Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 23:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 27 [396 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
pchan

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 08:07    Post subject: Re: X Tile  

L18L wrote:
It is python

import sys, os, gettext, ctypes, ctypes.util, locale
import gtk, gconf
import __builtin__

# x-tile
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/x-tile", line 30, in <module>
import gtk, gconf
ImportError: No module named gtk
#

So nothing to compile
just import gtk Laughing Laughing Laughing

edit: simargl fast faster Laughing





wow!

I wish i could pretend to understand it all the importing.

But I must be honest and reveal my linux illiteracy. Is importing the same as searching in pakage manager and installing?

If not, could you guide this beginner step by step? eg: Step 1 : launch "terminal" step 2: type in "import something something "

step 3 : ???

enjoy x-tile! (always comforting to have this last line and to know that it can be done.)

(Now i wonder if x-tile is worth it because the last poster said that it didn't work so well for openbox. What about lxde? problem is there is no alternatives if i want to enjoy windows tiling. I might have to look for xfce or e17. But precise 5.7 feels so good.)

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 09:29    Post subject: Re: X Tile  

pchan wrote:

wow!

I wish i could pretend to understand it all the importing.

But I must be honest and reveal my linux illiteracy. Is importing the same as searching in pakage manager and installing?

If not, could you guide this beginner step by step? eg: Step 1 : launch "terminal" step 2: type in "import something something "

step 3 : ???

enjoy x-tile! (always comforting to have this last line and to know that it can be done.)

(Now i wonder if x-tile is worth it because the last poster said that it didn't work so well for openbox. What about lxde? problem is there is no alternatives if i want to enjoy windows tiling. I might have to look for xfce or e17. But precise 5.7 feels so good.)

thanks!


hi pchan,

first off you will need to install the devx.sfs http://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.7/devx_precise_5.7.sfs right click on it and choose 'sfs load' to install

next open the PPM (puppy package manager) and type 'python-gtk' into the find box, and install 'python-gtk2_2.24.0-3'. be sure to click on the 'examine dependencies' button if prompted.

then type 'python-gconf' into the find box and install that.

x-tile should then work

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2579
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 11:08    Post subject: Re: X Tile  

pchan wrote:
...
enjoy x-tile! (always comforting to have this last line and to know that it can be done.)
...


thanks 666philb

my console wrote:
# x-tile
WM = JWM
DEBUG warning _NET_WM_NAME improperly set by application
class xskat
DEBUG warning can't get PID _NET_WM_PID failed
xtile.png
 Description   enjoy x-tile!
 Filesize   10.99 KB
 Viewed   11058 Time(s)

xtile.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 11:19    Post subject:  

hmmm .... maybe it doesn't like jwm
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pchan

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 13:55    Post subject: Re: X Tile  

666philb wrote:


hi pchan,

first off you will need to install the devx.sfs http://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.7/devx_precise_5.7.sfs right click on it and choose 'sfs load' to install

next open the PPM (puppy package manager) and type 'python-gtk' into the find box, and install 'python-gtk2_2.24.0-3'. be sure to click on the 'examine dependencies' button if prompted.

then type 'python-gconf' into the find box and install that.

x-tile should then work



Thanks 666philb,

I tried to do according to your guide. Unfortunately, it didn't work out. After installing pyton-gtk, my dialogue boxes became weired. All the fonts in the dialogue boxes became unreadable. They became a string of small boxes. Lukily, I had a backup save file. I have deleted the save file and use my backup save file.

Anyway, thanks. Hope there is a way to make x-tile work. If not, I hope that someone can put xfce windows manager for precise 5.7. If someone does that, precise 5.7 will be my main puppy since xfce already has the tiling feature built in.

I just feel good about precise 5.7. The booting speed has improved somehow. And there is a sense of stability and snappiness. Like good old puppy 4 again but better. I like it. Thanks to Barry K for giving us such a wonderful puppy.

meanwhile, x-tile appears to be an interesting and useful program to have if one is not using xfce.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 14:54    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Xsane cannot find my HP all-in-one. I have installed your hplip_scan-3.12.4.pet which has always been reliable.

