Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 12 Nov 2019, 14:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Media Transfer Protocol MTP (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 17 [253 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:29    Post subject:  

One thing that is sort of baffling is that when I first run MTP-detect -noarch it proceeds through the detection and test screens only the first time it is run. When trying to run it again, i cannot get to the YES, NO, GPL, TEST screen.

I took a screen shot:

[img]file:///root/Screenshot_2015-01-09_140301.png[/img]

I guess I need to host a pic somewhere to use the img tags?
Screenshot_2015-01-09_140301.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot_2015-01-09_140301.png 
Filesize  144.32 KB 
Downloaded  249 Time(s) 

Last edited by SnoopPup on Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:40; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:30    Post subject:  

Forget img tags. Anyone that's interested will simply open the image.

Now, is this a factory cord you're using or after-market?

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:37    Post subject:  

Aftermarket,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:43    Post subject:  

I should also say that I am running Android 4.0.4 (ICS) I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:44    Post subject:  

That's never good. Issues with factory cables are entirely different. ICS? I'll need to take a look @..
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:46    Post subject:  

Does that phone have a PTP mode?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:47    Post subject:  

A weird thing just happened. Moving my mouse wheel just caused multiple terminal screens to appear. About 6. Then I could close them. I think something similar happened before, but I didn't really that my mousewheel did it. Not sure how to duplicate now either. Feature or bug?

Ahh, you can hover over tray icons and rotate mousewheel to launch programs. Nifty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:49    Post subject:  

Besides my PTP request, have you tried AirDroid?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:54    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Does that phone have a PTP mode?


I don't believe so. Pretty much an older phone with USB Mass Storage mode.

I can switch between Modem and PDA which is necessary to connect to Samsung Kies MTP protocol, I believe. Or maybe that's something else. Kies uses MTP now, but perhaps that's just the new version and I still use the old version because new version of Kies is for Android 4.3 and later and I am running 4.0.4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:55    Post subject:  

Haven't tried Airdroid. That's an idea, I heard it mentioned before itt, I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 15:57    Post subject:  

Seems like there should just be an app for d/l and installing MTP or PTP protocols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 16:03    Post subject:  

Your screen hasn't been locked while trying to connect, right?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 16:09    Post subject:  

So MTP and PTP are hardware embedded not software protocols?

Checked for an app, just some app to connect to Samsung site for drivers..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 16:11    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Your screen hasn't been locked while trying to connect, right?

No,not today or recently. It might've been a couple of days ago. Not sure that was related to this though. Anyway, no, that does not seem to be a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SnoopPup

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 16:15    Post subject:  

Ah, Airdroid is to access phone through web browser. I don't really want to do that, if I can mount phone as a drive or network it as a pc, which it seems I am close to doing if lsusb reports it as on Bus1:Device 10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 17 [253 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0501s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]