Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 18:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
"pup_301.sfs not found" on booting Cloudy Skies Live distro
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 13 Sep 2013, 08:41    Post subject:  

Hmmm .. I like the init ram disk shell .
Code:
pmedia=usbflash /init

- perhaps two times
and
Code:
exec switch


?

~
Privately am running xephem
XEphem 3.7.6 - Clear Sky Institute Inc. http://www.clearskyinstitute.com/xephem/

version 3.7.5rc11
that I compiled myself .. had it on Win Sky Drive .. not anymore .. they had reduced sizes ..

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
liro

Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Fri 13 Sep 2013, 20:27    Post subject:  

Okay, I just give up on this... I've tried everything mentioned in this thread several times and none of it works, producing the same errors on both my laptop and the desktop computer. Maybe I'm just cursed? :/ I dunno, but it seems like I'm just not destined to use Cloudy Skies Live, for the time being at least.

Thanks for the help anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 14 Sep 2013, 06:04    Post subject:  

What I could think of is to use the initrd.gz from other later Puppies , just changing the DISTRO_SPECS file inside of these .

Have not dl Puppy Cloudy Skies for its huge size of 450MB .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
liro

Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Sun 15 Sep 2013, 20:30    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
What I could think of is to use the initrd.gz from other later Puppies , just changing the DISTRO_SPECS file inside of these .

Have not dl Puppy Cloudy Skies for its huge size of 450MB .

Thanks Karl, I tried that but it didn't work. I think I'll just forget about it for the moment, wasted too much time on it already Razz.

At least I've got Stellarium to work now on Slacko 5.6 (just upgraded today).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jaje

Joined: 14 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 14 Oct 2014, 20:39    Post subject: One More Suggestion  

I know this is kind of old, but I might have stumbled on another answer. I was trying to use ISOBooter to boot Slacko Puppy (among others) from a USB. It kept using my save file from the Puppy installed on my hard drive, and on a computer with no Puppy installed, it came up with the same red text pictured in a previous post in this thread (not able to find .sfs file).

After reading some of the other solutions, I tried altering the menu.lst file in the root of the USB before I messed with anything in the .iso. Under the entry for Slacko Puppy, I changed the "pmedia=cd" to "pmedia=usbflash/slacko-5.7-NO-pae.iso". I rebooted and it worked.

If everyone is way ahead of me on this, please disregard. - I don't know what I am doing, so this was a major breakthrough for me!

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 14 Oct 2014, 20:55    Post subject:  

Could you run a few more tests?

1. Set up ISObooter to boot off the splash screen. Does this help with finding the SFS file?

2. Set up ISObooter to NOT boot off the splash screen, but change the menu.lst entry to "pmedia=xxx". Does this work?

ISObooter uses "pmedia=cd" because it is Puppy's most aggressive mode for locating files, and usually works correctly. But it might also find a savefile on the hard drive, which you might not want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jaje

Joined: 14 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 15 Oct 2014, 21:15    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Could you run a few more tests?
1. Set up ISObooter to boot off the splash screen. Does this help with finding the SFS file?


Booting it with the splash screen, it still found and used the savefile from the hard drive.

rcrsn51 wrote:
2. Set up ISObooter to NOT boot off the splash screen, but change the menu.lst entry to "pmedia=xxx". Does this work?


Yes, that worked! It found and loaded the SFS file from the ISO.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 73
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Oct 2014, 08:05    Post subject:  

I realize this is apparently solved, but one thing I noticed on the boot up

"pup_301.sfs"

An archaic thread about this problem revealed then that a line of coding
IN ERROR used an underscore to search the sfs file. It SHOULD be

"pup-301.sfs" with a dash

This goes back to 2008.

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jaje

Joined: 14 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu 16 Oct 2014, 20:40    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
1. Set up ISObooter to boot off the splash screen. Does this help with finding the SFS file?

2. Set up ISObooter to NOT boot off the splash screen, but change the menu.lst entry to "pmedia=xxx". Does this work?


Okay, I did a few more tests - I tried the above two methods on:
precise-5.7.1-retro.iso and
racy-5.5.iso

Neither worked either way (couldn't find SFS file), but the Slacko Puppy works fine with the pmedia=xxx method. Something's different about Precise and Racy...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jaje

Joined: 14 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 21 Oct 2014, 20:42    Post subject:  

jaje wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
1. Set up ISObooter to boot off the splash screen. Does this help with finding the SFS file?

2. Set up ISObooter to NOT boot off the splash screen, but change the menu.lst entry to "pmedia=xxx". Does this work?


Okay, I did a few more tests - I tried the above two methods on:
precise-5.7.1-retro.iso and
racy-5.5.iso

Neither worked either way (couldn't find SFS file), but the Slacko Puppy works fine with the pmedia=xxx method. Something's different about Precise and Racy...


Nope, I am wrong - it is finding the SFS file from the hard drive with the Slacko. I installed Precise on the hard drive and now it too boots from the USB.

It is reading the SFS file from the HD because when it shuts down (after running from USB) it says something like "Unmounting sda5" where Slacko is installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0692s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]