Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 13:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
upup528.005
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Bernard's Cask


Joined: 20 Nov 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 29 Aug 2013, 21:26    Post_subject:  upup528.005
Sub_title: FF Self Initiated Upgrade
 

I found FF had self initiated an update. If this behind my back doings is going to be the new paradigm, I'm done with it. Is this right?[img][/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 29 Aug 2013, 22:49    Post_subject:  

This is controlled from FF Edit-> preferences->Advanced->Update
You change the settings to what you want it to do for updates.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bernard's Cask


Joined: 20 Nov 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 01:56    Post_subject:  

Puppy should not be packaged (without a warning) with automatic FF updates enabled Sad When I'm not even intending on saving my session, why should FF be allowed to effectively and klandestinely steal expensive bandwidth every time puppy (live ro-media or pfix=ram) is fired up? Confused And it's not just me, others (we-all) depend on BW not being abused Mad This isn't Redmond Embarassed Perhaps there should be a kernel line parameter option "pfix=no_surprises" Idea I'm one that firmly believes in letting sleeping dogs lie Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8257

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 05:43    Post_subject:  

Hmm well it IS a firefox annoying feature...by default newer versions do it to anyone that installs it on any system.

The only way to prevent it is if a profile is created with auto update disabled...I do that for myself as part of an anti large profile but its not something that would normally done for a system thats meant for the general public.

If you want to make a protest post on the mozilla forum as it is they who have made this annoying change (and several others for that matter)
I would not mind the auto updates in general if such updates were guaranteed beneficial..... but really I believe in user choice too rather than someone who decides whats best for me.

But just to repeat this is not puppy's doing as such... but perhaps it might be worth devs to consider making a few tweaks to their browser packages.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 20:39    Post_subject:  

You need to post this to the Upup 528.005 topic.
The developer of Upup has control of this.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 21:55    Post_subject:  

I forget to change the settings in FF also quite a while .
As mikenb stated, packaging a browser downloaded as precompiled .tar.* "as is" directly into a .sfs for example would run the browser first time seeking for updates by default .

The only file that may contain settings I can find is

/root/.mozilla/firefox/5jv65xn5.default/prefs.js

Code:

# Mozilla User Preferences

/* Do not edit this file.
 *
 * If you make changes to this file while the application is running,
 * the changes will be overwritten when the application exits.
 *
 * To make a manual change to preferences, you can visit the URL about:config
 * For more information, see http://www.mozilla.org/unix/customizing.html#prefs
 */

user_pref("app.update.auto", false);
user_pref("app.update.enabled", false);
user_pref("browser.search.update", false);
user_pref("extensions.update.enabled", false);


and this is the ~/.mozilla/firefox/profiles.ini file :
Code:
[General]
StartWithLastProfile=1

[Profile0]
Name=default
IsRelative=1
Path=5jv65xn5.default
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8257

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 06:50    Post_subject:  

To add changes that will be included in a new profile edit /usr/lib/firefox/defaults/profile
A set of preferences can be set and then copied from an existing profile.
Avoid those 200MB profiles lol
Use the word profile many times...

mike profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0615s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]