by a new user for no other reason then this.
Screenshot2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.54 KB
 Viewed   436 Time(s)

Screenshot2.png

Screenshot1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.63 KB
 Viewed   445 Time(s)

Screenshot1.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 23:50    Post subject:  

While looking at PPM as a new user of Puppy and Linux for that matter.
I feel there would be less confusion for a new user, if PPM initial default setup, would have

package types

defaulted to:

any type.

Let them change it to other options, when they understand what those options are.

As it is now, default is GUI apps only.

Do you even understand all of these options?
Screenshot3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.01 KB
 Viewed   439 Time(s)

Screenshot3.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 04:31    Post subject:  

Hi, Mick.

Bad news here... V. 5.6.1 has the first save bug. The size determination
dialogue is skipped, and we end up with a negative value of -1 Mb for
the pupsave file. (Please see attached illustration.)

It may be tempting to blame the problem on my 10-year old machine,
but it has 2 Gb's of RAM and 1.128 Tb of mass storage attached to it,
so it still has plenty of power. Moreover, this machine does not have
save-file (or equivalent) problems with other types of Puppies, nor
on other distros that accept save files for frugal mode (e.g. Debian
Squeeze).

I did peruse the shutdown code, but I won't touch it. Some people are
better and more experienced at editing it than I am. Especially code
by BK.

That said, here are a couple of ideas.
1) If the set_pupsize function (not exact name) could default the
SIZEPFILE (exact name) variable at 16 or 32 Mb's when there is an error
at first save in this frugal mode (is it mode 12 or 13?), it would prevent
frustrations. The user could fatten the pupsave file easily at 2nd or 3rd
boot.

2) If the "DO NOT SAVE" button halted the script, the user would be
able to save his/her configurations to another medium, again
preventing frustrations, and saving time.

Best of luck with your new version, but this tester is out for the above
reason. However, I did provide sufficient test information (I think) about
this problem in a thread that I created yesterday, so if you or anyone
wants to draw on my experience of this bug, you know where to look:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=739203&sort=lastpost#739203.

BFN.

musher0
59.png
 Description   
 Filesize   44.59 KB
 Viewed   413 Time(s)

59.png


_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 07:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5726
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 04:50    Post subject:  

Just wanted to report that I ran Slacko 5.6.1 off and on all day with no real problems. Installed some pets,did some visual tweaks and made Firefox run as root....... really nothing bad to report.Used both the Athlon XP and the P4 installs.... a bit slower on the Athlon XP box but no real difficulties.

Switched over to Sid a bit ago........

Code:
Sun Nov 24 03:02:41 CST 2013
james@lxde:~$ uname -r
3.12-1.towo-siduction-686
james@lxde:~$
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 06:39    Post subject: fine  

Works fine in my AMD E-350 laptop. X usually consumes 10% of cpu power and firefox 15% with just the forum active - these are higher than usual (The white load line is generally visible. Anyway, don't pay attention to it, am just a spoiled puppy user Smile ). I thought that this should be normal with a new kernel.

As to musher0's negative pupsave file, I haven't encountered it yet in any recent puppy.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 06:56    Post subject:  

Hello, people.

I did manage to get a pupsave. Please see how at http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=739203&sort=lastpost#739203

However, upon reboot, I got the gdk bug, as in Precise 5.7.1 "non-retro".
Shucks. Smile

BFN.
IMG_0132.JPG
 Description   I had to take a real picture. The program calling system in ROX being broken, mtpaint did not launch. I apologize for the fuzziness.
 Filesize   24.54 KB
 Viewed   353 Time(s)

IMG_0132.JPG


_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 07:25    Post subject:  

I too can not recreate the negative size of savefile (nor PPM hang) yet...
@Musher0: you could launch shutdownconfig from terminal - maybe some errors will show up..?

raffy wrote:
Works fine in my AMD E-350 laptop. X usually consumes 10% of cpu power[...]

