Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 15:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy Package Manager "hangs"
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
grega

Joined: 28 Dec 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2013, 03:47    Post subject:  Puppy Package Manager "hangs"
Subject description: Puppy Package Manager "hangs" when changing the column sizes
 

When attempting to change the "size" of columns in "Puppy Package Manager" (PPM) in Slacko Puppy version 5.6, the cursor does not change back to the standard "Arrow" but stays as the "double pointed arrow (<-->)" and no longer is able to DO ANYTHING.
I'm unable to select a new window, close PPM or interact with any X object.

Used Ctl-Alt-F2 to open a console, tty2, ran "ps -ef" to determine the PIDs of PPM and additional programs started by it and did a "kill -15 <PIDS>" to regain control of X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2013, 17:08    Post subject:  

Hmm... just found the same PPM behavior in Carolina 1.1 - froze the desktop with the <-> cursor (still moveable, but otherwise completely non-functional), required Ctrl+Alt+Backspace then xwin cmd to get back to the desktop. I'm a clueless newb as to why, but quite possibly a real bug...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2013, 18:28    Post subject:  

Yep. Just got same result with current Slacko (testing). Did ctrl+alt+backspace to get out of the lockup.
Not that I actually use the PPM for anything much Laughing

Another thing - although I was careful about where I put my cursor, the PPM still selected the top entry (Blackbox) even though I hadn't selected it. In the screeny below, as soon as I press the mouse button, Blackbox gets selected, the pre-install dialog pops up, and I can move the column width until the mouse button is released, then it locks up.
Screenshot_2013-12-28_225325.png
 Description   
 Filesize   97.29 KB
 Viewed   313 Time(s)

Screenshot_2013-12-28_225325.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2013, 19:39    Post subject:  

Keef wrote:
Another thing - although I was careful about where I put my cursor, the PPM still selected the top entry (Blackbox) even though I hadn't selected it.


Oh yeah... that's right! Exact same thing happened here.

I wonder if this is a bug with this particular version/family of PPM, as my "regular" Pups (BarryK's official versions) all have the older (?) PPM GUI, and I've never before experienced this behavior with those.

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2013, 20:19    Post subject:  

Output running PPM from terminal -

Code:
# /usr/local/petget/pkg_chooser.sh
/usr/local/petget/installpreview.sh: line 130: [: too many arguments
cat: /tmp/petget_installpreview_pkgname: No such file or directory
/usr/local/petget/installpreview.sh: line 280: 11887 Terminated            yaf
-splash -bg orange -text “Please wait, processing package database files...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2013, 06:25    Post subject:  

You can switch from Ziggy's GUI to the "Classic" GUI in settings. It has exactly the same problem though.
There is some reference to column resizing in the gtkdialog development thread here. Column resizing works ok in pMusic, so maybe it is curable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2013, 17:42    Post subject:  

Thanks Keef - as I never got around to trying the Ziggy GUI, I didn't even realize that's what I'm starin' at. Doh.

Looks like JakeSFR and 01micko have already sorted the PPM bug out in woof-CE -

https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/pull/291

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0524s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]