Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 16:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 25 [366 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1020
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 03:22    Post subject:  

thank you Billtoo, I shall d/l and try it.

With further investigation I think I have fixed it.

It seems to also need mplayer_codecs_basic2-20130718 installed to play movie dvd's.

I shall try that for a while and see if anything else fails.

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0 is under development.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94575
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 04:06    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
It seems to also need mplayer_codecs_basic2-20130718 installed to play movie dvd's.

Is there something special about your DVDs? Nobody else has reported needing this additional codec pack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3953
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 05:50    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Anyone having these problems with Burniso2 CD?
Burniso2CD program:
Burn speed setting seems to have no affect on burn speed. No matter what setting, it burns at top speed of CD disk.
Multi-session burn option does not work. It still burns a closed disk.

I recently recognized such behavior about the speed setting in Puppy-4.3 , too .
Had upgraded a lot of burning cmdline tools .
Had to disable xorriso-1.2.2 for a definition not found in libncurses .
So am using CDRECORD='cdrecord' . cdrecord might have been upgraded, too .

At least cdrecord output in the rxvt window shows a burn speed around 10, whilst a debug line I inserted
echo " $CDRECORD $BURNMULTI -data -eject -v speed=$BURNSPEED dev=$DEVDEV $ISOFILE"
shows speed=4 .

Have disabled all the -eject parts and added
done #burn-again-loop
eject $CDR
###END###
because this is annoying to me to need to reinsert all the time .

EDIT :
Code:
cd-info

Can set drive speed : No
Could probably be set into burniso2cd ?

Last edited by Karl Godt on Thu 08 Aug 2013, 11:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 283
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 10:44    Post subject: UNetbootin fails to detect USB unit...  

Hi there...

SO GLAD that UNetbootin is available for Precise. It installs well it seems, No missing dependencies, but it fails to detect my USB flash drive that is always detected.

That said, Precise detects it, but UNetbootin does not pick it up.

That whether its mounted or not. Filesystem is Fat32.

Hope to get some hints on this issue:-)

Best

Atle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Montchalin

Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 10:59    Post subject: Seamonkey and Opera Browsers Crash
Subject description: mouse, keyboard, or nothing provokes the crashes
 

Non-Pae, retro Precise Puppy 5.7.1 on a Presario X1000

Seamonkey and Opera crash very often. I can not cause the browsers to crash at will, but the mouse seems to be the biggest culprit. Second, would be the keyboard. But I have seen it crash while not even touching the keyboard.

I have had this problem with Saluki, Carolina, Wary,.... I can not remember a time when I did not have the occasional browser crash.

I am surprised nobody else has mentioned this.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 11:05    Post subject: Re: Seamonkey and Opera Browsers Crash
Subject description: mouse, keyboard, or nothing provokes the crashes
 

Montchalin wrote:
Non-Pae, retro Precise Puppy 5.7.1 on a Presario X1000
Seamonkey and Opera crash very often.
How much RAM?
Do you have a swap file? If yes, how big?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Montchalin

Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 11:12    Post subject:  

Thanks for the quick reply!

Memory is maxed out at 1gb. I don't have a swap file. Could that be it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 12:09    Post subject:  

Montchalin wrote:
Memory is maxed out at 1gb. I don't have a swap file. Could that be it?
1gb is enough, but I would test the memory. A swap file seems help.
Use PPM, install 'memtester_4.2.2' and see if any memory problems.
Run memtester several cycles, it takes a long time.
Browsers use more memory than just about anything else.
All I have tried crash after LONG browsing sessions.
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 12:55    Post subject:  

> Did you see the instructions in the YASSM Help for Win98 shares?

Yes, I used upper case for the server name and share, and entered servern=PIPKIN in the YASSM Options field. Still "no connection." Did I miss something?

I also tried

servern=PIPKIN domain=MYNET

and

servern=PIPKIN,domain=MYNET

in the options field (I can't find anything in the YASSM thread here on how to put multiple options in this field). No dice either way.

I hate to ask stupid questions, but does the 3.2.48 kernel (in Retro Precise 5.7.1) have support for networking with Win98 machines? Is anyone else doing this successfully?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 13:21    Post subject:  

From the YASSM Help,
Quote:
Multiple options must be separated by semicolons.

However, I think that commas would still work.

YASSM has definitely worked in the past. Unfortunately, I no longer have a Win98 box to test this on. Try
Code:
sec=ntlm; servername=PIPKIN

Do your Win98 shares require authentication?

It may be that the mount command in these new Puppies no longer recognizes the options required by Win98.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 13:46    Post subject: lxterminal - bug report  

Lxterminal seems to be broken. It didn't recognize enter key and didn't accurately deal with pasted in text. I used the PPM to reinstall it, and it did reinstall with two dependencies. Then it worked fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 13:50    Post subject:  

This is interesting, I booted Precise Retro with pfix=ram and now YASSM *can* connect to the Win98 shares. (Pnethood still can't, however.)

Now all I have to do is figure out why it won't work when Precise is using my save file. Or, since there isn't much yet in the save file yet, just start over.

I'd still really like to get Pnethood working, but this will do for now, if I can keep YASSM working with the save file active and/or in a full installation.

Thanks to all who helped on this!

EDIT: Even more interesting, once I've established a connection with YASSM, Pnethood *will* connect to the Win98 box.

If I tell YASSM to unmount the connection, then it becomes Pnethood again refuses to connect.

Oddly, Pnethood also finds a server "YASSM" in its scanning, with a share called "C@PIPKIN" - but won't connect to it.

This is Pnethood 0.7.i18n.

Last edited by ahoppin on Thu 08 Aug 2013, 14:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 13:56    Post subject:  

Excellent. Which set of options did you need?

I expect that they would also work with the newer kernel, but you would probably need "sec=ntlm" added to the Options line.

I can't think of anything that you might have added to your current savefile that would have broken YASSM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 14:36    Post subject:  

ahoppin wrote:
Oddly, Pnethood also finds a server "YASSM" in its scanning, with a share called "C@PIPKIN" - but won't connect to it.

Which makes no sense because YASSM is not a server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 16:52    Post subject:  

> Which set of options did you need?

All it needed was the servern= flag.

No clue what might have broken YASSM. I deleted the savefile and started fresh. I'll try to remember to check YASSM with each change, that way if something breaks it, I'll know what I did.

There has to be a clue to fixing Pnethood in the fact that it works fine after YASSM has already connected to the share. Whether I'll be able to figure it out is another matter entirely. :-\

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 25 [366 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0881s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]