Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 06:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
External HDD read-only when using Slacko
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Kicalaf


Joined: 22 May 2013
Posts: 40
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 16:22    Post subject:  External HDD read-only when using Slacko  

Hi gang Very Happy,

I have had windows laptop in my own house, and I've used puppy slacko occasionally. I've had internal HDD and external, and both of them have worked on windows. But, from the beginning, external HDD worked only in the read mode on puppy. Here is what I am getting like an answer while trying to mount it on slacko:


Quote:
The ntfs-3g driver was unable to mount the NTFS
partition and returned this error message:
Failed to read last sector (2930275119): Invalid argument
HINTS: Either the volume is a RAID/LDM but it wasn't setup yet,
or it was not setup correctly (e.g. by not using mdadm --build ...),
or a wrong device is tried to be mounted,
or the partition table is corrupt (partition is smaller than NTFS),
or the NTFS boot sector is corrupt (NTFS size is not valid).
Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Invalid argument
The device '/dev/sdb1' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?

So, the inbuilt kernel NTFS driver has been used
to mount the partition read-only.


I know that external have some bad sector or something like that, because when I wanted to fix it while using windows, I always got the error at the end. But no matter that, I could use it to write and read the files on it.

External HDD is Western Digital Elements desktop 1,5 TB:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=260

Now when the internal HDD is broken, I do not have any interest in reparing the laptop, and using it only with puppy slacko. But on slacko, I can't write anything on it, just reading the files are possible.

Could you help me ( because in the few months I won't be able to buy any new computer ), to try some solution now, when only slacko is working on such computer?

I have many many files on the external HDD, and don't have the option for saving files anywhere else, if you mean that I would need to format the whole external.

Is there any other possibility on slacko, just not to format with all those files?

Thanks in advance, Kicalaf Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 16:30    Post subject:  

Have no other idea to fix the ntfs filesystem than using Windows chkdsk , but as a work around I would try to resize the only partition to let's say 750MB and create a second NTFS partition . Then copy the sdb1 to sdb2 and reformat sdb1.

But gparted my choke too .

diagnostics output for the hdd by
Code:
fdisk -l
disktype /dev/sdb1
dmesg | grep sdb

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8609

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 17:37    Post subject:  

Perhaps you need to a fix bad sectors run on windows then....it will take a long time but should clear the problem (unless you have tried that)

ntfs-3g plays safe .... any percieved problem and its read only time as it says.

Resize and copy over...perhaps might work...would recommend the resize be done in windows too... its their filesystem so have the advantage of first hand knowledge of it. Perhaps you might get away with making the partition a little smaller if the error appears to be at the end of the disk.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5361
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 22:32    Post subject:  

Are you using Slacko 5.6?
Earlier versions of Slacko had problems with external HDD.
Just to tell you about this, however it sounds like you have a messed up ntfs windows file system and as stated before, ntfs-3g plays safe .... any percieved problem and its read only.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kicalaf


Joined: 22 May 2013
Posts: 40
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Sun 10 Nov 2013, 13:15    Post subject:  

Thanks guys for your answers. Wink

Just to clarify, I've tried to fix bas sector when I was on windows, but the fixing ended with the error always. I could almost finish the fixing, and at 99% it stopped. But no matter that, I could use normally external HDD.

I am using slacko 5.5.

If I understood correctly your suggestions, I would need to make another partition on external HDD, which would be healthy partition, and to copy my files into that partition, and than to format the second partition while using slacko?

I've had this problem even on puppy wary before. But I've decided to start using slacko, because it looks more better and with more preinstalled programs.

Because I am the beginner in using linux, is Karl's suggestion with using gparted means that I would need these codes to enter in gparted or in console?

Thanks in advance guys again Very Happy

p.s. what does it means "ntfs-3g plays safe" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8609

PostPosted: Sun 10 Nov 2013, 13:28    Post subject:  

Quote:
force Force the mounting even if the NTFS logfile is unclean. The
logfile will be unconditionally cleared. Use this option with
caution and for your own responsibility.

ntfs-3g has this option.....

ntfs-3g -o force /dev/sdx(n) /mnt/sdx(n)
this might give you read write access at your own risk.

