Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 02 Aug 2014, 00:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
How to have changes in conkyrc file show immediately?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
lfdk

Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 21 Dec 2013, 14:24    Post subject:  How to have changes in conkyrc file show immediately?  

Hi! Hope someone can help me. I'm using lucid 5.2.8.005 frugal install. every time i edit my conkyrc file I have to restart x to see the changes. I also have a precise frugal installed. and i only have to "save" in "geany" to see the changes. Is it posible to do that in Lucid to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1290
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Sat 21 Dec 2013, 20:01    Post subject:  

Code:
conky &


does not work in terminal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lfdk

Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 22 Dec 2013, 08:31    Post subject:  

rokytnji wrote:
Code:
conky &


does not work in terminal?


No that dosn't work either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4229
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 22 Dec 2013, 13:03    Post subject:  

Hello, lfdk.

The best way to test your edits to the conky configuration file is tp have a terminal
opened besides your editor window.

You don't need to restart X at all. Do your edits, then in console, type:
Code:
killall conky
conky -c ActualNameOfYourConkyrc

(Usually .conkyrc, but any other name is ok if you use the -c parameter.)

Also, depending on the refresh speed you specified in conky ("update_interval" line), if
it's fast enough, conky should refresh by itself, because it re-reads its config file every X
seconds. My line has
Code:
update_interval 3.0

so 3 seconds after the edit is done, it shows in conky. You may want to put an interval
of 1.0 (1 second) while you're editing to speed things up.

So you may not even need to de-activate / re-activate conky after each edit to see it.
Certainly, restarting X is not needed.

Best of luck!

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lfdk

Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 15:19    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, lfdk.

The best way to test your edits to the conky configuration file is tp have a terminal
opened besides your editor window.

You don't need to restart X at all. Do your edits, then in console, type:
Code:
killall conky
conky -c ActualNameOfYourConkyrc

(Usually .conkyrc, but any other name is ok if you use the -c parameter.)

Also, depending on the refresh speed you specified in conky ("update_interval" line), if
it's fast enough, conky should refresh by itself, because it re-reads its config file every X
seconds. My line has
Code:
update_interval 3.0

so 3 seconds after the edit is done, it shows in conky. You may want to put an interval
of 1.0 (1 second) while you're editing to speed things up.

So you may not even need to de-activate / re-activate conky after each edit to see it.
Certainly, restarting X is not needed.

Best of luck!

musher0


That is the problem my update_interval is set to 1.0 but it dosn't update. And the above command
Code:
conky -c conkyrc
only opens one of my conky windows. and yes I have tried
Code:
 conky -c conkyrc_2
still not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4229
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 19:27    Post subject:  

Hello, lfdk.

Are you sure that it's
Code:
conky -c conkyrc

and not
Code:
conky -c .conkyrc
? (with the period in front of it the config file)

As well, try adding the full path, and "demonize" it, something like:
Code:
conky -d -c /root/.conkyrc_rc2


Hopefully, that will help. BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lfdk

Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 16:36    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, lfdk.

Are you sure that it's
Code:
conky -c conkyrc

and not
Code:
conky -c .conkyrc
? (with the period in front of it the config file)

As well, try adding the full path, and "demonize" it, something like:
Code:
conky -d -c /root/.conkyrc_rc2


Hopefully, that will help. BFN.

musher0


sorry I forgot the . but still not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0594s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0028s) ][ GZIP on ]