Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 18:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Youtube Challenge
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Feb 2014, 20:13    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
If you have real Google Chrome (not Chromium) then it should have Pepperflash unless you've disabled it. If you've disabled it, you're using HTML5. If you don't know, or you haven't disabled it, Pepperflash.


Hi...

Yes, I'm using the real Chrome and I don't have flash disabled. Yet, the videos are defaulting to HTML5 even though I have not requested that on Youtube's site. Question

EDIT: This page might explain why...

https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/youtube/uFxU41VxYvI%5B1-25-false%5D

(for some reason the url feature isn't working correctly right now. Question )

Regards...

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3966
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 08 Feb 2014, 20:16    Post_subject:  

Starhawk >> here and three below.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3966
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 08 Feb 2014, 20:17    Post_subject:  

Nevermind..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
NickAu


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 186
Location: Far North Coast NSW ɹǝpunuʍop

PostPosted: Sat 08 Feb 2014, 20:31    Post_subject:  

I have good download speed see screeshot.


But when I try and play a movie from nowvideo Its laggy as hell no matter what browser I use no matter what OS i use. Even my laptop with a quad core cpu and ati raedon grafix card and 8 gig of ram( Win7 os) is the same. I do not have problems with any other site re real time watching. Allowing the movie to buffer up first yeilds the same results. So its not dl speed.

Here is a link to a movie on nowvideo The sample movie is Basic Instinct.
http://www.nowvideo.sx/video/4f7ddc15200df


Maybe we should make it the nowvideo challange lol

_________________
Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro Fatty Edition. Hp Compaq 2510p 2x Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo Cpu U7700@ 1.33 ghz,2 gig ram Booting from 8 gig micro USB + 32 gig SD card instead of HDD
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3966
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 08 Feb 2014, 20:53    Post_subject:  

Nah, they've got some kind of site player goin on.. not fair. Twisted Evil rtmpdump/srv/suck anyone?
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Feb 2014, 21:07    Post_subject:  

Hi all...

Ok, I solved the problem with Youtube. Apparently, this problem only affects Google Chrome. If you would prefer to use Flash Player instead of HTML5, go to this site and install the add-on, then go to the video settings and under "playback" and "video codec," choose "Flash." Make sure you to the Layout settings and uncheck everything in the "appearance" section so that your Youtube pages will display everything correctly. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2594
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 09 Feb 2014, 01:20    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:
the cpu version is solved with an older flash player as mentioned and is not a browser issue.
Hi Mike, my current test system uses flash 9 (v159) but still crashes the browser. Do you think an even older flash would cure my problem? The OS and browser/flash combo - (Turbopup/Seamonkey/flash9) - works perfectly on other PCs I have, but not on the one that has the cpu that lacks cmov. You don't think my browser might be compiled wrongly? Maybe it's been compiled for a system that has cmov capability? I just don't feel confident about this cpu...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2594
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 09 Feb 2014, 01:46    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
One thing I've learned about compiling is that if your CPU doesn't support eg CMOV, that instruction will be replaced with equivalents.

Interesting link. Worth a read
Is the word "will" justified here though? Should it be "could" be replaced with equivalents"? I haven't done any compiling so I have no idea, but does the end result depend on the skill/intention of the person doing the compiling?

In my case - Turbopup works perfectly on my K6-2, but the browser (a version of seamonkey 1) crashes with an "illegal instruction" error. Maybe the outcome would be different if the browser had been compiled with "non-cmov" in mind? (I'm guessing the rest of the Turbopup OS doesn't care about cmov as it boots ok - no kernel panic etc...)

I'm wondering how many Youtube difficulties (on older hardware) might be related to compiling mismatches?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8344

PostPosted: Sun 09 Feb 2014, 06:10    Post_subject:  

hmm perhaps there is some browser connection...when I had a k6 we would have been running firefox 1.5 plus flash 9 so some years ago.

is it turbopup because apps were recompiled for i686+ ?

Also the standard gtk2 on 4.12 was as buggy as hell..crashed all over the place...there was a fixit pet though updating glib also helped and I recently changed to a slax gtk2 of similar version to sure a paypal crash.

html5...is it me or is that format even harder to play than flash? I was testing formats from you tube and that one was abysmal ...all tested with mplayer...even the 1280 x blah mp4 played better than a 720 html5/vp8.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2594
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 09 Feb 2014, 12:56    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:
is it turbopup because apps were recompiled for i686+ ?

That I don't know unfortunately. The Turbopup author (synth) explained that he was making a cutdown version of pup 4.20 that would be optimised for low powered machines. He did a really good job of achieving that so I would have thought it strange if he had intentionally recompiled programs to suit newer machines.

However - being an AMD K6-2 it may be that this cpu has some characteristic that would have required different compile-time parameters that synth was not aiming to cover. I've had other old PCs that give me less browser trouble than this particular one.

I wonder if there is any way to tell "after the event" how the browsers were compiled?

I don't think this baby is ever going to manage to stream YouTube....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Laie

Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 290
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 09 Feb 2014, 15:25    Post_subject:  

Plays without problems:
Firefox 26.0
MedionPC with Intel Celeron M @ 1.46GHz, 1023MB RAM, Slacko Puppy - 5.5.70
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mill0001

Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 375
Location: "People's Republik of Kalifornia"

PostPosted: Wed 12 Feb 2014, 23:21    Post_subject:  

Nope. All I get is a black screen after I press the play button. Firefox-26. Amd quadcore cpu @ 3.2gh, 4gb DDR3 ram, Nvidia GTS-250 card. Slacko-5.3.3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3966
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 12 Feb 2014, 23:25    Post_subject:  

*Nevermind..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2594
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 14 Feb 2014, 03:10    Post_subject:  

Surely someone has a PC under 1GHz that can stream youtube?? Anybody? Anybody? Maybe I've been wasting my time trying to get my old, slow gear to stream it... Surely there must be something like a laptop that has a low-powered cpu teamed up with a basic video acceleration card that can do this? Or does everyone have fancy new gear now and all the PIII's have gone to the tip...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8344

PostPosted: Fri 14 Feb 2014, 06:50    Post_subject:  

this is a pentium 3.... 1ghz... pc100 not 133...the flash in the first post plays ok... thats about the limit on that resolution and its an intel chipset which gives the best performance for that era and the proper nvidia driver.

If a downloader like say movgrab is used, mplayer and good driver you might half that cpu speed or even better.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0784s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]