Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 13:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-630 & 631 Final (May 12 2014)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 41 [612 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 39, 40, 41 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 11:04    Post subject: Fatdog64-630 Final (February 11 2014)  

I've been trying out the latest Qupzilla snapshot (1.6.3) and it's
working pretty well.
Attempted upload the the contrib repository failed, problem with
Captcha (whatever that is)
qupzilla.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.99 KB
 Viewed   703 Time(s)

qupzilla.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb 2014, 13:49    Post subject:  

I use the googletalk plugin sometimes and previous FD64 versions (seamonkey browser) have worked with the 64 bit deb package.

FD630 has firefox and the plugin breaks it completely. Firefox will not start.

I don't have any suggestion about why but it would be helpful to make it work if possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1304

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb 2014, 18:43    Post subject: Re: Fatdog64-630 Final (February 11 2014)  

Billtoo wrote:
...
Attempted upload the the contrib repository failed, problem with
Captcha (whatever that is)
CAPTCHA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb 2014, 18:57    Post subject:  

I am new to fatdog64-630. In fact I have only tried the live cd so far. Because I intend to run fatdog as a live cd only, I need to familiarize myself with its remastering process. In the past, I have remastered and run as live cds several versions of NOP but it appears that the remastering method for fatdog is different than the one for NOP variants. So far Ted Dog has been very helpful by giving me a lot of useful info on how to go about it. However, since this would be the first attempt at remastering fatdog, I need to clarify a few thing first. The first of these is the following: Once I begin the remastering process, can I abort it without running into problems? If I remember correctly, this is not the case with remastering NOPs (once you start, you must finish). Is it the same with remastering fatdog?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb 2014, 20:25    Post subject:  

Hi @DrDeaf

You may want to install SeaMonkey to your setup from the FATDOG Package Manager. Or, another option, too, is Chrome.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb 2014, 20:31    Post subject:  

Hi @KPFuser

This post does NOT answer your question directly. But, instead, offers an options where Remaster is NOT needed.

If you intend to run via DVD (this is the ONLY way FATDOG620+ is supported). you can allow the system to save-session to the DVD at shutdown. In my years of using FATDOG via DVD, I have NEVER run out of space in my use. So, Remaster has not been needed as my total FATDOG experience, year to year, is via the same DVD. (BTW, I have run into several problems in my personal use of remaster, as changes to certain libraries operating in the running system are NOT replicated in the Remaster, causing a hit-or-miss effort in replication of the running system).

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 02:26    Post subject:  

ss7box wrote:
05:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX (rev 02)

Did you try to enable broadcom-wl service from the Control Panel --> Service Manager?

Ted Dog wrote:
James Bond could you post the link for running 32bit iso side by side here.

It's here.

Ted Dog wrote:
I can't save as under Android so it needs to be in a package format.
Why do you want do download it to Android? Anyway, done. Just add ".gz" to the URL.

Quote:
Also could the same idea run Quirky6 In the package form its given for download by BK?

Indeed. Remember my teaser picture here? It was done with Fatdog64 with no need for unsquashing the SFS file.

DrDeaf wrote:
I use the googletalk plugin sometimes and previous FD64 versions (seamonkey browser) have worked with the 64 bit deb package.

FD630 has firefox and the plugin breaks it completely. Firefox will not start.

I don't have any suggestion about why but it would be helpful to make it work if possible.

Just tried to install it in a pristine 630, and it works, but apparently the install script doesn't work properly.
I need to remove that DEB-compatible install script.

Here's how to get it up and running. Download the plugin, choose 64-bit deb. Save it. DO NOT run from from the browser.
When finished downloading, DO NOT CLICK on the file. Instead, open the terminal containing the .deb files, and we will expand it manually.
From terminal:
1. undeb google-talk-plugin-amd64.deb
2. mv opt/google /opt
3. mv usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/* /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins
Restart browser. When I have time I will prepare a pet package that does all of this.

Btw 630 comes with *both* seamonkey and firefox. You can start seamonkey by typing "seamonkey" or "seamonkey-spot" on the usual Alt-F2 run dialog; or from terminal.

Quote:
The first of these is the following: Once I begin the remastering process, can I abort it without running into problems?
Didn't try to do that myself; but if your question is "will it break the running system" then the answer is "no". At worst it will leave some temporary files which will be wiped out the next time you reboot.