I'm getting the same on AMD C60 netbook. But after installing fglrx (when will be available) this should drop ~3-5%.

@Mick: Slacko has (in devx) strings, but named as "strings-GNU" - shouldn't it be just "strings" (like in Precise's or Dpup's devx)?

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 07:48    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
I too can not recreate the negative size of savefile (nor PPM hang) yet...
@Musher0: you could launch shutdownconfig from terminal - maybe some errors will show up..?

raffy wrote:
Works fine in my AMD E-350 laptop. X usually consumes 10% of cpu power[...]

I'm getting the same on AMD C60 netbook. But after installing fglrx (when will be available) this should drop ~3-5%.

@Mick: Slacko has (in devx) strings, but named as "strings-GNU" - shouldn't it be just "strings" (like in Precise's or Dpup's devx)?

Greetings!


Musher, what SFR says might shed some light (run wmpoweroff in terminal with original shutdown script), it may be a 'mount' error or something silly. This was the case with the ntfs bug which I fixed about a year ago but it was a bit more than just running in the terminal, however yours should get that far since it's still in GUI when you see the bug.

SFR, already have a work around. I actually had an argument about this with Barry, then he changed busy box strings to be used, but then for some reason changed it back! Slackware has strings in util-linux package but other distros (all of them according to Barry - see the template for util-linux in woof) have it in bin-utils. Now I am just renaming strings-GNU (part of slackware bin-utils). See how that works.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 08:05    Post subject:  

Hello, all.

@SFR and 01micko:

Success using shutdownconfig directly, as a standalone program.
The size dialog showed correctly.

That seemed to do something to the rc.shutdown script in /etc, since
it ran correctly, in full, and I got another valid pupsave file on
the "official" reboot run.

@SFR:
I ran shutdownconfig from console with < set -xe > added at the top
of the script, and the run displayed no errors.

So partial success, again.

When I got back in, on second boot with this new pupsave file, though,
the gdk bug was staring me in the face! But let's handle only one insect
at a time, shall we?!... Smile

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 08:59    Post subject:  

Hope it is okay with my noob question.
How do I know which version is best for my computer

slacko-5.6-4G-NON-PAE.iso or slacko-5.6-PAE.iso

I have a Desktop HP/Compaq AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core
rather old computer CPU now. ?
3GB RAM Doing frugal install on the NTFS HD

The Graphics are nVidia G98 (GE Force 9300 )

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 10:26    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, all.

@SFR and 01micko:

Success using shutdownconfig directly, as a standalone program.
The size dialog showed correctly.

That seemed to do something to the rc.shutdown script in /etc, since
it ran correctly, in full, and I got another valid pupsave file on
the "official" reboot run.

@SFR:
I ran shutdownconfig from console with < set -xe > added at the top
of the script, and the run displayed no errors.

So partial success, again.

When I got back in, on second boot with this new pupsave file, though,
the gdk bug was staring me in the face! But let's handle only one insect
at a time, shall we?!... Smile

BFN.

musher0


Now its me also about to complain about rc.shutdown !!!

Save-file was created correctly to vfat in size of 128 MB with ext3 .
Then I went wmexit to prompt and reboot then failed to copy /initrd/pup_rw into the save-file .
/dev/sdb1 1018084 845548 172536 84% /mnt/sdb1

Today's boot failed with kernel panic about smp, shed and hrtimer .

e2fsck -v /mnt/sdb1/WoofCEtest/slackosave-2013_11_23.3fs
e2fsck 1.42.6 (21-Sep-2012)
/mnt/sdb1/WoofCEtest/slackosave-2013_11_23.3fs: recovering journal
/mnt/sdb1/WoofCEtest/slackosave-2013_11_23.3fs: clean, 11/32768 files, 9804/131072 blocks

/dev/loop1 126931 5663 121268 5% /mnt/+mnt+sdb1+WoofCEtest+slackosave-2013_11_23.3fs

Only empty lost+found in that Twisted Evil Mr. Green
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1043s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]