Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Sep 2017, 03:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy Revitalized as 5.2.8.7 - Dec., 2016 - SM ALERT!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 56 of 61 [906 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61 Next
Author Message
Walter Dnes

Joined: 30 Dec 2016
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Mon 06 Mar 2017, 23:11    Post subject: Re: More Puppy sulu2 config questions  

Walter Dnes wrote:
Why isn't roxterm sourcing .bashrc or .bashrc_profile? Where am I supposed to set up aliases, etc?

It appears that "bash" is actually a symlink to "sh". Putting initialization in ~/.profile works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4641
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 07 Mar 2017, 02:08    Post subject: Re: More Puppy sulu2 config questions  

Walter Dnes wrote:
Putting initialization in ~/.profile works.
Hi Walter - can you explain what you mean by "initialization", and also offer some idea what /.profile is used for please? cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Walter Dnes

Joined: 30 Dec 2016
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue 07 Mar 2017, 08:55    Post subject: Re: More Puppy sulu2 config questions  

greengeek wrote:
Walter Dnes wrote:
Putting initialization in ~/.profile works.
Hi Walter - can you explain what you mean by "initialization", and also offer some idea what /.profile is used for please? cheers!


First of all, a correction. roxterm uses ~/.profile, while xterm uses ~/.bashrc and ~/.bash_profile. ~/.profile is read and executed each time you start roxterm. Ditto .bashrc for xterm. Here's an example .bashrc (for xterm) or .profile for roxterm.

Code:
alias ll='ls -al'
export EDITOR=/usr/bin/vim
export PS1='[\[\033[01;32m\]\h\[\033[00m\]][\[\033[01;34m\]\u\[\033[00m\]][\[\033[01;36m\]\w\[\033[00m\]] '


The "alias" statement allows me to type "ll" at the commandline as an abbreviation for "ls -al"

The "export EDITOR" statement sets the default edito to vim. Note that I had to create a symlink from vim.basic to vim.

The "export PS1" in this example works best with a a dark background. It colorizes the prompt. The hostname is in bright green, the username is in bright blue, and the current directory is in bright cyan. I use xterm and force a blck background. Is there any way to tweak toxterm's "tango" colour scheme? It's almost there, but the putrid grey background makes it hard to read anything. Again, I'd like a black background.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Buddy


Joined: 04 Dec 2016
Posts: 17
Location: Tellus

PostPosted: Sat 11 Mar 2017, 13:42    Post subject:  

Maybe this can pimp up the Lucid?

http://www.noobslab.com/2017/03/screenlets-lets-you-spice-up-your.html

_________________
Buddy likes the Fatdog64 and the good old, yet new 5.2.8.X Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Walter Dnes

Joined: 30 Dec 2016
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2017, 02:25    Post subject: Doing my own iptables rules?
Subject description: Which files do I modify?
 

I have a favourite set of iptables firewalll rules that I like to use. What files in Lucid 5.2.8.7 are the rules stored in? I'd prefer to copy them in, and use the "Firewall" widget. Failing that, I'd probably have to turn off the regular firewall, and run a script at startup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 720
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 11:22    Post subject: testing network problems on old hardware  

[quote="rerwin"]sindi,
Wow! What an inventory! Thanks for being willing to work with me on them.


For networking, let's aim to get at least one of the network managers to work for each unit,
rather than trying to make all of them work. My preference is to make frisbee work for all.
We might start with the problems regarding the most of your units, to get the most benefit
from our efforts.

Let's limit the scope to, say, 3 cases at a time. What are the networking problems with the
P4s? (Please include at least one single-core unit, in case there are problems with
multiprocessor interactions.) For each unique case, please run them until you see the
problem, then get a pdiag file and PM it to me (or post them if you want others to look at
them). For the best hardware results, we should use sulu2 or sulu4 for the P4s, and maybe as
the first choice for the others until we find an obstacle. (Sulu2 has the best mix of
capabilities - dial-up modems, xz-compressed SFS file support and somewhat newer drivers.)"
[/quote]

Sorry I took time off from linux to mail out vegetable seeds for a month and file taxes.
Most of my laptops are single-core. I have never used sulu because none of my hardware is
'newer' (mostly 2006 or older, three 2008 netbooks, one 2009). Okay to test from bootable
flash drives?

