Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 10:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Remastering breaks pgprs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 10:27    Post subject:  Remastering breaks pgprs
Subject description: Slacko and Precise
 

Hello Puppy friends!

I have met a slight problem after remastering a Slacko iso and i need your help! Note: I have met the same problem before with Puppy Precise.

I don't have a wired or wireless internet connection, so i use a gprs modem (3g usb stick). After the remaster process, on the new iso, pgprs connect is broken and i can't connect through gprs any more!

I suppose that i have to reset completely the pgprs script before remastering and run it all over again on the new iso, but i have no idea how to do that!

Can you help me somehow?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 11:36    Post subject:  

Hi.

I had this problem already when using Lucid Puppy 528-4 to make the LazY Puppy of. Since these times I do generally remaster only after a fresh reboot into RAM, no save file.

I do my work, save the files onto a ext3 partition, do a reboot, copy the files into the system and start immediately the Remaster Suite - the one and only program I do use in between, is the default text editor.

Also I did run into a problem in precise when remastering: it could not boot into desktop and wanted me to enter settings for language, keyboard, screensize etc.

After installing my LazY Puppy Remaster Suite into this Precise (5.6) and using this to remaster, it booted straight up to the desktop again.

Here is an early version, that might work/help.
Please note my last posts in this thread

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 11:46    Post subject:  

I'll try your way! Thanks for your answer brother, it was really helpful! Smile
_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 12:04    Post subject:  

pgprs-shell |-setup |-connect use files in /etc/* ppp/* peers .

Make sure that altered files in /root and /etc flush into the remaster .

Also make sure that the /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe does not load/install the /lib/modules/all-firmware/option files or tarball again into /etc/init.d/Option .
It checks
Code:
firmware_module_func(){
[ .. ]
FIRMPKG=`cat /etc/modules/firmware.dep.$KERNVER  | grep -v '^#' | grep ':' | grep -E "$FPATTERN" | cut -f 1 -d ':' | head -n 1`
if [ -f /lib/modules/all-firmware/${FIRMPKG}.tar.gz ];then
cp -af /lib/modules/all-firmware/${FIRMPKG}.tar.gz /tmp ##>/dev/null 2>&1
   cd /tmp
   tar -zxf ${FIRMPKG}.tar.gz ##>/dev/null 2>&1
fi
[ .. ]
}


On newer Pups it is no .tar.gz anymore - they should be extracted and copied.

Proper remastering is such a difficult task ! Have Fun Anyway !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 12:10    Post subject:  

Thank you for that! I 'll try this way too!
I am not a programmer, nor a developer, i 'm just experimenting and trying to discover all Puppy possibilities! Smile

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Aug 2013, 11:13    Post subject:  

Rather than encouraging users to carve up puppy to work around its limitations, I am working on a reimplementation of pgprs (as well as adding it to frisbee) to make it conform to the way puppy does business. I have long been concerned that pgprs misuses some puppy features, but now see where its design interferes with remastering and probably with updating between puppy versions.

I am nearly ready to post a test version of the re-do, but need those of you with the wireless modems to verify that my new version still works as well as before. I do not have hardware for testing, so rely on others for verification. Please give me a bit more time, after which I probably will post the first version here. I am calling it pgprs-1.5 and making a new package for it (instead of building it into puppy -- this is consistent with recent practice relative to woof).
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue 13 Aug 2013, 11:24    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
Rather than encouraging users to carve up puppy to work around its limitations, I am working on a reimplementation of pgprs (as well as adding it to frisbee) to make it conform to the way puppy does business. I have long been concerned that pgprs misuses some puppy features, but now see where its design interferes with remastering and probably with updating between puppy versions.

I am nearly ready to post a test version of the re-do, but need those of you with the wireless modems to verify that my new version still works as well as before. I do not have hardware for testing, so rely on others for verification. Please give me a bit more time, after which I probably will post the first version here. I am calling it pgprs-1.5 and making a new package for it (instead of building it into puppy -- this is consistent with recent practice relative to woof).
Richard


I'm looking forward to test your application and help with any way i can! Take your time, i'll be around waiting... Wink

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2013, 17:49    Post subject: Upgraded pgprs-1.5  

koulaxizis,
I have something for you to try! I reconfigured the internals of pgprs so that remaster can include the existing setup. In the process, I cleaned up a few human-factors things. Please feel free to criticize my changes, as I want to improve the user experience.

