Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 08:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to bypass xorgwizard during boot time?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2013, 18:32    Post subject:  How to bypass xorgwizard during boot time?  

Hi all,
Help is needed in getting XorgWizard out of the boot process.
So that puppy boots exclusively as instructed by custom made Xorg.conf.
In theory it looks like a feasible task. Perhaps someone has done this before.
Thank you in advance.

Last edited by anikin on Fri 26 Jul 2013, 06:18; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10656
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2013, 21:48    Post subject:  

It might help if you told us which version of Puppy, and if it's a frugal or full install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jul 2013, 06:23    Post subject:  

Thanks Flash for your interest and correcting the heading. The original one was a bit murky. But I will change it once again to be more to the point.

I'm mostly interested in the very latest versions, because of my perverse obsession with kernel numbering. Installs are on an ext4 SD card, frugal, remastered, running from RAM (pupmode 5) - no save file. In a nutshell, I see no good reason for having xorgwizard on my system. I find it to be an irritating burden, that tries to alter my near perfect xorg.conf during the boot process and impose its own "median" settings. Let alone additional seconds it adds to boot time. I want my puppies bypass xorgwizard during boot and eventually remove it from the system.

Booting is pretty much a straightforward process, see here: http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/library/l-linuxboot/
I'm striving for simplicity in my puppies.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3073
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jul 2013, 14:38    Post subject:  

Here's a thread for Pfix=nox

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65553

There's some code by forum member Kal

Quote:


Full Installation
"...Pfix=nox doesn't work in full install because the code that interprets this only exists in initrd.gz, and full-install doesn't use initrd.gz. (In fact, all other puppy boot parameters will not work in full install)"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jul 2013, 06:36    Post subject:  

When you say xorgwizard, do you really mean it? It is the wizard that in the old days asked you questions the first time you started Puppy. But it was never supposed to run again unless you booted Puppy on different hardware. And I thought current Puppies didn't run it, but used Xorg's built-in automatic hardware recognition or whatever it's called. Are you actually complaining about that?
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jul 2013, 09:12    Post subject:  

@don570
thanks for the link
@disciple
I'm refering to:
/usr/sbin/xorgwizard
/usr/sbin/xorgwizard-automatic
/usr/sbin/xorgwizard-cli
/usr/sbin/xinitrc_test
however it seems, Barry has already implemented 'BOOT_DISABLEXORGWIZARD' in puppy, see this line in xorgwizard:
Code:
#120723 BOOT_DISABLEXORGWIZARD variable in /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONSTRAINED. refer 3builddistro, also xwin.
and in woof:
Code:
#120723 BOOT_DISABLEXORGWIZARD variable
http://bkhome.org/fossil/woof2.cgi/vpatch?from=a913fe8a978b571a&to=8473af633dbcabf6

I want to do a raw, noobish test - remaster a pup with above and my own (and only one!) xorg.conf and see how it goes on first, OOTB boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jul 2013, 21:09    Post subject:  

You could boot to cli with pfix=nox in full installations if you change the code in /etc/profile
from
Code:
#want to go straight into X on bootup only...
 if [ ! -f /tmp/bootcnt.txt ];then
  touch /tmp/bootcnt.txt
  # aplay -N /usr/share/audio/bark.au
  dmesg > /tmp/bootkernel.log
  exec xwin
 fi

to something like
Code:
#want to go straight into X on bootup only...
[ -f  /tmp/bootcnt.txt ] || {
cat /proc/cmdline | grep 'nox' || {
touch /tmp/bootcnt.txt
dmesg >/tmp/bootkernel.log
exec xwin ; } ; }
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 12:27    Post subject:  

Hi Karl,
No full install here, only pfix=ram, nothing else. I want to go to the desktop, not cli and get there without the help of xorgwizard. Do you know how other distros go to the desktop? Do they have xorgwizard too? The more I read into these scripts, the more confused I'am. See this line in /.profile and read further down, for example.
Code:
#120221 moved this code here from /etc/profile, also take 'exec' prefix off call to xwin.

And see the picture below, I do not want all these xorg.conf files to be present. There will be 8 of them, when mine is added, whereas only one is needed. I want to throw out that garbage, but xorgwizard needs to read the whole bunch on boot.
xconf.jpeg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.98 KB
 Viewed   511 Time(s)

xconf.jpeg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 17:54    Post subject:  

Tja, good question . the newish xorgwizard-automatic should in theory boot directly to desktop . It writes a xorg.conf .

As a crude idea i would create a xorg-always.conf and check if that file exists , so not to run any xorgwizard .
Code:
Xorg -config file           specify a configuration file, relative to the
                       xorg.conf search path, only root can use absolute


Since there are several xorgwizards involved and the call to some xorgwizard in /usr/bin/xwin script occurs more than one time I think, it is no easy one-liner .

Lupu 5 had another direct to desktop aproach ,

Am currently running openSUSE-10.3 LiveCD with older Xorg(7.2) than Puppy-4.3(7.3) which booted directly into Xorg using the intel driver without problems with a newish 1920x1080 monitor . xorg.conf looks slightly different here .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 08:43    Post subject:  

Here's something more to consider: my recent remasters do not go to the desktop.
(see here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=716025#716025)
As described in archwiki, the startup process is simplicity itself:
Start X at Login
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Start_X_at_Login
xinitrc
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xinitr
Xorg
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xorg
No xorgwizards, no games with pupdeskflags, no issues. Just boot and shoot straight to the desktop. I downloaded alphaos and had a look at how simargl is starting up his OS. He's doing that exactly as described in the above links. Nothing more, nothing less. Moreover, his process is based on Barry's scripts. He has simplified them and judging by how fast alphaos starts, has done that excellently. I wish Barry, pemasu and micko had a more open-minded look at xorgwizard. What's the good of a wizard, if it prevents my remastered puppies from starting up? Why not implement, what simargl has already done and proven to work?
.
.

Last edited by anikin on Fri 09 Aug 2013, 15:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 08:48    Post subject:  

He's fake !
If I would live next to that "allah-fark"-smeagol .. he would take some time in hospital .

First it was that you want no X - now you want X .

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 09:13    Post subject:  

Karl,
I said I didn't want to go to cli, but directly to the desktop without a wizard. Can we avoid a clash of personalities and controversy in this thread? Startup is done differently in the above example, that was the point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10656
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 15:13    Post subject:  

Who the hell is Smeagol? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 15:36    Post subject:  

The more I'm googling and reading into the subject, the more intolerant of xorgwizard I become.
Ditch it. Drop it. It does more harm than good:
1) It does not play by the book.
2) It is not documented. Very few people will ever understand how it works.
3) It steals Barry's valuable development time, that otherwise could have been put to better use.
4) It's a distraction and hurdle to innocent noobs like me, who want to learn how to customize their puppies.
5) Other Linux distros don't use it and are doing pretty fine.
6) There are 4 files pertaining to xorgwizard, that I'm aware of. In total they weigh in at 140K. (wrong, more have been discovered - 290 K already). That's no small amount of real estate being wasted, and for what?

Last edited by anikin on Sun 18 Aug 2013, 06:49; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 11:51    Post subject:  

I think you need to hack the /usr/bin/xwin script. I had a look to it but I'm not a programmer and I can't suggest anything. If the problem was mine I would try to modify xwin script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0811s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]