Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 12:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Looking for a Multi-Seat setup for Puppy.
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 29 Nov 2013, 00:37    Post subject:  Looking for a Multi-Seat setup for Puppy.  

Puppy isn`t multi user, but I think I`ve seen a multi-seat setup for it.
With a dual display video card and an on-board video, 3 people can use 1 PC at the same time.
3 usb keyboards, 3 usb mice, and 3 screens are needed of course. Sound is a problem.

There are $50 "dumb terminals" that usb connect and have individual sound.
This isn`t too bad a solution all in all, but I worry about their HD video and game ability.
I hate to say it, but an old $50 PC is probably much more capable, but not as efficient.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 30 Nov 2013, 08:34    Post subject:  

Would not the network game approach be more suitable with individual PC.... ITX boards are handy for that.
Dumb terminals with a central machine system ... as you say would lack graphics acceleration and the sound complexity.

Think you answered your own question.

ps I made 2.12 and 4.12 true multiuser and actually that does help if running ssh but not really the subject here Very Happy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 30 Nov 2013, 14:13    Post subject:  

Hi mike; There`s bound to be a number of shared savings with a multi. seat setup.

But I`m not sure about how ssh relates to it.?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 30 Nov 2013, 15:17    Post subject:  

It doesn't .... just related to your multiuserness .... if puppy is made truely multiuser its much easier running multiple clients for whatever purpose which could include games but a bit like multiseat any savings might be outweighd by complexity ... LAN networking is commonly built in to games and old PCs are cheap or free.

Would the game handle multiple keyboards/mice... don't games use gamepads..... will all the graphics cards have acceleration?...can the onboard be run at the same time as an addon?

Saying that we can run 4 player with PSX emulator...but one machine and one monitor...xinerama?

Perhaps it may make more sense with more specifics...what game?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 30 Nov 2013, 15:36    Post subject:  

It`s a general purpose that I had in mind, I know games are the most demanding of software.
Any level of games ( card to Quake ) is desired, but at some level it`s going to stop working.
To get as much use from a PC as possible, most used are web browsers and media apps.
But sound`s a problem, the easy solution is USB sound boxes, if use like this is possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 30 Nov 2013, 18:18    Post subject:  

Should not alsa'a dmix handle multi input ok?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 30 Nov 2013, 21:57    Post subject:  

I think alsa would handle multiple mic. inputs from multiple sound cards and outputs too.
But I`m not sure how this would be handled, a MultiSeat Control Panel is needed.

This goes way back 30 years ago to when I was building S-100 computers running CP/M.
They were setup like a mainframe with attached terminals, plug-in term. cards were common.
I realized the video card should be: Video, Sound I/O, and Key, Mouse and Printer ports.
Todays video cards should be exactly this, with USBs in place of serial and parallel ports.
I remember seeing a video card like this years ago, but video + sound + USBs never made it.
The best available that I know of is dual display video cards ( at a reasonable price that is...).

To run games multi-seat would probably require virtualization including the hardware drivers.
And then as you pointed out, the game`s LAN interfaces would need to be aliased somehow.

I`m sure many folks have put a lot of effort to solving these problems. Just need to find them.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sun 01 Dec 2013, 08:35    Post subject:  

Fortunately 30 years ago I managed to totally avoid computers ...they are only a recent affliction for me. Very Happy .

Sound in that case sounds like a jack job. Or external mixer(s) possibly if there is no need for separation of audio in (or out)

Nvidia do their quadro series which have dual outputs and for whatever reason are usually cheap second hand...often low profile made for the business market I believe.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 01 Dec 2013, 15:47    Post subject:  

Exactly the type of card that would be useful. Having them all the same would be good too.

Yeah.. I be happy just to get std. seats working, forget the sound and gaming.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2333
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 02 Dec 2013, 13:43    Post subject:  

I accidentally got fatdog64 to run two x windows and desktops one vga plug and hdmi with a hdtv. so I know it is possible I think I used a sandbox method buried in fd64v621. sound was spilt between a usb based sound card and HDMI audio. Was hoping to get the on motherboard vga plug to work with NVidia card but no luck at same time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 02 Dec 2013, 14:08    Post subject:  

The on-board video is not separate on many MBs.
I found this out building a new PC for my daughter with an AMD A-6.
The A-6/8/10 will run it`s on-chip GPU with a card, and some MBs will allow that to happen.
I was disappointed that the A-6 was "slower" than Athlon cpus, but I guess it`s not a surprise.
5 years and a few more die shrinks will bring them up to snuff, the new A-10 may be better.

# Ted Dog; If you have any scripts or other items I`d appreciate it. Tx... Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2333
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 02 Dec 2013, 14:21    Post subject:  

yes I got a multidesktop script that worked for my ATI and NVIDIA computers, I m on bed rest So next break I'll switch computers and post it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 02 Dec 2013, 14:29    Post subject:  

I know you`ve had health problems Ted, I pray that you know relief, you and nooby...

I`ll keep an eye for it, don`t feel like you have to hurry at all. Your friend, Terry B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2333
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 02 Dec 2013, 14:42    Post subject:  

Thanks, I figured I'd better post quick.. Just took dose 20 mins. ago and well I do not walk too good as it takes effect. Dr. assured me it would not be a problem with my M.D. but it sure packs a wallop.


Code:

------------------- START

#!/bin/sh
cd /root
DISPLAY=:0.1 jwm  &
#DISPLAY=:0.1 openbox > /dev/null &
DISPLAY=:0.1 rox -p=$HOME/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin > /dev/null &
#DISPLAY=:0.1 lxpanel.bin
#DISPLAY=:0.1 lxpanel.bin > /dev/null

------------- END


and here is what my xorg config looks like.


Code:


# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 310.44  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-07)  Wed Mar 27 15:56:09 PDT 2013


Section "ServerLayout"

# Removed Option "Xinerama" "1"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 1280 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       31.0 - 82.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce"
    BusID          "PCI:5:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce"
    BusID          "PCI:5:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-1"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5029
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 02 Dec 2013, 14:52    Post subject:  

Fantastic.! I`ll compare it to what my Puppy Precise_5.5.X.5.

And I think I`ll get a copy of FatDog to examine more closely. Tx again Ted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0897s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0031s) ][ GZIP on ]