Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 17:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
DHCP overriding my STATIC IP on wireless using Frisbee
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2013, 12:56    Post subject:  DHCP overriding my STATIC IP on wireless using Frisbee  

I'm sure this is covered somewhere, but I just cannot figure it out - and I'm rather LINUX savvy!! LOL I set up PUPPY as a hard drive installation and used Frisbee (the only one that worked with my ancient HW!) to set up my wireless NIC. I also tried the other 2 network setup GUIs, I think... and they might have conflicting stuff (mentioned that just in case).

I do successfully set the static IP (192.168.1.76). The problem is on REBOOT. I see in messages that it first sets the static IP, and then somewhere/somehow DHCP comes in and requests another IP from my router and resets it!! How do I make that stop, please? Here's a snippet of the log:

Code:

Dec  2 19:49:46 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: using hwaddr 00:12:f0:1c:dd:d2
Dec  2 19:49:46 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason PREINIT
Dec  2 19:49:46 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason NOCARRIER
Dec  2 19:49:46 PictureFrame user.debug kernel: [   30.494689] lib80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'TKIP'
Dec  2 19:49:46 PictureFrame auth.info sshd[3137]: Server listening on 0.0.0.0 port 22.
Dec  2 19:49:49 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: carrier acquired
Dec  2 19:49:49 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: using hwaddr 00:12:f0:1c:dd:d2
Dec  2 19:49:49 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason CARRIER
Dec  2 19:49:49 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: using static address 192.168.1.76
Dec  2 19:49:49 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: adding IP address 192.168.1.76/24
Dec  2 19:49:49 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: adding route to 192.168.1.0/24
Dec  2 19:49:49 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: adding default route via 192.168.1.1
Dec  2 19:49:49 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason STATIC
Dec  2 19:49:51 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: broadcasting for a lease
Dec  2 19:49:51 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: sending DISCOVER (xid 0x4e5a85d4), next in 3.27 seconds
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: offered 192.168.1.120 from 192.168.1.1
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: sending REQUEST (xid 0x4e5a85d4), next in 3.91 seconds
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: acknowledged 192.168.1.120 from 192.168.1.1
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: using static address 192.168.1.120
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: adding IP address 192.168.1.120/24
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: deleting IP address 192.168.1.76/24
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: changing route to 192.168.1.0/24
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: changing default route via 192.168.1.1
Dec  2 19:49:53 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason STATIC
Dec  2 19:50:00 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: removing route to 192.168.1.0/24
Dec  2 19:50:00 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3111]: eth1: removing default route via 192.168.1.1


and this only happens on reboots...
and I prefer to fix it from the command line. The GUI (little task bar icon) "fixes" it but it doesn't seem to stay persistant on reboots... or actualy it DOES, but then DHCP goes stomping on it! Smile

(I also have a little NFS problem... but I'm betting that'll clear up once this gets fixed. My pictures for this PictureFrame are stored on a NAS, which I NFS mount. I'll open a new thread if I continue having NFS issues.)

Thanks in advance! Let me know if I need to provide any config files, i.e. frisbee.conf, wpa... etc... I know it's gotta be simple and I'm just not seeing it!!! Typical. Also let me know if I can get rid of any stray configs from the other NIC tools.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2013, 13:14    Post subject:  

Hmm I get pseudo static addresses by configuring the router to reserve address(es) for particular MACs ... much easier if you can as the clients just use dhcp .

Sorry if not a direct answer and I believe jemimah wrote frisbee so not sure of the support situation. Perhaps the puppy default wizards might help.

I use NFS for all our networking

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2013, 13:18    Post subject:  

Just in case it's needed:


PictureFrame:/etc # ll (I cut out of this output the files that aren't applicable)
Code:

