Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 22:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 36 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2016, 19:26    Post subject:  

Did not work initially... however, I've done so much wireless testing on that thing that I've kind of become my own enemy. There's a half dozen wireless utilities on there, at least...

I'm going to do a reinstall and see what happens.

EDIT: After no fewer than four of my CD drives refused to work (!) and the hard drive in the CPi decided to die (at least according to BIOS) -- I'm calling it quits for the evening... if I don't I'm going to have to learn to alcoholic and that's not something I want.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 13:08    Post subject:  

I think I may have a workaround for the CardBus problem... esbelugas, I'll still try your script Wink

Turns out I have a USB 1.1 hub that takes external power (it has a switch that takes it from self-powered to wall-powered). The CPi has only one USB port -- which is why I didn't want to use a USB WiFi card -- but with a hub, things are a little different...

Doesn't much matter, though, with the hard drive busted. (I hope it's the drive and not the controller... I should probably test that, though.)

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 14:35    Post subject:  

Weeeeeeeeell... I installed Precise 571 non-Retro this time.

More things work, but the sound demon has returned. The driver doesn't exist at all in Precise 571 Regular.

Anyone want to compile it for me? Laughing I need the applicable one for a Crystal 4237B sound chip. IIRC the driver is called cs4236... please no SSE anything in the compile target, I'm rocking a Pentium II here.

I'd do it myself, but I really don't fancy the idea of compiling even that on a 300MHz P2 with a quarter gig of RAM. I'd be there all afternoon.

EDIT: Never mind... even *USB* WiFi cards refuse to work here. Screw it, I'm installing ClassicPup. It's deathly slow but it will probably actually work...

EDIT2: no, I'm just setting it aside. I had to hard power-off it after the CD drive in it refused to work (WTH?!) and once again it won't boot right.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3150
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 17:28    Post subject:  

Hey, starhawk.

Sounds like your hardware is throwing not just one 'wobbly', but a whole series of them... Laughing


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 18:09    Post subject:  

It's a rebellious 17 year old, what do you expect? Laughing
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3150
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 18:13    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
It's a rebellious 17 year old, what do you expect? Laughing


^^^ 'Nuff said..! I remember what I was like at that age... Laughing You've definitely got your work cut out, old son... Rolling Eyes


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 18:38    Post subject:  

Actually, this one's probably got me fired up once too many. I can't really do with it what I wanted -- so it's probably headed to the local tech shop for recycling, come Thursday. Of course I'll strip it of anything meaningfully useful first...

...which of course won't be much. The RAM is actually valuable because it's very very weird (look up "EDO memory" some time... they didn't make it for long, and they haven't made it in forever), and I just put a 1.8" SSD in the drive tray, with an adapter, and that assembly is staying with me. That's about it, TBH.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
esbelugas

Joined: 03 Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Location: Yorkshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 19:38    Post subject:  

> this one's probably got me fired up once too many
Sometimes it's worth one more go. Sometimes it isn't. Maybe sleep on it and then decide. Smile

> look up "EDO memory" some time
Definitely worth keeping hold of this, I think. I bought some used EDO memory a short while ago - difficult to find and 8Mb cost me as much as 4Gb of SDRAM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 19:52    Post subject:  

8mb? That sounds like 30pin SIMMs. You got a 386 or sumptin?

That Dell takes a max of 256mb, and that's what it's got -- 2x 128mb sticks. They were a Christmas present last year Wink

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
esbelugas

Joined: 03 Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Location: Yorkshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2016, 08:49    Post subject:  

My mistake - it was 32Mb EDO, 72 pin. I bought it for an old system board (think it was Socket A based), but sadly the board went belly-up shortly after I took it out of storage.

I did buy a 72-pin 8Mb module at the same time, but it was regular FPM to add to a late model 486 (16Mb total). No chance of running Puppy on this box, so I'm planning to install FreeSCO and see what it can do as a network appliance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2016, 18:14    Post subject:  

FPM is not regular Wink it's just as weird as EDO. Both were briefly common around the time the dinosaurs went extinct...
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TIW

Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon 06 Mar 2017, 17:06    Post subject: Precise 5.7.1
Subject description: Icons coming back
 

Hi. I have deleted Seamonkey from precise.5.7.1 but find those Seamonkey icons coming back in /.confg/rox.sourceforge.net/OpenWith
Why are they coming back ? How to stop them from doing so ?
Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Mar 2017, 17:10    Post subject:  

Did you delete it by using "Remove Builtin Packages"?
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 07 Mar 2017, 09:06    Post subject:  

*On second thought, I'll pass..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
snayak

Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jul 2017, 05:38    Post subject:  

Dear All,

I am using Precise puppy on my AMD Athlon XP 2000+ (512MB RAM) machine.
I downloaded precise-5.7.1-retro.iso and devx_precise_5.7.1.sfs from http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.7.1/.

Where should I look for the following pakages?
1. Java
2. Python
3. Virtual Box
4. Kernel sources for 3.2.48

Didn't find them at sfs folder http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/sfs/. Sad

Kindly guide.

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak

_________________
[Precise 571 on AMD Athlon XP 2000+ with 512MB RAM]
[Fatdog 611 on Intel Pentium B960 with 4GB RAM]

Home: http://www.mathmeth.com/sn/
Blog: http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 36 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0641s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0166s) ][ GZIP on ]