Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 12:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-630 & 631 Final (May 12 2014)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 41 [612 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 39, 40, 41 Next
Author Message
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 342
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Feb 2014, 00:59    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
Can download package formats fine but text just displays in browser without option to save to memory..

Hi Ted I also use android to download when at work and tether my net connection to my pc through wired or wifi hotspot wen at home.
I use ucbrowser mini on my android. I just pess n hold on link and select "save as" from the context menu that appears it will save the text file insted of opening it.

Ted Dog wrote:
yes you can easily upgrade phone plan to gain hotspot and wired tethering for an additional 20 bucks a month. America will charge you extra any way they can. even if the remove the built in methods and then charge you to turn them on.. .

I have never came across any android with tethering restricted in India. Do you have rooted phone? If yes, I am sure there might be a way to turn it on yourself, I don't think telcos will detect it. But got to do research first. Wink

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 07:06    Post subject: Fatdog64-630 Final (February 11 2014)  

I burned the Fatdog64-630.iso to a DVD+RW.
It took several sessions to add pets,set password,and setup the
wireless network.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 1 Mar 2014 on Fatdog64 630 Linux 3.12.9 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 6611
oem: AMD ATOMBIOS
product: OLAND 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (508x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: AMD Radeon HD 8570
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.3.12618 Core Profile Context 13.251

# glxgears
19559 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3911.749 FPS
31398 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6279.513 FPS
29510 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5901.985 FPS
#

It's working great so far.
image-2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.1 KB
 Viewed   227 Time(s)

image-2.jpg

image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.63 KB
 Viewed   486 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Mon 03 Mar 2014, 09:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 10:56    Post subject: Re: Fatdog64-630 Final (February 11 2014)  

wrong sited post
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 145
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 11:10    Post subject:  

These are sfs files for jdk1.7u51, jre1.7u51, and apache-ant-1.93.
The java environment is set with a file placed in /etc/profile.d
It is necessary to restart or restart X server to load the java environment.. The Java plugin for Firefox is not included.
The sfs are in this directory:
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B4wlewvEGCtKQng0bTZyeE1aYXc&usp=sharing

md5sums:
Code:

38fcc5ee134fd59ae4b22f4307e53b9a  jdk17u51_64_630.sfs
ef3164e84a5087760d544b169720384d  jre17u51_64_630.sfs
5516073adb383206170e53ee8128b60c  apache-ant-1.9.3_630.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 11:36    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hi @KPFuser

This post does NOT answer your question directly. But, instead, offers an options where Remaster is NOT needed.

If you intend to run via DVD (this is the ONLY way FATDOG620+ is supported). you can allow the system to save-session to the DVD at shutdown.


Well, as I mentioned in a previous post, the idea sounds great. However, something went amiss during implementation. To be specific, I downloaded the Fatdog64-630.iso and burned it to a DVD+R leaving it open session. Then I booted (with some difficulty, my system ignored the DVD in the drive a few times preferring to boot from hd instead) and spent some time making some changes to the system including a wallpaper change to make it obvious for future bootups that my changes have been incorporated into the system. At shutdown I created a save file on the DVD, which file (two files actually) I am able to see by mounting the DVD. However, upon booting from this DVD, the save file(s) is ignored and I get the original fatdog with none of my system changes in sight. Next I repeated the process by creating the savefile on a usb drive with identical results upon reboot. What am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 15:03    Post subject:  

There is a real life usability issue with Fatdog64 and multisession and we keep hitting the same wall. It is easy to fix but not by users but developers should address it.. I found a workaround that I will only share via PM for half the problem but it does not solve the front end settings. I hope Kirk and James would take a few hours to for once and all solve this instead of closing the loop holes I have used to make multisession more flexible and have been FIX to my horror. Was that done on purpose to keep the underused multisession from being used differently then first thought? I do not know.. But I am scared to explain other loopholes I have to use in this version since the old work arounds have been eliminated.
I did have plans to demonstrate where I wished Fatdog64 would become with enhanced multisession support but real life family and a new lady in my life has greatly reduced my hobby time.. It will be call FAsTDOG64 and have 99.95 percent compatibility. It is so compatible with FatDog I can't tell the difference until I try to use the minor reconstruction and it did not work. It also fixes some unresolved issues but did so as a side effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 15:32    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
There is a real life usability issue with Fatdog64 and multisession and we keep hitting the same wall.


