Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 05:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
no wifi Precise puppy for live use on a usb drive.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
MrReality

Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 21:08    Post subject:  no wifi Precise puppy for live use on a usb drive.  

I have a 2003 computer with only 600 mb of ram. My problem is that I can not connect to the internet. It isn't a problem with the card because I can connect on Browser Linux just fine, (the reason I am leaving browser linux is that the internet cuts out and it can't find it for a couple of days then it finds the wifi signal again)

Is there a version of puppy that has EASY wifi setup? One without having to know all of the information, i just need to be able to select the right network and type in the password. Which would be best for this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3272
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 21:49    Post subject:  

Come on mate>>>Specs.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 420
Location: El salvador

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 22:24    Post subject:  

Not always is easy connect internet in linux and there is a many apps that help in linux
rutilt, wicd, fresbee etc

whats is you network specs? how can i know?

open terminal and type
# lspci -nn
this help to know if puppy works in your pc or laptop

example:
Quote:
┌─[root][08:21 ][~]
└─[RcNight][$] lspci -nn

01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller [10ec:8136] (rev 01)
02:02.0 USB controller [0c03]: NEC Corporation USB [1033:0035] (rev 43)
02:02.1 USB controller [0c03]: NEC Corporation USB [1033:0035] (rev 43)
02:02.2 USB controller [0c03]: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 [1033:00e0] (rev 04)
02:03.0 Network controller [0280]: Ralink corp. RT3062 Wireless 802.11n 2T/2R [1814:3062]


Theres a lot of tutorials in this forum too
here one
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499701

ok you can start with these options.

_________________
My blog


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
MrReality

Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 23:14    Post subject:  

I am not sure of specs, it is a computer with no operating system. It had win xp a long time ago. It has a failed hard drive. That's all I know besides the 600 MB of RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2644
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jul 2013, 18:36    Post subject:  

MrReality wrote:
I am not sure of specs, it is a computer with no operating system. It had win xp a long time ago. It has a failed hard drive. That's all I know besides the 600 MB of RAM.


I don't know much about Precise Puppy.

Did you try something mainstream like Puppy 5.28 (Lupu) or the newer Slacko?

A machine that had run XP, with 600 MB RAM should be able to run those.

I'm still using Lupu, and it has an extensive package of drivers for various wireless cards.

_________________
Wellminded Search
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3263
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jul 2013, 02:07    Post subject:  

The progress of my Puppy number-1's was:
1. Lupu [excellent, worked with my old desktop, but not my new]

2. Slacko-5.3.3.1 [Works with my new desktop, and did also with the old]

3. Precise-5.6.1 [works with my new desktop, my new number-1]
A really nice Puppy, like it slightly better than Slacko.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT

Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 898
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jul 2013, 05:21    Post subject:  

I'm not on Puppy at the moment (at work), but you can find your specs from within Puppy.
I think it is Hardinfo or something like that.

_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrReality

Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jul 2013, 11:07    Post subject:  

Precise puppy didn't work to well on it. I couldn't get the wifi to work. When I installed Slacko, it seems to be working fine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrReality

Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jul 2013, 18:29    Post subject:  

Well now it says "Failed to active interface wlan0. Any beginner friendly help please? Slacko Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jul 2013, 18:41    Post subject:  

In console: pdiag
Post the created tarball here as attachment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrReality

Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2013, 00:39    Post subject:  

Can you post how to do that in beginners english please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 420
Location: El salvador

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2013, 01:53    Post subject:  

open terminal and type pdiag like this ex.

Quote:
┌─[root][11:54 ][~]
└─[RcNight][$] pdiag
a window apear just follow the instructions




you can send the compress file in a new reply here.

_________________
My blog


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
MrReality

Joined: 07 Jul 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2013, 11:01    Post subject:  

The wifi started working for a little bit, it worked long enough for me to email it to myself, then it went out again so I am having to post it here from a different computer. Pdiag is attached.
pdiag-20130712.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pdiag-20130712.tar.gz 
Filesize  129.39 KB 
Downloaded  61 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2013, 11:49    Post subject:  

You have:
DESCRIPTION: Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller
VENDOR: 14e4 DEVICE: 4318
It uses b43 kernel module driver and it has been initialized ok:

57.592419] b43-phy0: Broadcom 4318 WLAN found (core revision 9)
[ 57.646766] Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PMNLS ]
[ 57.765010] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
[ 57.765250] Registered led device: b43-phy0::tx
[ 57.765271] Registered led device: b43-phy0::rx
[ 57.765289] Registered led device: b43-phy0::radio
[ 102.368351] atkbd serio0: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xd5 on isa0060/serio0).
[ 102.368357] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e055 <keycode>' to make it known.
[ 102.378437] atkbd serio0: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xd5 on isa0060/serio0).
[ 102.378441] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e055 <keycode>' to make it known.
[ 117.533350] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[ 130.710023] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)

I suppose the found firmware is ok. Precise Puppy 5.6.1 has kernel 3.2 and as far as I know its firmware base should be ok.

Only error I did find is:
STEP2: iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
STEP3: iwconfig wlan0 channel 11
Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; Network is down.
But that is possibly because you havent tried to connect with password yet. Later the connection has been established with connection information.

Has the wireless of this laptop worked ok with other distro ?
Broadcom chip which uses b43 driver should be quite easy to get working. The support for it is basically in every Puppy.

I suggest you to try whatever other non-PAE kernel Puppy distro. Slacko with non-PAE kernel would be good alternative.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2013, 13:21    Post subject:  

My bcm4318 airforce one internal card works fine with almost
any Puppy.
Uses b43 pcmcia module.
I always use connect wizard and wpa.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0819s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]