Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 05:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Full install won't reboot after a power failure
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Tuneturkey

Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 12:56    Post subject:  Full install won't reboot after a power failure  

I am running a virtual organ program, jOrgan, on a pc in my organ console, using linux puppy. Jorgan will run headless, no monitor, no keyboard/mouse. Therefore the console main power switch will shut everything down including the pc. Linux puppy was installed on the HD, file system ext3 and runs satisfactorily. However, after a power off, puppy does not re-boot. It is my understanding that the ext3 fs allows reboot without "shutdown errors".
1. How can I configure puppy 528 to re-boot without errors after "power off" shutdown?
2. Would frugal install work, rather then Full?

PC is desktop, with Pentium 4 - 3mhz, dual core, 2gb ram, 15gb hd(one partition, ext3 fs),
does not have USB boot option, only hd, cd, floppy. Boots fine from live cd and from HD.
Help,
Tuneturkey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8349

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 13:36    Post subject:  

Ok there are leftover flag files in puppy that will block the booting sequence if left around.
There was a cleanup addition many moons ago for full installs but I don't think it got implemented into newer puppies...it had its own flag file and if present would clean up those other leftovers.
It may be a case of adding something yourself.....

I assume from your post you are just hitting the power...if you are remote controlling via ssh then a controlled shutdown would be better.

Otherwise a frugal loaded to ram and no save would be a workaround...perhaps custom remastered with the configuration.... then there is nothing to be left lying around and hitting the power button will have no consequences.
Another option would be the multisession DVD/CD approach.... would handle things in a similar fashion.

hope trhat makes some sense.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2525
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 14:12    Post subject:  

mightbe adding boot parameter
pfix=fsck
will help

Don't know what's a bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 15:31    Post subject:  

Puppy has two shutdown commandos :

/sbin/reboot
/sbin/poweroff

These are short scripts, look into them for guidance .


I have two Dells Optiplex 7xx that do not reboot reliable
with kernels somehow >=2.6.34 ,
so am using Puppy-4 kernel 2.6.30.x .

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11120
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 16:30    Post subject:  

Tuneturkey, if you're amenable to running from a frugal install as Mike suggested, that might solve your problem. I think that if you set a frugal Puppy to not save unless you tell it to, it will reboot without errors after a power fail. Anyway, that's what happens to me and I'm running Puppy from a multisession DVD, which I assume is equivalent to running from a frugal install with save interval set to 0 (no save unless told to.) Unless I've done something that I want to save, I simply turn off the power to shut Puppy down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 17:28    Post subject:  

Quote:
It is my understanding that the ext3 fs allows reboot without "shutdown errors".

Quote:
Its main advantage over ext2 is journaling, which improves reliability and eliminates the need to check the file system after an unclean shutdown.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ext3 .. in theory .

Since Puppy 5 series there is /sbin/init doing a filesystem check if it finds some "fsckme.flg" or "fsckme.err" file in "/" .

That fsckme.* flag file is created by
#100911 fsckme.err filename changed to fsckme.flg. see also initNEW, init (initramfs), rc.shutdown.
/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

and removed by
#100315 improper shutdown check. see /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit, /init in initramfs, and /sbin/init...
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown

.

If you poweroff without a proper configured acpi package,
the fsckme file is still there,
the /sbin/init will run fsck and reboot thereafter into grub menu .

If you have no timeout or default value set in grub menu.lst , then you can wait forever .
Laughing

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tuneturkey

Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 11:53    Post subject:  

Thanks everone for the replys!
A bit more information on the specific application:
1. The computer running puppy linux is to be embedded inside of an organ console, in accessible to normal operation, and will run the virtual organ program "jOrgan" headless, i.e. without mouse,keyboard or monitor.
2. The oran console will have an on/off switch which will apply power to all devices within the console in addition to the puppy linux computer.
3. on application od ac power, the computer needs to boot up puppy and load and run the virtual organ software, preferably without inserting a cd, usb or other device. In addition, removal of ac power should not cause un revocerable conditions with the puppy machine such that upon re application of ac power, puppy fails to boot and load the organ software.
4. The computer being used is a desktop, Pentium 4, 3mhz, dual core processor with 2Gb ram, 15Gb HDD. Boot sequence is limited to cd and floppy. USB is not on the boot list. The computer does have an ethernet card and a wireless network card and will login to my home network without any problem. The home network is running on a win7 machine.
5. The computer will not be used for any other function then what is described above

Reason for using Linux puppy is that it is small, functional, well supported
and the iso jwill fit on a standard cd.