The only problem that I'm having with multisession so far is with
suspend.
It comes out of suspend when the mouse button or spacebar is pressed
but then goes right back into suspend in a few seconds, I hit
ctrl-alt-backspace and got to the prompt, then xwin to get back to the
desktop but then had to open the control panel and redo the wireless
network settings.
Seems to be working okay for now but will likely have to do the same
again after next suspend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 15:53    Post subject:  

real life usability issue is you must stop the auto boot each time and type in a longer than it should be configuration string to point the system to where the last time around changes exists. Normal PUPPYLINUX defaults to multisession since any other reconfiguration has the ability to much easier change config files.
I remaster mine to switch first and second configurations so that multisession is always defaults to optical drive. But that is a long process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 16:03    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
Ted Dog wrote:
There is a real life usability issue with Fatdog64 and multisession and we keep hitting the same wall.


The only problem that I'm having with multisession so far is with
suspend.
It comes out of suspend when the mouse button or spacebar is pressed
but then goes right back into suspend in a few seconds, I hit
ctrl-alt-backspace and got to the prompt, then xwin to get back to the
desktop but then had to open the control panel and redo the wireless
network settings.
Seems to be working okay for now but will likely have to do the same
again after next suspend.

That is a different bug unrelated to multisession. but if you have any usb filesystem mounted it could go away. I think it is like a debouce button press problem. The run in RAM methods of multisession cause the filesystem to be recovered too quicky before the stored copy of the flag to suspend has been over written by the fresh state that restore has completed and flag removed.
In my experiences running with multisession and susspend outside of fatdog64 is the resume is instantaneous. which would not be if computer was having to spin up a harddrive or remount a slow USB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 16:45    Post subject:  

The DVD boot problem
You MUST, at the boot-time menu select the option for multi-session. I have, in the past, found that for some odd reason when 620 emerge something began to work differently than earlier 600 did for Multisession. Dont remember what though, but I did insure thereafter to begin using multisession after the first boot.

Doesn't that work?

I haven't booted my system in weeks. But, I'll shutdown and check tonight. Just to be sure, are we working with FATDOG64-630? or 630-RC1?

In the meantime, maybe @FATDOG development knows something that may have changed in Multisession support.

Edit: Seem to remember that my very first boot in 620 REQUIRED that I use multisession! Then after system setup using multisession went smoothly. ... I think! Probably should have raised the issue back then when I noticed, but didn't. I seem to remember something about something subtle in the boot-time menu, but cannot remember and did not note it once working.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 18:23    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
Just tried to install it in a pristine 630, and it works, but apparently the install script doesn't work properly.
I need to remove that DEB-compatible install script.

Here's how to get it up and running. Download the plugin, choose 64-bit deb. Save it. DO NOT run from from the browser.
When finished downloading, DO NOT CLICK on the file. Instead, open the terminal containing the .deb files, and we will expand it manually.
From terminal:
1. undeb google-talk-plugin-amd64.deb
2. mv opt/google /opt
3. mv usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/* /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins
Restart browser. When I have time I will prepare a pet package that does all of this.

Btw 630 comes with *both* seamonkey and firefox. You can start seamonkey by typing "seamonkey" or "seamonkey-spot" on the usual Alt-F2 run dialog; or from terminal..

All good! I just used Firefox to make a call. Seamonkey runs also (I didn't know it was still available). Thank you very much for the help! Thanks also to gcmartin for his reply!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 19:00    Post subject:  

mix and match boot methods.

