Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 05:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
[SOLVED]grub4dos don't work on acer aspire 5720ZG
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
jplt


Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 131
Location: Somewhere en NORMANDIE - FRANCE

PostPosted: Wed 02 Oct 2013, 04:10    Post_subject:  [SOLVED]grub4dos don't work on acer aspire 5720ZG  

Hello all,

i try to install puppy (slacko,precise) on my laptop acer aspire 5720ZG with grub4dos but i have a boot error !

Then i install ubuntu (Lubuntu) and i work well because it install grub2.

So why grub2 work and not grub4dos ?

_________________
ACER ASPIRE 5720ZG
2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2370 @ 1.73GHz
2 Go RAM
250 Go HDD

Frugal Install Puppy Precise 5.7.1

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2530
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Wed 02 Oct 2013, 05:08    Post_subject: Re: grub4dos don't work on acer aspire 5720ZG  

jplt wrote:
Hello all,...?

Why not ask at Grub4DosConfig and tell which version you have used Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8367

PostPosted: Wed 02 Oct 2013, 05:09    Post_subject:  

Did you install grub4dos onto an ext4 partition.... it cannot run from one , only boot them
The grub4dos installer should have a workaround....but otherwise....
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 02 Oct 2013, 07:32    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Did you install grub4dos onto an ext4 partition.... it cannot run from one , only boot them

Please explain that statement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jplt


Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 131
Location: Somewhere en NORMANDIE - FRANCE

PostPosted: Wed 02 Oct 2013, 09:08    Post_subject:  

My bad i don't even search in the forum, so i upgrade grub4dos to grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.pet and it works great by laptop boot well.
_________________
ACER ASPIRE 5720ZG
2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2370 @ 1.73GHz
2 Go RAM
250 Go HDD

Frugal Install Puppy Precise 5.7.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8367

PostPosted: Wed 02 Oct 2013, 09:36    Post_subject:  

Ok I was close lol..... forgot about the versions...

explanations ..certainly...

the most recent grub4dos can boot ext4 partitions but the mbr cannot boot grldr that exists on a ext4 partition.....hope thats clearer.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 01:27    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Ok I was close lol..... forgot about the versions...

explanations ..certainly...

the most recent grub4dos can boot ext4 partitions but the mbr cannot boot grldr that exists on a ext4 partition.....hope thats clearer.

mike


I installed and I am using grub4dos on a ext4 sda1 partition with ubuntu lucid and several frugal puppies. The grldr is on sda1 with menu.lst. It works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8367

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 07:35    Post_subject:  

Ok to refine my explanation...the grub4dos (puppy) installer does not use the grub4dos mbr but something else...name escapes me.....and it boots grldr.

If any of that makes sense.

ie if you do grub4dos manually using bootlace.com /dev/sda and grldr is on ext4 it won't boot.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr 2014, 17:45    Post_subject:  

I think the mbr bootcode mikeb refers to is 'wee' as referred to here:

http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/grub4dosconfig.html

Here is a 2010 post about ext4 issues; includes info about using 'wee' MBR:

http://code.google.com/p/grub4dos-chenall/issues/detail?id=3

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0682s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0133s) ][ GZIP on ]