Experience so far;
1. full installation is not practical since the os will not tolerate a power off shutdown.
2. Frugal install appears to be the most reasonable.
3. The frugal install appears to work, but when the cd is removed, puppy comes up with an error 15. The initial setup was made without installing grub. so i rebooted with the cd in place and installed grub and configured it. Startup without the cd in place still produces the error 15.

Questions:
1. With grub install correctly, will the computer boot without the cd in the drive?
2. if grub is to be installed should EXT2 be used rather then ext3 or 4.

The setup steps i am follwing are;
1. boot puppy with the 5.2.8 cd.
2. fdsk the hd, removing the existing partition 1
3. rebot the computer.
4. use Gparted and add a new primary partition 1, bootable, ext2 fs.
5. write partition to HD.
6. go the universal puppy loader and install puppy on SDA1., selecting cd, frugal install and following the prompts. When should grub be configured and installed. During the univ. load sequence?
7. With this procedure finished, should the computer be rebooted without the live cd in the drive the first time, or not?

With the cd still in the drive, it boots just fine, but drops any other changes made to jorgan.
without the cd, error 15.

Any help will be appreciated.
Tuneturkey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8349

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 11:58    Post subject:  

For what you describe I would think a multisession CD/DVDwould be the most suitable... could you do without the hard drive?
A multisession or indeed a remaster could include the organ software unless its huge.
This to me would give the closest to an embedded system.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tuneturkey

Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 12:34    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,
no i don't really need the HDD, however the cd is a reader only, no burn capability. Would that impact the multisession cd/DVD?
The frugal install would be fine, if I could get it to work without the cd in the drive.
Should the live cd be removable after install? I am not real clear on that point.
tuneturkey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tuneturkey

Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 12:42    Post subject:  

mike,
What is a "remaster"?
I am a total "newbie" to linux period! This is my first venture away from windows (XP, Win7).
Be kind with the technicalities. I have engineering background, and am literate when it comes to DOS and windows, but linux is a horse of a different color. Its difficult to define a term when you have to google most of the words in the definition. However, if thats what it takes, I'm good!
tuneturkey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8349

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 14:14    Post subject:  

Ok no read/write would put the stoppers on multisession....would involve doing it on another machine or swapping drives at least to set it up.
By a not dissimilar token a remaster would be a bit fiddly. There is a wizard that rebuilds your puppy including any changes or added software. Once custom built for a machine which you can do it would not need a save as such. Such a rebuild could be used frugally too.

Boot from cd..if it loads into ram then it could be removed.

Frugal not booting...grub4dos installer usually sorts it out.

ok trying not to overload with information here

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tuneturkey

Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 14:56    Post subject:  

Thanks mike,
I'll try grubfordos and see what happens.
Probably would be best all around is to get a DVDRW drive, and end the problems.
tuneturkey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11120
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 15:53    Post subject:  

A DVD burner would be an excellent solution. For the record, a multisession CD configured and burned in a different computer would probably boot from a read-only CD drive if a regular Puppy CD will. You just couldn't save any settings, the same as booting any other Puppy from a read-only CD drive.

Between remastering or running from a multisession CD or DVD, the multisession approach would probably take fewer trials to get it to work. Just use a DVD-RW to start with, so you don't make a pile of coasters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tuneturkey

Joined: 21 Jul 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 17:15    Post subject:  

Mike and all,http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/images/icons/icon6.gif
Ran grub4dos and it cleaned up the mess, well best i can tell it did!
It now does a normal boot without the cd and loads jOrgan! Great!
However, I did a "power switch off" shutdown and all went wel till it came up with the "x didn't restart" window, with the choice to "Ignore" or "go to the comandline". I chose the former and it completed the startup,

How do I get it to restart "X" automatically after a "power switch off shutdown"?
Tuneturkey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8349

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2013, 17:21    Post subject:  

Well we are back to puppies desire to scatter flag files around and then gets stubborn if its not happy with them.

Well are you going to be running headless (pfix=nox) in the end...in which case these annoyances do not apply. ?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0819s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]