EDIT: typo.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread

Last edited by jamesbond on Thu 27 Feb 2014, 03:32; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 03:05    Post subject:  

android phone required a data plan so I use it to download linux stuff and save trips into town for internet. Can download package formats fine but text just displays in browser without option to save to memory.. Im cheap sorry fixed gov income.
Second suprised my most common 64bit machine and newest one has vm abilities turned off in hardware firmware. I did not know it could be removed so it was a shocked.
Could not do that as you discribed using VB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 03:28    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
android phone required a data plan so I use it to download linux stuff and save trips into town for internet. Can download package formats fine but text just displays in browser without option to save to memory.. Im cheap sorry fixed gov income.

No that's not an excuse Laughing I recently had to get my internet through GPRS as well through android phone; so what I did was I enabled "portable hotspot" and let the phone work as a router. All my usual access is from the laptop. Worked quite well and sometimes the speed is faster than my regular internet (!), what was killing me is the low data quota ... Embarassed

Quote:
Second suprised my most common 64bit machine and newest one has vm abilities turned off in hardware firmware. I did not know it could be removed so it was a shocked.
I think it has been a while. If you have access to BIOS you can usually enable them.
Quote:
Could not do that as you discribed using VB.
I thought VB can run even without hardware VM capabilities? It has been a while since I tested that, though.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 04:15    Post subject:  

yes you can easily upgrade phone plan to gain hotspot and wired tethering for an additional 20 bucks a month. America will charge you extra any way they can. even if the remove the built in methods and then charge you to turn them on..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 04:26    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
yes you can easily upgrade phone plan to gain hotspot and wired tethering for an additional 20 bucks a month. America will charge you extra any way they can. even if the remove the built in methods and then charge you to turn them on..

Ouch! I didn't know about that, sorry Embarassed

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 05:52    Post subject:  

@Ted Dog has shared in the past that he has sometimes been able to download stuff to his phone when away from home, then load it on his home system when he returns. In doing so, he uses WiFi connections when away from home so as not to use his "Cell" component's data plan.

This is normal and customary. Telcos charges are incurred for any traffic, voice or data, that goes over the cell network. And do not charge when smartDevice is used via a WiFi connection.

I do the same thing.
BTW: 01Micko describes a smartPhone implementation where the phone is a modem on behalf of a PC when wired to the PC. Click here.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 09:27    Post subject:  

yep network of friends and family and coffee shops supply my internet needs Very Happy so a little heads up when you release a fatdog64 version I rush to town to download it. Even if it requires me to download it from a friends drive way using their wifi after I already left once before...
Cops do stop to remind you that stealing wifi without permission is against the law. Twice so far I have been talked to. Twisted Evil Android has been a G-d send the iPhone my family forced on me as a gift since I could not get those cute kid or dog pictures on my rotary phone.. just kidding I had a brick phone with big real buttons.
I have no need to shell out 40 bucks to see a pic or facetime with family whatever that is.. Wink So Im on a family plan and they pay for me the forced dataplan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 16:56    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hi @KPFuser

This post does NOT answer your question directly. But, instead, offers an options where Remaster is NOT needed.
Maybe what follows does not answer my question directly, but in terms of solving my problem it is right on the mark indeed!
Quote:
If you intend to run via DVD (this is the ONLY way FATDOG620+ is supported). you can allow the system to save-session to the DVD at shutdown.
But of course! This is as brilliant as it is simple!!! This is a fantastic work-around to remastering! Just save the sessions that result in system changes and dump the rest! Wow! My puppy experience has turned promising again!
Quote:
In my years of using FATDOG via DVD, I have NEVER run out of space in my use. So, Remaster has not been needed as my total FATDOG experience, year to year, is via the same DVD. (BTW, I have run into several problems in my personal use of remaster, as changes to certain libraries operating in the running system are NOT replicated in the Remaster, causing a hit-or-miss effort in replication of the running system).
I do not anticipate any space problems either as I intend to save to the DVD only the sessions that introduce changes in my system, i.e., software installation, personalization, etc. In all other cases I will go for the "don't save" option, something that I have done all along, relying on removable media or online storage for saving useful data generated in a given session.
Quote:
Hope this helps
You bet it has! A very big THANK YOU indeed!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
toomanyquestions

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 19:21    Post subject: QT Theme Config Tool?
Subject description: For > /usr/share/razor/themes/ambiance
 

Is there is a config .pet?
Last edited by toomanyquestions on Fri 28 Feb 2014, 12:46; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 41 [612 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 39, 40, 41 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1035s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]