-rw-r--r--  1 root root    831 Dec 13  2009 dhcpcd.conf
-rwxr-xr-x  1 ftp  users  1439 Nov 17  2007 dhcpcd.sh*
-rw-r--r--  1 root root      0 Sep 13 20:32 dhcpcd_state_notify
-rw-r--r--  1 root root      0 Apr 14  2013 dhcpcd_state_notify.bak
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root   4096 Oct  9 11:36 frisbee/
-rw-r--r--  1 root root     27 Jan 13  2013 host.conf
-rw-r--r--  1 root root     12 Sep 13 20:28 hostname
-rw-r--r--  1 root root     81 Sep 13 20:28 hosts
-rw-r--r--  1 root root     11 Jan 13  2013 hosts.allow
-rw-r--r--  1 root root      9 Jan 13  2013 hosts.deny
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root   4096 Aug  2 12:53 ifplugd/
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root   4096 Oct 10  2012 init/
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root   4096 Sep 13 21:32 init.d/
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    767 May  2  2011 netconfig
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   2064 Nov 23  2006 netscsid.conf
drwxr-xr-x  6 root root   4096 Apr 11  2013 network/
-rw-r--r--  1 root root      4 Jan 13  2013 NETWORKING
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  11230 Sep 13 08:07 networkmodules
-rw-r--r--  1 root root     41 Jan 13  2013 networks
drwxr-xr-x  4 root root   4096 Oct 25  2008 network-wizard/
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    260 Jan 13  2013 nsswitch.conf
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    147 Dec  2 19:49 resolv.conf
-rwxrwxrwx  1 root root     25 Jan 13  2013 resolv.conf.old*
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   2286 Jan 13  2013 services
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root   4096 Aug  2 12:53 wpa_supplicant/
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    168 Aug  2 12:53 wpa_supplicant.conf


If I'm using FRISBEE, why do the dhcp.conf, network-wizard, etc. need to be there? What can I delete? Oh yeah... and I tried another wireless NIC, so there's another straggling mac-address out there that can be removed... I see it mentioned in the network-wizard directory (which I can hopefully safely rm).

PictureFrame:/etc/frisbee # ll
Code:

total 28
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 Oct  9 11:36 ./
drwxr-xr-x 59 root root 4096 Dec  2 14:49 ../
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 1211 Oct  9 11:36 dhcpcd.conf
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  117 Sep 13 20:32 frisbee.conf
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    5 Dec  2 19:49 interface
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    5 Dec  2 19:49 interfaces
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  220 Sep 25 20:47 wpa_supplicant.conf


Apparently it's getting the FRISBEE stuff... or is it getting it from some other config? Remember I did say I tried the others before frisbee?


PictureFrame:/etc/frisbee # cat dhcpcd.conf
Code:

# A sample configuration for dhcpcd.
# See dhcpcd.conf(5) for details.

# Inform the DHCP server of our hostname for DDNS.
hostname
# To share the DHCP lease across OSX and Windows a ClientID is needed.
# Enabling this may get a different lease than the kernel DHCP client.
# Some upstream DHCP servers may also require a ClientID, such as FRITZ!Box.
#clientid

# A list of options to request from the DHCP server.
option domain_name_servers, domain_name, domain_search, host_name
option classless_static_routes
# Most distributions have NTP support.
option ntp_servers
# Respect the network MTU.
option interface_mtu
# A ServerID is required by RFC2131.
require dhcp_server_identifier

# A hook script is provided to lookup the hostname if not set by the DHCP
# server, but it should not be run by default.
nohook lookup-hostname
denyinterfaces lo,wmaster0,pan0,ppp0,eth0
noipv4ll
release

#EducateMe static
interface eth1
ssid EducateMe
static ip_address=192.168.1.76/24
static routers=192.168.1.1
static domain_name_servers=192.168.1.1 8.8.8.8
#end EducateMe
#eth1 static
interface eth1
static ip_address=192.168.1.76/24
static routers=192.168.1.1
static domain_name_servers=192.168.1.1 8.8.8.8
#end eth1

(why do there have to be 2 stanzas? I tried removing either and end up having to use the GUI to get it set back correctly.)

PictureFrame:/etc/frisbee # cat frisbee.conf
Code:

frisbee_mode=1
wireless_enabled=1
wireless_autostart=1
announce_state_changes=1
dhcpcd_state_notify=0
wpa_log_mode=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2013, 13:20    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Hmm I get pseudo static addresses by configuring the router to reserve address(es) for particular MACs ... much easier if you can as the clients just use dhcp .

Sorry if not a direct answer and I believe jemimah wrote frisbee so not sure of the support situation. Perhaps the puppy default wizards might help.