The noticeable difference is that I removed the "Pgprs Setup" menu item but retained the "Pgprs Connect" entry. If Pgprs has not been set up or does not have a device or APN specified, the setup window will appear. Otherwise, to get to the setup window, click the 'connect' icon and then "Wireless GPRS modem". "Pgprs Connect" will now always appear in the menu, instead of only when PGPRS has been selected for use.

The attached package contains both the improved" pgprs-1.5, but also an updated remasterpup2 script. (They will be in separate packages when I submit them to puppy.) Once the package is installed, set up PGPRS the way you want it, then run the remaster tool.

HOWEVER, do two special things during processing of the "/etc" directory:
1. When asked about "customising" the /etc file, click "Yes" (to include your current PGPRS settings).

2. When you are allowed to add files to the "/tmp/etc" directory, you need to run a "helper" script to copy some new pgprs components. To do that. click on the "file" icon on the desktop, then find the file in the window that pops up, pgprs_remaster_etc_helper, and click it. It won't appear to do anything, but some files will be added to /tmp/etc/ppp. Then continue the remaster process.

Your new master puppy should start PGPRS with the settings you entered originally.

Although I have done what I can to work out any "kinks", I cannot verify that PGPRS actually works as you expect. I need you to test it and report your results, good or bad, but especially if bad. Thanks for your help with this.
Richard
pgprs-remaster_prototype-20130818.pet
Description  Upgraded PGPRS with customized remaster of PGPRS.
For testing only.
pet

 Download 
Filename  pgprs-remaster_prototype-20130818.pet 
Filesize  20.91 KB 
Downloaded  169 Time(s) 

Last edited by rerwin on Tue 20 Aug 2013, 14:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 02:05    Post subject:  

I will test it as soon as possible (probably today) but i already have a question:

Quote:
When asked about "customising" the /etc file, click "Yes" (to include your current PGPRS settings).


This will customise the remaster to my hardware. Isn't this bad for the other users who will try the ISO on their machines, wouldn't cause problems?

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 02:26    Post subject:  

/etc/.XLOADED , /etc/asound.state and /etc/X11/xorg.conf are the main hardware related configuration files in /etc I am aware of .
/etc/init.d/ directory could be left pristine, too .
/etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG , /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE and /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG should probably be unchanged also .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 02:36    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
/etc/.XLOADED , /etc/asound.state and /etc/X11/xorg.conf are the main hardware related configuration files in /etc I am aware of .
/etc/init.d/ directory could be left pristine, too .
/etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG , /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE and /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG should probably be unchanged also .


Thanks for that! I'll run the tests soon and let you know! Smile

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 14:20    Post subject:  

koulaxizis wrote:
This will customise the remaster to my hardware. Isn't this bad for the other users who will try the ISO on their machines, wouldn't cause problems?
Yes it is (bad). I understood your request to be to preserve your GPRS settings in a remaster. That seems like customising, to me. That's why I implemented the change that way.

Could you tell me more about what you need to accomplish with such a change. Maybe there is a better way to handle that.

If you need a generic remaster but with a GPRS setup common to all users of that remaster, that is neither generic nor customised. The best way to handle that is to create a generic remaster but also copy the file, /etc/ppp/pgprs.conf to /tmp/etc/ppp/ (as well as clicking on 'pgprs_remaster_etc_helper') when prompted for additional changes to the /tmp/etc directory. This should work with the new prototype I provided, but not with the original pgprs. That is all the new remasterpup does, but only during customisation.

BTW, the helper script will not be necessary once pgprs-1.5 is built into a puppy distro being remastered.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 14:43    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
/etc/.XLOADED , /etc/asound.state and /etc/X11/xorg.conf are the main hardware related configuration files in /etc I am aware of .
/etc/init.d/ directory could be left pristine, too .
/etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG , /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE and /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG should probably be unchanged also .
Karl,
The only one of those files copied for customisation is xorg.conf. If you feel it is important to add asound.state to that, only Barry can make that call.

Regarding .XLOADED, that has recently been moved to /root. Barry modified remasterpup2 for that, but assumed that there would always be present a modules.dep.inst.* file, even though it is conceivable that no firmware would get copied (because only a small subset of drivers use a firmware tarball/directory). I modified his change to test for .XLOADED in /root and to set a switch for the /etc-directory processing logic to test, and then to assume that both the /root and /etc directories have been completely copied to /tmp (at the appropriate points). As this option is only for an unofficial use of remasterpup (to make a "boot disk"), it is the user's responsibilty to comply with the requirement that both be copied.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0874s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]