How to remote in to Puppy from Windows?

Booting, installing, newbie
jhecht

How to remote in to Puppy from Windows?

#1 Post by jhecht »

Hi all - back again with a problem that others may also have. I'm a computer tech, and when someone comes to me with an elderly Windows computer that's dripping viruses, and they have zero money, my frequent solution is a wipe-and-load-up of Puppy Linux.

Almost all of my poverty-stricken users love Puppy - but that immediately creates a new problem for me. How do I remote in to their computers to help them, or fix problems? When running Win-to-Win, I use Teamviewer or Crossloop, but I've not yet been able to get either to work with Puppy. :(

I'm sure there's a way to do this, or another method of screen-sharing that would work, but I'm too noob to know what it is, or how to implement it. Can someone please help me?

As a test case, my main biz computer is Win 7, and I have a reloaded client computer here with Slacko Puppy 5.6.0 on it. Works great! Now how do I gain remote control of my new little dog? I don't care atm, about controlling a Win computer from a Puppy 'puter, so that should make things a bit easier.

Thanks in advance for your help! Here's to an ever-expanding Puppian community. :)
John Hechtman / www.zenarrow.com / jhecht@ix.netcom.com
"Computer help in NYC" / 917 628 0192 - cell / 212 586 4633 - landline

ally

#2 Post by ally »

hey john

I have used teamviewer (teamviewer-5.0.8888.sfs) to sort my folks pc's without trouble

HTH

:)

01micko

#3 Post by 01micko »

This post may be of interest. Tigervnc is working well for me.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

jhecht

#4 Post by jhecht »

ally wrote:hey john
I have used teamviewer (teamviewer-5.0.8888.sfs) to sort my folks pc's without trouble
HTH:)