Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 19 Jun 2019, 17:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Battery Monitor
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
zaivala

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 12:05    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
zaivala wrote:
I was hoping for an indicator which WOULD show me, without mousing, so I would know when to plug in... as I said at the start of this thread, I get no warning that the battery is drained, other than my computer shutting off.

rcrsn51 wrote:
When the battery gets low, it pops up a warning message

Please run a full test and verify that this works for you.


As usual, I missed that line. I'm running a test now but it says I have 205 minutes...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 12:21    Post subject:  

No rush.

In the meantime, could you go to /proc/acpi/battery/BATx , locate the file "info" and post it here. I think I understand why I originally got the "floating point exception" error, but your problem may be different.

I have posted v1.2 above with some improvements.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zaivala

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 13:53    Post subject:  

# /proc/acpi/battery/BATx
bash: /proc/acpi/battery/BATx: No such file or directory

LOL see what an idiot I am... did cd /proc/acpi/battery , found BAT0, did ls and found there is a file... let me see if I can open it...

present: yes
design capacity: 0 mWh
last full capacity: 37752 mWh
battery technology: rechargeable
design voltage: 1 mV
design capacity warning: 14520 mWh
design capacity low: 3775 mWh
cycle count: 377
capacity granularity 1: -1 mWh
capacity granularity 2: -1 mWh
model number: ÿÿÿÿ
serial number: X550A26
battery type:
OEM info: LIon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zaivala

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 14:04    Post subject:  

At "66 minutes left" I got a text box on my screen "Low Battery". So it works, in a very rudimentary but effective way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 14:28    Post subject:  

There are some wonky things about your battery. Those numbers should be in mAh, not mWh. Is that just a typo?

[Edit] I found an example where the numbers were in mWh.

Quote:
design capacity: 0 mWh

This value is causing the "floating point exception" error. It should be the factory-fresh maximum capacity, not zero.

Quote:
design capacity warning: 14520 mWh

This value triggers the warning message and is far higher than any of my batteries. That's why you are getting a warning with 66 minutes left.

Could you please also post the "state" file from the same folder?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zaivala

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Wed 25 Dec 2013, 17:09    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:


Could you please also post the "state" file from the same folder?


present: yes
capacity state: ok
charging state: charged
present rate: 0 mW
remaining capacity: 35486 mWh
present voltage: 14520 mV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 09:51    Post subject:  

@zaivala: Please try v1.3 above. It triggers the warning message 5 minutes from shutdown. If this time doesn't work properly with your system, you can set it to something else.

I'm hoping that this version also works with batteries that use mWh instead of mAh.

With older batteries like ours, trying to calculate the capacity during charging can be either misleading or dangerous. So I have removed it. Now the message just says "Battery is charging".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0631s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0331s) ][ GZIP on ]