Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 22:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Pupsave Creation at First Shutdown [Alternative Solution]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 03:33    Post subject:  Pupsave Creation at First Shutdown [Alternative Solution]
Subject description: If you get a bug creating your pupsave file the usual way, use this script.
 

Dec. 7, 2013. Please get latest version from here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=742075&sort=lastpost#742075
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Edit, Nov. 30, 2013. Effort to re-organize this initial post.
For the solutions and other comments that
used to be posted here, please read down from:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=740519&sort=lastpost#740519
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
What follows is the "thinking process".
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Edit: Please see message below this one. It seems that the wmreboot
and wmpoweroff scripts from wary-5.5 are the ones that make the
difference, since the /etc/rc.shutdown scripts from CE-3 and wary-5.5
are identical. See illustration.

musher0
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hello, all.

Here's a copy of an exchange I just had with 01micko concerning said
bug. It explains the faulty process, and the solution, which is provided
as a pet file.
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Quote:
Hi, Mick.

Regarding the "-1Mb" pupsave file bug, here is a report of the process.
The solution is attached.

The problem with the rc.shutdown script was the same for CLI and GUI modes.

jwm menu -> reboot

Then, in the script itself, the steps are:
Save -> admin -> ext2 -> filename -> Normal -> [Missing Size Step] -> Yes, save

In this "summary" panel, notice the size as -1 Mb.

Copying /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown from wary 5.5 to CE-3 Puppy
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown solves the problem. The wary 5.5 version shows
correctly the Size step, in both CLI and GUI mode. Please find a corrective
pet attached.

Given that a solution was found, I did not run a diff reading on the two scripts.

As far as I can tell, having an active diskette bay has nothing to do with it.

I'll be posting this solution in a "bug" thread and put a link to it in the CE thread.

Best regards.

musher0

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
From: 01micko
Quote:
To: musher0
Posted: Today, at 03:29
Subject: Re: shutdown bug
Ok, thanks for that.

I'll diff it and compare. I'll also send it off to Karl Godt because he is working on shut down

Cheers,

Mick

PS> my problem was a corrupt woof build which now I can't reproduce, nothing to do with floppy, except that probing a non existent floppy takes too long.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Have great day!

musher0
RcShutdown-GoodWary-5.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  RcShutdown-GoodWary-5.5.pet 
Filesize  12.31 KB 
Downloaded  111 Time(s) 
strange.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  strange.jpg 
Filesize  27.74 KB 
Downloaded  125 Time(s) 

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Sat 07 Dec 2013, 11:34; edited 28 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 06:32    Post subject:  