I no longer have a copy of hplip_scan-3.12.4. But I tested the latest 3.13.7 in Precise and it worked fine, both with USB and wifi.
Using ppm, I uninstalled 3.12.4. Then installed your latest hplip_scan-3.13.7.pet. Xsane still cannot find my HP 5280.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9261
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 15:03    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Xsane still cannot find my HP 5280.

Type the command "sane-find-scanner". Does this find your device?

If not, then the problem is hardware related.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 15:57    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Xsane still cannot find my HP 5280.

Type the command "sane-find-scanner". Does this find your device?

If not, then the problem is hardware related.
Code:
# sane-find-scanner
  # sane-find-scanner will now attempt to detect your scanner.

found USB scanner (vendor=0x03f0 [HP], product=0x5d11 [Photosmart C5200 series]) at libusb:002:002
 
#
Xsane scan reports no devices available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 19:10    Post subject:  

Precise 5.7.1 released, see my blog announcement:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00346

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 19:24    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Xsane still cannot find my HP 5280.

Type the command "sane-find-scanner". Does this find your device?

If not, then the problem is hardware related.


Sadly that isn't always the case, my Netgear WN111v2 wireless dongle being a classic example. Works first time all the time in WinXP SP3, performance in Puppy varies considerably dependent upon the bundled firmware and kernel versions. It was fine on Lupu releases right up to and including 528, but I had all sorts of problems with other official Puppy releases that succeeded Lupu.

Performance on Precise 5.6 was woefully sub-standard, to the extent that I decided not to bother with Precise Puppy at all, however when I was briefly testing Precise 5.7 Retro with the Pentium D and the aforementioned dongle things seem to have improved.Oddly, Upup Raring 3.8.7 and 3.9.9.1 by Pemasu have been fine, whereas Barry's Raring builds also had problems.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MikeF

Joined: 18 Jun 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 19:27    Post subject:  

@Jim1911 , I've always seen mounting 'pecularities' in Puppy and have come to tolerate them. Wink

For instance, on my multiboot system Puppy complains about 'hibernated' NTFS partitions even though I don't have them automounted in /etc/fstab - an obscurely documented behavior.

I've also come to believe that Windows doesn't always flush delayed writes to disk before hibernating. This results in Linux inadvertently corrupting the NTFS partition that I choose to write to. Therefore, I shutdown Windows instead before mounting shared NTFS partitions RW under Linux.

A Puppy specific wierdness is that defining static mounts of NTFS partitions in fstab usually fails with an error message - I have yet to find a good explanation. Running the mount command at the command line works.

BTW - loud applause Very Happy for fixing a wierd networking bug in v5.6 that I never resolved. SNS would never restore my wired network access at startup - I had to connect manually each session. Working fine now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9261
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 19:54    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Xsane scan reports no devices available.

Check the file /etc/sane.d/dll.conf. Is the line "hpaio" being written to the end of it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 20:24    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Xsane scan reports no devices available.

Check the file /etc/sane.d/dll.conf. Is the line "hpaio" being written to the end of it?
Yes, "hpaio" is present.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9261
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 20:49    Post subject:  

@jim1911: From the command line, run "scanimage -L"

Then run
Code:
export SANE_DEBUG_DLL=128
export SANE_DEBUG_HPAIO=255
xsane

This will dump a bunch of messages, but it might say something useful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 21:50    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
@jim1911: From the command line, run "scanimage -L"

Then run
Code:
export SANE_DEBUG_DLL=128
export SANE_DEBUG_HPAIO=255
xsane

This will dump a bunch of messages, but it might say something useful.
"scanimage -L" identifies the proper scanner, however, setting the debug codes and running "xsane" goes thru a ream of different printers and the installed browsers, however, the HP5200 series doesn't appear to be checked at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 27 [396 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1141s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]