I use NFS for all our networking

Mike


Thanks Mike! I actually have that as my "last" resort, having seen it mentioned before. I'd much rather have it working locally instead of relying on my router. I think I changed routers about 3 times last year! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2013, 13:28    Post subject:  

and just for brainstorming, I saw mention of setting DHCP off in grub:

Code:

title Puppy Linux Full on sda1
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=normal dhcp=off


    But doesn't FRISBEE rely on dhcp, so would this work?
    And if I can use this, do I have the syntax correct? (I haven't tried it yet)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Wed 04 Dec 2013, 13:41    Post subject:  

the grub config is a new one on me...perhaps its aimed at not automatically connecting to the ethernet
rather than wireless related but thats just a guess
Perhaps someone will drop in with some clues

You been eating routers.... not good for the teeth...

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri 13 Dec 2013, 12:00    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:


You been eating routers.... not good for the teeth...

mike


LOL...

SO... no takers on this one? I did come to the right forum for Puppy support, right? I'm not in dire straights or anything, but would have hoped someone would know what I gotta do... Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Fri 13 Dec 2013, 12:11    Post subject:  

I am merely a thread bumper.... there is a hardware section on here ...might be worth a post. Surprised no one else chipped in really and its not an area I have much expertise in and i don't use recent puppies.

there ya go...another bump Very Happy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sat 14 Dec 2013, 10:38    Post subject:  

There seems to be a bug which causes this line in /etc/frisbee/dhcpcd.conf to not always be interpreted as expected:
Code:
ssid EducateMe

In your case, there is no need for the line, so to work-around the problem you should be able to simply comment-out the line, like so:
Code:
#ssid EducateMe

Do not actually remove the line because doing so will confuse frisbee, which finds things in the configuration file by counting lines.

Note that if you later run frisbee and use its GUI to change the configuration for that network, it will overwrite your edit and you will need to fix it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 14 Dec 2013, 14:45    Post subject:  

OK! Cool - Thanks, I'll give that a try and report back later!

Oh... and the line counting thing (weird!!) no makes sense why removing the entire redundant stanza didn't work and I had to reconfigure from the GUI!!

And... I do not really consider this a HW problem. The hardware is doing what it should and DNCP/Frisbee is not... Hmmm... Mike did you mention a Frisbee forum or something... I'll read back... and thanks for the bump!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 14 Dec 2013, 14:48    Post subject:  

OH... and on further thought... I did not actually edit any of these file by hand since the last GUI configuration... so that bug that you mentioned is actually writen to the file by the GUI! LOL... awesome.

I made the change and I'm rebooting now. <Fingers Crossed>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 14 Dec 2013, 15:08    Post subject:  

NOPE. Darnit!
Quote:

Dec 14 15:01:40 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3013]: version 5.6.4 starting
Dec 14 15:01:40 PictureFrame daemon.warn dhcpcd[3013]: all: configured as a router, not a host
Dec 14 15:01:40 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3013]: forking to background
Dec 14 15:01:40 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3013]: forked to background, child pid 3018
Dec 14 15:01:40 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: using hwaddr 00:12:f0:1c:dd:d2
Dec 14 15:01:40 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason PREINIT
Dec 14 15:01:41 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason NOCARRIER
Dec 14 15:01:41 PictureFrame user.debug kernel: [ 30.438570] lib80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'TKIP'
Dec 14 15:01:41 PictureFrame auth.info sshd[3046]: Server listening on 0.0.0.0 port 22.
Dec 14 15:01:44 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: carrier acquired
Dec 14 15:01:44 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: using hwaddr 00:12:f0:1c:dd:d2
Dec 14 15:01:44 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason CARRIER
Dec 14 15:01:44 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: using static address 192.168.1.76
Dec 14 15:01:44 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: adding IP address 192.168.1.76/24
Dec 14 15:01:44 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: adding route to 192.168.1.0/24
Dec 14 15:01:44 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: adding default route via 192.168.1.1
Dec 14 15:01:44 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason STATIC
Dec 14 15:01:45 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: broadcasting for a lease
Dec 14 15:01:45 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: sending DISCOVER (xid 0xe3c18078), next in 3.13 seconds
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: offered 192.168.1.120 from 192.168.1.1
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: sending REQUEST (xid 0xe3c18078), next in 3.01 seconds
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: acknowledged 192.168.1.120 from 192.168.1.1
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.info dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: using static address 192.168.1.120
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: adding IP address 192.168.1.120/24
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: deleting IP address 192.168.1.76/24
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: changing route to 192.168.1.0/24
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: changing default route via 192.168.1.1
Dec 14 15:01:48 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason STATIC
Dec 14 15:01:56 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: removing route to 192.168.1.0/24
Dec 14 15:01:56 PictureFrame daemon.debug dhcpcd[3018]: eth1: removing default route via 192.168.1.1


Any other ideas? That line you told me did stay commented out, too.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 14 Dec 2013, 15:52    Post subject:  

Line counting Shocked

well there ya go.