[quote] EDIT:
Focusing on Network Wizard, Frisbee, b43 and orinoco -- to summarize:

Establish a test setup with the basic lupu 5287 for each item, using newest PC having a
problem with that item or combination of items. Get a preliminary pdiag for each setup after
the problem becomes apparent.

If you have time for only one case, let's work on the b43 where it doesn't work with frisbee
or, if none, netwiz. R[/quote]

The B43 cards are mini-PCI (2002-2005 or so). I can probably test in the 2002 DELL Inspiron
8200. We have three 2005 HP's that take them but require HP-labelled cards (firmware). One
of the three has a B43. The 8100 has dead wifi slot.

Regarding ACER 4100 which won't do Xorg, Walter explained how to identify video and it is not
i915 but Intel 82852/855GM Rev 2. Lots of problems reported for Ubuntu 10 and even 14. A
later intel driver works better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 720
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Mar 2017, 21:41    Post subject: sulu2 does not have Xorg and sound problems of 2.6 kernel  

Acer Travelmate 4001LCi - non-widescreen, Intel integrated graphics 855GM. Circa 2005, pentium M 705, 1.5GHz, 400MHz FSB.... This is the newest laptop I have running with lucid puppy other than a 2008 netbook.

With retro lupu (2.6 kernel and modules):
1) Xorg does not work (black screen)
2) No sound when testing sound in Alsa wizard (though it works to play .wavs with aplay).
3) Network Wizard detects card and router signal but DHCP fails.
Static assignment of IP numbers also fails.
4) Frisbee works with ipw2200 wifi (probably mini-PCI card), with both DHCP and static.

WIth sulu2 (kernel 3.2.48)
1) First boot goes straight to Xorg with no problems
2) Sound works when testing with Alsa wizard
3) Network Wizard acts the same as before.
4) Frisbee works as before.

I had to press the wireless switch before wifi would work, but it did not light up until Frisbee made the connection.

Network Wizard could not detect a connection on the first try but could on the second (I think with both versions of puppy).

Did I already send pdiag results for this laptop? Network Wizard is the only problem with it so far. (I will also test acpitool -s to suspend and see if it reanimates).

Can I simply copy over lupusave from retro lupu? Any differences besides kernel and modules?

In an HP laptop the same age with the same wifi chip I could not get wifi to work even with Frisbee, 2.6 kernel lucid. I will try again. I cannot tell when the switch is on since it will not light up. The card works in Windows and the switch lights up (blue) at boot time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 720
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Mar 2017, 21:50    Post subject: acpitool not working on ACER 4001LCi with sulu2
Subject description: could not open the file /proc/acpi/sleep
 

acpitool -s
could not open file /proc/acpi/sleep
There is /proc/acpi/wakeup (listing three USB devices enabled)

I think this is also happens with precise and tahr puppies.
Maybe kernel 3 cannot suspend?

With 2.6 kernel lucid, acpitool suspends but nothing will wake this laptop up.
Suspend works with 2.6 kernel lucid on other laptops. It works on desktops with later puppies using the power button to reanimate.

The original reason for using lucid instead of tahr or precise is that my partner insists on a linux that can suspend.

Precise 5.7.1 works with Xorg and sound, but the icons are all inverted triangles with question marks and it will not power off (or reboot). Same problem with Network Wizard, and Frisbee works. Perhaps Network Wizard was not properly tested with WEP (which we use, 10 character code).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 720
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Mar 2017, 22:05    Post subject: sulu2 lacking fbcon module  

/etc/rc.d/rc.local contains
modprobe fbcon

But there is no fbcon to insert in /lib/modules/....
(Same problem with Slacko 5).