Frugal to DVD multisession fall through method is kinda best of all worlds.

requires a harddisk AND optical drive which most everyone has...

burn Fatdog64 to DVD using puppylinux tools or other tools which keep DVD open to multisession.

BOOT USING DVD. When running new Fatdog64 630 setup a grub or sysconfig or Grub4Dos boot loader on harddrive. Copy config setting from DVD to match boot loader used.
swap defaults in now easy to edit config file on harddrive for multisession from sr0.
reboot and allow hardrive to fast boot using harddrive. But put in DVD disk or leave in drive if you already remembered to change back hardrive to boot first in BIOS. EFI is a different story it should have already defaulted back to harddrive.
Now any changes will be saved and reloaded to DVD and if DVD is missing it will still work like a frugal install or like the pfix=ram of other Puppylinuxes. However changes will be lost unless you place a new DVD in drive.

I use multisession to keep my various and diverse hobbys organized. It saves me the insanity of trying to recall how I set stuff up or wading through unrelated cruft.
This mixed mode idea allows quick boots and little changes to harddrive. With Windows8 that is really needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 19:07    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
jamesbond wrote:
Just tried to install it in a pristine 630, and it works, but apparently the install script doesn't work properly.
I need to remove that DEB-compatible install script.

Here's how to get it up and running. Download the plugin, choose 64-bit deb. Save it. DO NOT run from from the browser.
When finished downloading, DO NOT CLICK on the file. Instead, open the terminal containing the .deb files, and we will expand it manually.
From terminal:
1. undeb google-talk-plugin-amd64.deb
2. mv opt/google /opt
3. mv usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/* /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins
Restart browser. When I have time I will prepare a pet package that does all of this.

Btw 630 comes with *both* seamonkey and firefox. You can start seamonkey by typing "seamonkey" or "seamonkey-spot" on the usual Alt-F2 run dialog; or from terminal..

All good! I just used Firefox to make a call. Seamonkey runs also (I didn't know it was still available). Thank you very much for the help! Thanks also to gcmartin for his reply!


Run as spot trips someone else up.. again. really need to drop that construct.. Or explain to people what your are doing behind the icons to help them keep from hurting themselfs while causing all sorts of headaches like this so they can solve it for themselves. EI download as root so you can install directly instead of manual method that you run as root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 19:52    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:

That is a different bug unrelated to multisession. but if you have any usb filesystem mounted it could go away. I think it is like a debouce button press problem. The run in RAM methods of multisession cause the filesystem to be recovered too quicky before the stored copy of the flag to suspend has been over written by the fresh state that restore has completed and flag removed.
In my experiences running with multisession and susspend outside of fatdog64 is the resume is instantaneous. which would not be if computer was having to spin up a harddrive or remount a slow USB.

You're right, the suspend bug is separate from running multisession
from a dvd but I want to suspend the computer instead of shutting down
which would add another file to the dvd that has to be loaded next
boot.
I found the suspend.sh file but have no idea what/if any change to it
would make suspend work properly on my desktop pc.
The script is originally by shinobar but changed by jamesbond so
perhaps jamesbond has a fix?

I also have Fatdog installed to a usb 3.0 hard drive and suspend
doesn't work on that one either but shutting down daily or more often
isn't a problem with that install, I would prefer to run from the
DVD-RW though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2470
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 21:45    Post subject:  

oh did you wish the current session was written to DVD and then later reloaded or does newer suspend start doing that now? I am confused. When I suspend it does not write to anything. Suspend to RAM is the default or it sbould be since we are running from RAM.
I do not know what level of suspend Fatdog64 does. But it does seem to chew up battery faster than expected. I have had other laptops and past puppylinux versions go into a much deeper sleep mode that really shuts down everything but memory. It would last a month or 6 weeks in that state.So far Fatdog64 would last 2 days before battery cuts out in susspend mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 41 [612 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 39, 40, 41 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1163s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]