Additional note:
~~~~~~~~~~
Hello again, all.

It seems that rather the wmreboot and wmpoweroff scripts from
wary 5.5 (included in this pet archive) make the difference.
In any case, all three scripts are included in the above pet.
Karl_Godt and o1micko are also on the case and should
report shortly.

Thanks for your understanding.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Sat 23 Nov 2013, 14:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 07:06    Post subject:  

The problem:
pupsave_problem-negative_size.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   39.28 KB
 Viewed   328 Time(s)

pupsave_problem-negative_size.JPG


_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 07:17    Post subject:  

Hello again, Puppyists.

I did a couple more tests, and I don't know what to tell you anymore... Embarassed

Sometimes, installing the pet above did solve the problem, and the
pupsave file was created. At other times, it wasn't, with the same
replacement files loaded.

Is it a matter of the speed of entry of the variables in the successive
panels? (I can be a very fast typist...) I'm at a loss for a logical
explanation. Hopefully Karl or Mick will come up with something.

In any case, there remains the solution of "implanting" a ready-made
pupsave file, and that works without fail. Please see how-to and download
archive here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=737783&sort=lastpost#737783
You'll have to adapt the name of the pupsave files according to the name of your Puppy.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 07:29    Post subject:  

Hello again.

For the sake of thoroughness, here are diff transcripts concerning
wmreboot and wmpoweroff for CE-3 and wary 5.5. Since it's the first
time I've used the Linux diff, I hope the significant information is
there. I'm used to parallel reading in other contexts (FreeDOS and
proof-reading/text-editing), but this is Martian to me. Hopefully this
will mean something to someone.

That's my maximum testing capacity. I can go no further. Someone
with more advanced skills will need to tackle and hopefully resolve
this problem. BFN.

musher0
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Quote:
--- wmpoweroff-wary55
+++ wmpoweroff-CE3
@@ -5,8 +5,6 @@
#120216 offer to set default language in initrd.
#130221 return code 255 to abort shutdown.

-killall stalonetray;rox -b= # ajout par musher0, 20 août 2013
-#
. /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
if [ $DISPLAY ];then #paranoid precaution, check X still running

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

--- wmreboot-wary55
+++ wmreboot-CE3
@@ -5,8 +5,6 @@
#120216 offer to set default language in initrd.
#130221 return code 255 to abort shutdown.

-killall stalonetray;rox -b= # ajout par musher0, 20 août 2013
-#
. /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
if [ $DISPLAY ];then #paranoid precaution, check X still running


(Both done with the diff -abd parameters.)

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 06:35    Post subject:  

Hello, Puppyists.

I just tested 01micko's latest slacko-5.6.1 and discovered that if I
replaced this slacko's rc.shutdown script in /etc with the one in rerwin's
latest sulu, I got a pupsave file. Two actually, one created from the GUI
and one created from the CLI. Now, that's service! Cool Laughing

So please find attached this replacement rc.shutdown file.
Replace/use at your own risk.

BFN.

musher0
rc.shutdown_sulu.tar.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  rc.shutdown_sulu.tar.bz2 
Filesize  15.9 KB 
Downloaded  100 Time(s) 

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3861
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 07:18    Post subject:  

Yeah, the /usr/sbin/shutdownconfig is something new , and I still have to find out, which parts of the

DIALOGEXE="pupdialog"
DIALOGEXE2="Xdialog"

can be aborted by pressing ESC , so it gives a return value of likely 255 like the blue-screen dialog .

/usr/bin/wmreboot has code as

if [ $PUPMODE -eq 5 ];then #first shutdown.
shutdownconfig #dlgs for creating save-file.
#...writes results to /tmp/shutdownconfig_results, which /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown reads.

[ $? -eq 255 ] && exit #abort shutdown. 130221

so would likely exit without confirmation message .

/usr/sbin/shutdownconfig can be run in rxvt terminal without actually not shutting down in the end .
So then it would be possible to examine the created files in /tmp :


orange_gtkrc${$}
shutdownconfig_deftag
tag.txt
shutdownconfig_encrypt_password
shutdownconfig_results

sizetag.txt
rc.shutdown_pupsave_fs
schoices.txt
ntfsmnterr.txt
savedlg



For now I suspect locale / LC_ALL settings somehow , since at the top of
shutdownconfig it is

if [ ! $DISPLAY ];then
export LANG=C #110928 console shutdown using 'dialog', disable i18n.
else
export OUTPUT_CHARSET=UTF-8
fi


and Lupu wasn't gettext 'ed at that time .

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 08:35    Post subject:  

Finally. Help from Above! Wink
_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3861
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 08:55    Post subject:  

Yeah, Man !!

This applies to everything Puppy related :

grep -I -H -m3 WORD /usr/sbin/*

like

grep -I -H -m3 'shutdown' /usr/sbin/*

should give you some filenames that contain shutdown .

/usr/sbin/* because most of the Puppy scripts are there .

But few are in /bin and /sbin and /usr/bin and /usr/local/bin .

So grep there too, if unsure .

Then open the files in geany and become enlightened .

And post suggestions / patches .

HTH a bit .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10694
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 11:52    Post subject:  

Would this bug affect multisession Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3861
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 14:28    Post subject:  

Since MS does not use a save-file, I guess not .

But by far am no Multi-Session expert . My current machine has no CD drive .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 15:04    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Would this bug affect multisession Puppy?


Dunno, we'll have to test the DVD session-saving script too!

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 15:59    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Would this bug affect multisession Puppy?


Nope. Smile We don't get the gdk bug either on second boot.
CD_session_2nd_boot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52.01 KB
 Viewed   281 Time(s)

CD_session_2nd_boot.jpg


_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3861
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 16:04    Post subject:  

What's that's for a high load ? P4-Cpu while performing mtpaint ?
Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 19:23    Post subject:  

musher0

From your screeny, there is a first bug which doesn't tell us the filesystem of the partition.. that will throw a mount error and therefore that filesystem will be reported as 0 (zero), then I think there is some weird thing in there that subtracts 1M for some reason. Barry's procedural approach is not very friendly to follow, I'd much rather decipher Shinobar's code, where everything is broken down into functions, much more maintainable.

Please tell us what filesystem is on sda2? Maybe the driver isn't loading? (not likely if it's linux, I can't tell from the reports you sent ). One remote possibility is that probepart is misreporting the filesystem (possibly a locale error? or do you do this with an English based locale? Oh, I guess you do as the other screeny, in GUI, has English as the displayed language.. just trying to eliminate possibilities).

Also, if you can produce a successful save just by running shutdownconfig in terminal can you post the log at /tmp/shutdownconfig_results

Thank you.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0762s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]