Page 1 of 1

How to have changes in conkyrc file show immediately?

Posted: Sat 21 Dec 2013, 18:24
by lfdk
Hi! Hope someone can help me. I'm using lucid 5.2.8.005 frugal install. every time i edit my conkyrc file I have to restart x to see the changes. I also have a precise frugal installed. and i only have to "save" in "geany" to see the changes. Is it posible to do that in Lucid to?

Posted: Sun 22 Dec 2013, 00:01
by rokytnji

Code: Select all

conky &
does not work in terminal?

Posted: Sun 22 Dec 2013, 12:31
by lfdk
rokytnji wrote:

Code: Select all

conky &
does not work in terminal?
No that dosn't work either.

Posted: Sun 22 Dec 2013, 17:03
by musher0
Hello, lfdk.

The best way to test your edits to the conky configuration file is tp have a terminal
opened besides your editor window.

You don't need to restart X at all. Do your edits, then in console, type:

Code: Select all

killall conky
conky -c ActualNameOfYourConkyrc
(Usually .conkyrc, but any other name is ok if you use the -c parameter.)

Also, depending on the refresh speed you specified in conky ("update_interval" line), if
it's fast enough, conky should refresh by itself, because it re-reads its config file every X
seconds. My line has

Code: Select all

update_interval 3.0
so 3 seconds after the edit is done, it shows in conky. You may want to put an interval
of 1.0 (1 second) while you're editing to speed things up.

So you may not even need to de-activate / re-activate conky after each edit to see it.
Certainly, restarting X is not needed.

Best of luck!

musher0

Posted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 19:19
by lfdk
musher0 wrote:Hello, lfdk.

The best way to test your edits to the conky configuration file is tp have a terminal
opened besides your editor window.

You don't need to restart X at all. Do your edits, then in console, type:

Code: Select all

killall conky
conky -c ActualNameOfYourConkyrc
(Usually .conkyrc, but any other name is ok if you use the -c parameter.)

Also, depending on the refresh speed you specified in conky ("update_interval" line), if
it's fast enough, conky should refresh by itself, because it re-reads its config file every X
seconds. My line has

Code: Select all

update_interval 3.0
so 3 seconds after the edit is done, it shows in conky. You may want to put an interval
of 1.0 (1 second) while you're editing to speed things up.

So you may not even need to de-activate / re-activate conky after each edit to see it.
Certainly, restarting X is not needed.

Best of luck!

musher0
That is the problem my update_interval is set to 1.0 but it dosn't update. And the above command

Code: Select all

conky -c conkyrc
only opens one of my conky windows. and yes I have tried

Code: Select all

 conky -c conkyrc_2
still not working.

Posted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 23:27
by musher0
Hello, lfdk.

Are you sure that it's

Code: Select all

conky -c conkyrc 
and not

Code: Select all

conky -c .conkyrc 
? (with the period in front of it the config file)

As well, try adding the full path, and "demonize" it, something like:

Code: Select all

conky -d -c /root/.conkyrc_rc2
Hopefully, that will help. BFN.

musher0

Posted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 20:36
by lfdk
musher0 wrote:Hello, lfdk.

Are you sure that it's

Code: Select all

conky -c conkyrc 
and not

Code: Select all

conky -c .conkyrc 
? (with the period in front of it the config file)

As well, try adding the full path, and "demonize" it, something like:

Code: Select all

conky -d -c /root/.conkyrc_rc2
Hopefully, that will help. BFN.

musher0
sorry I forgot the . but still not working.