I mainly work in terminal mode and like to see more on the screen.
But this laptop was set up for someone who sticks with X.
I can use the 2.6 kernel on my own hardware.

Do sulu3 or sulu4 have fbcon module?

Can they suspend to RAM (acpitool -s) and recover from suspension?

Pale Moon 27.2 official is working fine on here. Mplayer displays a DVD properly with Sulu2 and Xorg. With retro Lupu mplayer (in Smtube) displayed solid blue.

So far sulu2 fixed three problems (Xorg, mplayer, sound), has one left to fix (Network Wizard), and two introduced (no fbcon and won't suspend to RAM).

The newer kernel is 2.8MB while the older one is 2.2MB. (I learned linux with a 600K kernel on a 486).

Network Wizard is really not needed if Frisbee works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 720
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Mar 2017, 22:41    Post subject: sulu2 and precise 5.7 no automatic shutdown on Acer 4001LCi  

Neither Precise nor Sulu2 shuts down when it says it is.
"Super Lupu is now shutting down".
Eventually I hold the power switch (after trying to reboot).

This laptop reboots by first switching itself off (I can hear it go off and see the green light go off in the power switch, then on again).

Maybe this is related to acpitool -s not waking it?

I copied the contents of lupusave to directory sulusave and rebooted. It asked me to delete 102 duplicate files (in lupusave) and then for another 11 files it had me 'consider removing' them because the files in the .sfs were newer. I removed one at a time.

Things work as expected in sulu with lupusave's files. Wifi connection was automatic. It barked when starting up (unlike retro lucid).

HTML5 youtube (Pale Moon 27.2 SSE2) plays extremely jerkily (image changes every minute or so). The little red graph in lower right (network tray?) is constantly above the horizontal line even at this forum and at youtube it is off the top. CPU usage during youtube is only about 25% and the grey line is ahead of the red line (downloads faster than it plays). What does this all mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2176
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 00:19    Post subject:  

Try command: echo mem > /sys/power/state for suspend. On my laptop works on racy, precise, tahr. I need to press the power button for it to wake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 720
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 00:32    Post subject: Suspend to ram for sulu2  

echo mem > /sys/power/state
Works perfectly in sulu2 with kernel 3.2 on Acer 4001LCi!

I will try with kernel 2 in retro lupu (which will suspend with
acpitool but will not wake up again).

My original reason for using lupu was that acpitool will not
suspend with Precise or Tahr.

Please contribute this solution to the acpitool discussion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 720
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 00:50    Post subject: retro Lucid 2016 won't wake up (Acer 4001LCi)  

With retro (2.6 kernel) Lupu, echo mem > /sys/power/state
acts exactly like acpitool -s. It suspends but if you press the power
button to wake it up you get a black screen. Maybe related to the need to
use VESA with this kernel (intel driver did not work for 855GM video in
the 2.6 kernel, but did in 3.2 kernel).

This laptop will therefore be used with Sulu, and without fbcon.

Lucid 525, according to my notes, has a working Network Wizard, fbcon
included in the kernel, working Xorg and acpitool suspend. I wonder how
5.2.8.6 broke so much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2176
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 02:39    Post subject:  

In wary (which uses 2 kernel) echo mem works but you need to press power button twice to wake. On my laptop, I click once and then slight pause till I hear the dvd/cd rom click and then press again immediately. Don't have other distributions to test.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Walter Dnes

Joined: 30 Dec 2016
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed 22 Mar 2017, 06:09    Post subject: Re: testing network problems on old hardware  

sindi wrote:
Regarding ACER 4100 which won't do Xorg, Walter explained how to identify video and it is not i915 but Intel 82852/855GM Rev 2. Lots of problems reported for Ubuntu 10 and even 14. A later intel driver works better.

@rerwin
Support for the "Poulsbo" (aka GMA 500) video adapter is available as of kernel 3.18. See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Intel_GMA_500 for some technical comments, including xorg.conf.d/ setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 56 of 61 [906 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0672s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0171s) ][ GZIP on ]