Where is the video memory address of desktop #2?

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Post Reply
Message
Author
musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

Where is the video memory address of desktop #2?

#1 Post by musher0 »

Hello, all.

Sorry to bother you, but there seems to be very little Linux info on this
subject on the Web.

Where is video memory address of desktop #2? How do we locate it?
How long is it if I have a 1280x1024 screen? Or a 1024x768 screen?

Possible practical application:
If we could detect the beginning address of video memory for
desktop #2, we could use it as a trigger for changing its backdrop.

For ex., if we move to desk #2, we ask ROX to use PuppyPin2.

This in partial reply to someone who asked a similar question based on
xfce on Mint, but I can't find the thread anymore. But I've been toying
with the idea for Puppy for a few years.

Thanks in advance for any input.

musher0
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

Ibidem
Posts: 549
Joined: Wed 26 May 2010, 03:31
Location: State of Jefferson

Re: Where is the video memory address of desktop #2?

#2 Post by Ibidem »

musher0 wrote:Hello, all.

Sorry to bother you, but there seems to be very little Linux info on this
subject on the Web.

Where is video memory address of desktop #2? How do we locate it?
How long is it if I have a 1280x1024 screen? Or a 1024x768 screen?

Possible practical application:
If we could detect the beginning address of video memory for
desktop #2, we could use it as a trigger for changing its backdrop.

For ex., if we move to desk #2, we ask ROX to use PuppyPin2.

This in partial reply to someone who asked a similar question based on
xfce on Mint, but I can't find the thread anymore. But I've been toying
with the idea for Puppy for a few years.

Thanks in advance for any input.

musher0
Ack! Ick! NO!
I'd expect segfaults if you tried that.
Size will depend on your bit depth as well as screen size and location has a large number of other factors.
If you have compression, there's no way to tell-and at least most Intel and AMD graphics systems do.
If you don't, size is (internal bit depth * w * h )/ (8 bits per pixel).

Attach an instance to a desktop; the way to do this depends on your DE.
Log the PID.
Keep track of that for sending the new background.

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

Re: Where is the video memory address of desktop #2?

#3 Post by musher0 »

Ibidem wrote:
musher0 wrote:Hello, all.

Sorry to bother you, but there seems to be very little Linux info on this
subject on the Web.

Where is video memory address of desktop #2? How do we locate it?
How long is it if I have a 1280x1024 screen? Or a 1024x768 screen?

Possible practical application:
If we could detect the beginning address of video memory for
desktop #2, we could use it as a trigger for changing its backdrop.

For ex., if we move to desk #2, we ask ROX to use PuppyPin2.

This in partial reply to someone who asked a similar question based on
xfce on Mint, but I can't find the thread anymore. But I've been toying
with the idea for Puppy for a few years.

Thanks in advance for any input.

musher0
Ack! Ick! NO!
I'd expect segfaults if you tried that.
Size will depend on your bit depth as well as screen size and location has a large number of other factors.
If you have compression, there's no way to tell -and at least most Intel and AMD graphics systems do (compression).
If you don't, size is (internal bit depth * w * h )/ (8 bits per pixel).

Attach an instance to a desktop; the way to do this depends on your DE.
Log the PID.
Keep track of that for sending the new background.
Hi, Ibidem.

Thanks for the reply -- and for the warning! By "attaching an instance to a
desktop", I gather that you mean something like the following?

Code: Select all

wmctrl -s 0;rox -p="/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin"

Code: Select all

wmctrl -s 1;rox -p="/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin1"

Code: Select all

wmctrl -s 2;rox -p="/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin2"
Relying on a reliable program to do the checking, and then attach some ROX command to it?

Sorry if the above sounds primitive. I'm only advanced enough in programming to know that I'm not advanced enough...

Best regards.

musher0
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#4 Post by musher0 »

I found the thread that eluded me earlier : http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88231
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#5 Post by technosaurus »

Fyi, jwm has the ability to set different bg images on different desktops.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#6 Post by musher0 »

technosaurus wrote:Fyi, jwm has the ability to set different bg images on different desktops.
And how does one do that, kind sir? :) Perhaps there are code or configuration examples somewhere?

Thanks in advance.

musher0
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

jimwg
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon 19 Aug 2013, 02:44

#7 Post by jimwg »

musher0 wrote:
technosaurus wrote:Fyi, jwm has the ability to set different bg images on different desktops.
And how does one do that, kind sir? :) Perhaps there are code or configuration examples somewhere?
musher0
Ditto to that!!!

Jim in NYC

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#8 Post by technosaurus »

It is a standard option in my jwm tools, but I got all of the details directly from joewing.net/jwm iirc. You can also have mxn desktops now (that made it a bit tricker to figure out which was which) as for the icons, you can use different trays (multiple if you want) per desktop via jwm ala wbar without animation (scottman uses one for drives in akita and ptray is based on it) ... Btw, menus dont have to be just for apps either, you can build one to represent anything like showing all drives and having the possible actions in the submenu (if mounted show unmount, if unmounted, show mount, etc...)
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#9 Post by musher0 »

technosaurus wrote:It is a standard option in my jwm tools, but I got all of the details directly from joewing.net/jwm iirc. You can also have mxn desktops now (that made it a bit tricker to figure out which was which) as for the icons, you can use different trays (multiple if you want) per desktop via jwm ala wbar without animation (scottman uses one for drives in akita and ptray is based on it) ... Btw, menus dont have to be just for apps either, you can build one to represent anything like showing all drives and having the possible actions in the submenu (if mounted show unmount, if unmounted, show mount, etc...)
Hi, technosaurus.

Would you be kind enough as to post the URL to the Puppy forum thread
or to a download site for your jwmtools?

I'm sure that some new Puppyists are already interested.

Thanks in advance.

musher0
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

Post Reply