Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 23:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Grub4Dos issues after full install of Lupu 5.2.8.005
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 69
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 01:49    Post subject:  Grub4Dos issues after full install of Lupu 5.2.8.005
Subject description: Get error message on the first screen
 

The message says: Booting Puppy Linux fill install in sda2
Filesystem is ext2fs, partition type0x83
kernel /boot/vmlinuz
root=/dev/sda2
pmedia=atahd
Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format
Press any key to continue

Here is my menu.lst file:
# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
timeout 10
default 0

# Full installed Puppy 528

title Puppy Linux 528 full install in sda2
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 pmedia=atahd

# Frugal installed Puppy

title Lupu 528 (sda2/puppy528)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /puppy528/initrd.gz
kernel /puppy528/vmlinuz psubdir=puppy528 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
initrd /puppy528/initrd.gz

title Lupu 528 (sda2/puppy528) RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /puppy528/initrd.gz
kernel /puppy528/vmlinuz psubdir=puppy528 pmedia=atahd pfix=ram,fsck
initrd /puppy528/initrd.gz

# Full installed Linux

title Linux boot (sda2/boot)
uuid 2398a389-5906-41f7-882a-d208c1166ce4
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 ro

# Windows
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
title Windows\nBoot up Windows if installed
errorcheck off
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /bootmgr
chainloader /bootmgr
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ntldr
chainloader /ntldr
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /io.sys
chainloader /io.sys
errorcheck on

# Boot from Partition Boot Sector

title Microsoft Windows XP Professional (sda1:PBS)
uuid A604AA2C04AA0003
chainloader +1

title Unknown (sda4:PBS)
uuid 3271-59D3
chainloader +1

# additionals

title Find Grub2\nBoot up grub2 if installed
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /boot/grub/core.img
kernel /boot/grub/core.img

title Grub4Dos commandline\n(for experts only)
commandline

title Reboot computer
reboot

title Halt computer
halt

How did I mess it up?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 09:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format

perhaps take it literally...

that suggest the vmlinuz (kernel) is corrupted in some way...could try copying from the original iso.....

Its getting past grub and not getting as far as init it would seem .

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5138
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 22:18    Post subject:  

That first entry for a full install does not look like a good entry for Grub4dos.
Quote:
# Full installed Puppy 528

title Puppy Linux 528 full install in sda2
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 pmedia=atahd


I see you have a frugal install of Lupu 528.
Boot it.
Run Grub4dos bootloader config
Let this program setup the boot menu.
Default settings usually work OK.
Reboot.
Try boot menu entry now.

As stated by mikeb. You could have a bad install.
Did you use the Puppy Universal Installer to do the full install?
If yes.
Do not do any manual editing of the menu.lst.
Just run Grub4dos bootloader config
Let it setup a new menu.lst

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5138
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 22:32    Post subject:  

There are some updated versions of Lucid Puppy 5.2.8.6
You may want to try.
Get it here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90461

For full install, I suggest you use a partition format ext 3 or 4.
They are more stable and less chance to be corrupted than ext 2.

There is a newer version of Grub4dos that may help.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EdD

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 166
Location: Southside Virginia

PostPosted: Fri 03 Jan 2014, 23:43    Post subject:  

"That first entry for a full install does not look like a good entry for Grub4dos.
Quote:
# Full installed Puppy 528

title Puppy Linux 528 full install in sda2
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 pmedia=atahd"

Bigpup, that is the entry suggested by a dialog box after an install using the universal installer. The instruction is to edit the menulst of existing GRUB. I've been doing that edit on installs lately and on a few machines the reboot command doesn't execute.

Not sure what the intent of the dialog box is, maybe it's a fix for something in the GRUB installer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2014, 07:11    Post subject:  

grub4dos will not work if its on an ext4 partition...it can boot ext4 just not itself on there.. could this be a factor. The menu.lst looks fine...you probably don't need the pmedia.

One factor might be bios seeing drives in a different order making (hd0,1) wrong... with SATA anyway.... perhaps --find needs using

'c' gives a bash like console with thee grub...it may help diagnose the problem

just throwing in thoughts there

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5138
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jan 2014, 18:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
Bigpup, that is the entry suggested by a dialog box after an install using the universal installer. The instruction is to edit the menulst of existing GRUB. I've been doing that edit on installs lately and on a few machines the reboot command doesn't execute.

Not sure what the intent of the dialog box is, maybe it's a fix for something in the GRUB installer.

The dialog box is info for people that want to manually edit the menu.lst that may already be in use to boot the computer.

That dialog box is showing how the entry should be for legacy Grub.
Grub4dos uses a different entry, but Grub4dos is backwards compatible with legacy Grub, so it can use that Grub entry.
I just know, I have less boot problems, if I run Grub4dos Bootloader config, after an install of Puppy and let it make a new menu.lst.
Manually entering always leaves room for missing something.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EdD

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 166
Location: Southside Virginia

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jan 2014, 09:48    Post subject:  

Thanks, bigpup. I've never used Grub4DOS, mainly becuase I never learned to use DOS. I'll check around the forum for a tutorial and try it out. The original grub configuration has left me hanging a few times on a few of my old computers.

It does seem to fail more often when I have edited an existing installation of it as per the dialog box. The most recent time, I found two menulst files, one labeled oldmenulst,with a 4 digit number after it.

Being unschooled in command line has limited me in my use of puppy, and it's time I got busy learning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jan 2014, 12:30    Post subject:  

Whats in a name...in this case common confusion....

grub4dos has little to do with dos...the name came from its early years aimed at dual booting linux with windows 98 stuff...

What you need to familiarise yourself with is grub menu.lst syntax (not grub 2) ...then you will be much more confident making alterations or adding systems.

There is help information specific to grub4dos but usually related to its more esoteric features like iso booting... you just need standard grub stuff..

grub4dos the wizard in puppy is a bash script that tries to guess the right entries... tends to get a bit flowery to play safe but usually sucessful.

hope thats clarifies ... feel free to melt

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EdD

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 166
Location: Southside Virginia

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jan 2014, 15:24    Post subject:  

Thanks, Mike. I'm diving into it right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EdD

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 166
Location: Southside Virginia

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 11:52    Post subject:  

Ah, yes. Grub4dos is the way to go.. After installing it, the startup list automatically put my Puppy full install in 1st boot position. Puppy is on its own hard drive (sd1), and the Win7 occupies sd0. Grub4dos seems to have riddled it out for me and boots sd1 first, just as I wanted without my having to do anything other than install it.

Thanks, Mike and Bigpup, and everyone else on the thread.

Regards,
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0731s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]