My money would be on resizing the partition to be smaller to exclude the bad sectors.... a trick I have used in the past... but use windows to resize it as the safest approach.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kicalaf


Joined: 22 May 2013
Posts: 40
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Sun 10 Nov 2013, 13:47    Post subject:  

Ok, thanks Mike.

I understand your suggestion. I'll try first than at home this ntfs-3g , where I have currently only "half-computer" Very Happy with only slacko installed, and than if this don't work, I would need to bring my external to friend who has windows.

Is this risk, when using ntfs-3g code means that I would maybe lose my files, or means that external will be dead?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8609

PostPosted: Sun 10 Nov 2013, 14:24    Post subject:  

Well in this case you would be running a disk with known bad sectors..I suspect the risk is no different to on windows.... its when you are dealing with problems with the ntfs index structure that its definately a bad idea.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 10 Nov 2013, 15:27    Post subject:  

About the code lines : They have to be entered in the terminal console .

About problems at 99% at the end of the disk : Resizing to

echo $((1500/100*99))
1485

1,45 GB would be then also an option .

About chkdsk : It has several options as mike mentions, like automatic repair and such .

Windows also has a terminal console, launched by the Run Program :
Code:
cmd.exe

Therein I would enter
Code:
chkdsk /?

for info about the options .

Resizing on windows can be done by
Code:
diskpart /?

commandline utility
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/300415

Linux apps mostly have also a help option like /? : -h, -help or --help .

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Kicalaf


Joined: 22 May 2013
Posts: 40
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Tue 12 Nov 2013, 13:04    Post subject:  

Hi guys,

again me Very Happy

I've tried with ntfs-3g option and got this result:

http://www.dodaj.rs/f/3x/GT/3zvemU7m/ntfs-3g-console-error-re.png

Than I've tried with gparted to create another partition, where I was planing to move my files, and after trying to create partition table, I've got this:

http://www.dodaj.rs/f/3M/He/2g8E6CVu/gparted-screenshot.png

I am not prepared now to erase my files, so please, is there any other option maybe? I don't have the windows computer now, only at my work, but don't have much time there to work something for my self.

Thanks in advance Wink
gparted screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   48.06 KB
 Viewed   279 Time(s)

gparted screenshot.png

ntfs-3g-console-error-result.png
 Description   
 Filesize   33.22 KB
 Viewed   273 Time(s)

ntfs-3g-console-error-result.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 12 Nov 2013, 13:11    Post subject:  

I'll suggest to by some external memory to run gparted on it to become firm with gparted .

We spoke of "RESIZING" first, not about to create a "Partition Table" first .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8609

PostPosted: Tue 12 Nov 2013, 13:58    Post subject:  

Indeed... and the safest way to resize NTFS is with windows.
The sector mentioned seems like its at the end of the disk so perhaps a resize of 5% less would be more than enough.

the ntfs-3g mount suggested it was already mounted (read only) if so that would need unmounting first.
But it also mentions the disk damage and why its reluctant so may not work this way anyway.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kicalaf


Joined: 22 May 2013
Posts: 40
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Tue 12 Nov 2013, 14:13    Post subject:  

Sorry Karl for being so dummy, but I don't understand how to resize. What code do I need to type in console to do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kicalaf


Joined: 22 May 2013
Posts: 40
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Tue 12 Nov 2013, 14:23    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,so you mean that I would need to do it on windows at the end?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8609

PostPosted: Tue 12 Nov 2013, 14:30    Post subject:  

Yes on windows.... my/our point is NTFS is a windows file system so using windows native tools is the best aproach if you can.

Disk management is the one I believe.

If thats is a problem then gparted would be the next one to try though when I have resized using it in the past it appears to copy and then recopy the contents which is slow so another reason to try windows first.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0835s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]