I never understand where frisbee comes into such things.... they are all just gui for configuring iwconfig, dhcp , wpa_supplicant and so on. There is a frisbee thread, problem for you is the person who wrote it is not longer around this forum so hopefully others are familiar enough with it.

Bit out of ideas at this point.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dlopeman

Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 14 Dec 2013, 16:05    Post subject:  

Well, Mike, no worries. It's just a picture frame I built... and it does always get the same DHCP address when released/renewed... and obviously DHCP works! I might even set up the MAC hard-setting idea, too... Heck w/ it! I'be been a *NIX admin almost 25 years and things that should work don't, and things that do work, shouldn't, on this thing!!! LOL

And I'm kinda stuck w/ Frisbee, as it was the only network thingie that could get my Intel IPW2200 wireless chipset to work!

Sigh... thanks both you guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 08:37    Post subject:  

dlopeman wrote:
NOPE. Darnit!

Too bad.

Your seem to have run into something different than what I ran into.

I also prefer static addressing, but had never had much luck with frisbee, so I've always stuck with net-setup.sh (a.k.a., "Puppy Network Wizard"). But in order to look into your issue, I tried frisbee and had similar symptoms: When I first configured the network with frisbee, and clicked the Save Profile button, the connection was made using the specified static address. But if I stopped and restarted the dhcpcd daemon via the frisbee init script, like so:
Code:
/etc/init.d/frisbee stop
/etc/init.d/frisbee start

dhcpcd would broadcast for a lease, and use the address offered, instead of the static address.

(Note that there are two scripts named "frisbee". The one that has the GUI that you use to configure your network connection is in the /usr/local/bin/ directory; the one that starts the related daemons (wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd) is in the /etc/init.d/ directory.)

dlopeman wrote:
... so that bug that you mentioned is actually writen to the file by the GUI! LOL...

Yes, the line specifying the "ssid" option does get written by frisbee, but according to the documentation for dhcpcd, that is a perfectly valid line. The problem is that, in this case, it doesn't always behave as described in the documentation. And I think this problem is related to the way frisbee starts dhcpcd.

What that line is supposed to do is to cause dhcpcd to ignore the lines that follow it unless the SSID selected matches the the SSID on the "ssid" option line. It stops ignoring lines when it next encounters an "ssid" or "interface" option line that matches the selected SSID or interface. That works fine when dhcpcd is started from /usr/local/bin/frisbee when the Save Profile button is clicked, but not when it is started with
Code:
/etc/init.d/frisbee start

which is what happens at boot time.

But, as you have discovered, that is not the problem that you are experiencing.

So I dug a bit deeper, and think I may have been able to reproduce the problem you are having. And I think I may have a fix for it, which I have attached.

Please make a backup of your original /etc/init.d/frisbee file, then extract the frisbee file in the attached tar archive to your /etc/init.d/ directory, overwriting the original. See if it behaves properly now on your next reboot.

Happily, this also fixes the problem that I had with the "static" option in the configuration file, so if you want to you may now remove the '#' from that line.

Please let me know if this fix works for you, or if it causes any side-effects, so that I know whether or not it should be included in future Puppies.


UPDATE, 2014-Jan-18:
I've revised my original fix to prevent an unnecessary half-minute delay that happened the first time /usr/local/bin/frisbee was run on a new Puppy (before the user had configured the network connections). (For details, see my post for today in this thread.) The new version is now attached below, replacing my first version. Remember, this is /etc/init.d/frisbee, not the other frisbee script. I welcome test reports.
frisbee.tar.gz
Description  frisbee init script with fix for static ip address (updated)
gz

 Download 
Filename  frisbee.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.15 KB 
Downloaded  137 Time(s) 

Last edited by npierce on Sat 18 Jan 2014, 15:19; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1277s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]