Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 10:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
How to have changes in conkyrc file show immediately?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
lfdk

Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 21 Dec 2013, 14:24    Post_subject:  How to have changes in conkyrc file show immediately?  

Hi! Hope someone can help me. I'm using lucid 5.2.8.005 frugal install. every time i edit my conkyrc file I have to restart x to see the changes. I also have a precise frugal installed. and i only have to "save" in "geany" to see the changes. Is it posible to do that in Lucid to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1377
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Sat 21 Dec 2013, 20:01    Post_subject:  

Code:
conky &


does not work in terminal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
lfdk

Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 22 Dec 2013, 08:31    Post_subject:  

rokytnji wrote:
Code:
conky &


does not work in terminal?


No that dosn't work either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4256
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 22 Dec 2013, 13:03    Post_subject:  

Hello, lfdk.

The best way to test your edits to the conky configuration file is tp have a terminal
opened besides your editor window.

You don't need to restart X at all. Do your edits, then in console, type:
Code:
killall conky
conky -c ActualNameOfYourConkyrc

(Usually .conkyrc, but any other name is ok if you use the -c parameter.)

Also, depending on the refresh speed you specified in conky ("update_interval" line), if
it's fast enough, conky should refresh by itself, because it re-reads its config file every X
seconds. My line has
Code:
update_interval 3.0

so 3 seconds after the edit is done, it shows in conky. You may want to put an interval
of 1.0 (1 second) while you're editing to speed things up.

So you may not even need to de-activate / re-activate conky after each edit to see it.
Certainly, restarting X is not needed.

Best of luck!

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
lfdk

Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 15:19    Post_subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, lfdk.

The best way to test your edits to the conky configuration file is tp have a terminal
opened besides your editor window.

You don't need to restart X at all. Do your edits, then in console, type:
Code:
killall conky
conky -c ActualNameOfYourConkyrc

(Usually .conkyrc, but any other name is ok if you use the -c parameter.)

Also, depending on the refresh speed you specified in conky ("update_interval" line), if
it's fast enough, conky should refresh by itself, because it re-reads its config file every X
seconds. My line has
Code:
update_interval 3.0

so 3 seconds after the edit is done, it shows in conky. You may want to put an interval
of 1.0 (1 second) while you're editing to speed things up.

So you may not even need to de-activate / re-activate conky after each edit to see it.
Certainly, restarting X is not needed.

Best of luck!

musher0


That is the problem my update_interval is set to 1.0 but it dosn't update. And the above command
Code:
conky -c conkyrc
only opens one of my conky windows. and yes I have tried
Code:
 conky -c conkyrc_2
still not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4256
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 19:27    Post_subject:  

Hello, lfdk.

Are you sure that it's
Code:
conky -c conkyrc

and not
Code:
conky -c .conkyrc
? (with the period in front of it the config file)

As well, try adding the full path, and "demonize" it, something like:
Code:
conky -d -c /root/.conkyrc_rc2


Hopefully, that will help. BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
lfdk

Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 16:36    Post_subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, lfdk.

Are you sure that it's
Code:
conky -c conkyrc

and not
Code:
conky -c .conkyrc
? (with the period in front of it the config file)

As well, try adding the full path, and "demonize" it, something like:
Code:
conky -d -c /root/.conkyrc_rc2


Hopefully, that will help. BFN.

musher0


sorry I forgot the . but still not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0636s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]