Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 04:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-630 & 631 Final (May 12 2014)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 41 [612 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 39, 40, 41 Next
Author Message
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1845
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 07:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
I got from system info that my kernel is 3.12.9.
But in sfs manager I couldn't find its kernel source sfs.
There are sfs for 3.11.4 and 3.8.7.
Could anyone tell me where to find it.
Thanks in advance...


http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/fatdog/sfs/600/kernel-source-3.12.9.sfs

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 356
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 07:31    Post subject:  

Thanks Smokey,
I will download it n report back.

Hmm.. 99mb this will take almost 2hrs on my android's slow 2G net connection

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sys64738

Joined: 15 Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Location: Hanau Germany

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 08:17    Post subject:  Clonezilla in FD64?  

Hi all,
I like FD64_630 and this forum !

In FD64 i've found some clone/partition tools (gparted, ntfsclone ...)
My favorite tool "clonezilla" is missing, but perhaps i can load/install a working PET/SFS.
Is there a ready package out, i can't find it anywhere.

THX in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 356
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 12:01    Post subject: Running Windows in Virtualbox 4.2.4
Subject description: My try to run Windows in Fatdog64
 

Thanks Snokey.
I downloaded kernel-source-3.12.9.sfs and loaded it.
now when I run "/etc/init.d/vboxdrv" setup it again say failed. And log file reads as....

Quote:
make KBUILD_VERBOSE=1 SUBDIRS=/tmp/vbox.0 SRCROOT=/tmp/vbox.0 CONFIG_MODULE_SIG= -C /lib/modules/3.12.9/build modules
test -e include/generated/autoconf.h -a -e include/config/auto.conf || ( \
echo >&2; \
echo >&2 " ERROR: Kernel configuration is invalid."; \
echo >&2 " include/generated/autoconf.h or include/config/auto.conf are missing.";\
echo >&2 " Run 'make oldconfig && make prepare' on kernel src to fix it."; \
echo >&2 ; \
/bin/false)
mkdir -p /tmp/vbox.0/.tmp_versions ; rm -f /tmp/vbox.0/.tmp_versions/*
make -f scripts/Makefile.build obj=/tmp/vbox.0
gcc -Wp,-MD,/tmp/vbox.0/linux/.SUPDrv-linux.o.d -nostdinc -isystem /usr/lib64/gcc/x86_64-t2-linux-gnu/4.6.2/include -I/usr/src/linux-3.12.9/arch/x86/include -Iarch/x86/include/generated -Iinclude -I/usr/src/linux-3.12.9/arch/x86/include/uapi -Iarch/x86/include/generated/uapi -I/usr/src/linux-3.12.9/include/uapi -Iinclude/generated/uapi -include /usr/src/linux-3.12.9/include/linux/kconfig.h -D__KERNEL__ -Wall -Wundef -Wstrict-prototypes -Wno-trigraphs -fno-strict-aliasing -fno-common -Werror-implicit-function-declaration -Wno-format-security -fno-delete-null-pointer-checks -O2 -m64 -mno-mmx -mno-sse -mtune=generic -mno-red-zone -mcmodel=kernel -funit-at-a-time -maccumulate-outgoing-args -DCONFIG_AS_CFI=1 -DCONFIG_AS_CFI_SIGNAL_FRAME=1 -DCONFIG_AS_CFI_SECTIONS=1 -DCONFIG_AS_FXSAVEQ=1 -DCONFIG_AS_AVX=1 -pipe -Wno-sign-compare -fno-asynchronous-unwind-tables -mno-sse -mno-mmx -mno-sse2 -mno-3dnow -mno-avx -Wframe-larger-than=1024 -fno-stack-protector -Wno-unused-but-set-variable -fomit-frame-pointer -Wdeclaration-after-statement -Wno-pointer-sign -fno-strict-overflow -fconserve-stack -DCC_HAVE_ASM_GOTO -include /tmp/vbox.0/include/VBox/SUPDrvMangling.h -I/lib/modules/3.12.9/build/include -I/tmp/vbox.0/ -I/tmp/vbox.0/include -I/tmp/vbox.0/r0drv/linux -I/tmp/vbox.0/vboxdrv/ -I/tmp/vbox.0/vboxdrv/include -I/tmp/vbox.0/vboxdrv/r0drv/linux -D__KERNEL__ -DMODULE -DRT_OS_LINUX -DIN_RING0 -DIN_RT_R0 -DIN_SUP_R0 -DVBOX -DRT_WITH_VBOX -DVBOX_WITH_HARDENING -DCONFIG_VBOXDRV_AS_MISC -DRT_ARCH_AMD64 -DVBOX_WITH_64_BITS_GUESTS -DMODULE -D"KBUILD_STR(s)=#s" -D"KBUILD_BASENAME=KBUILD_STR(SUPDrv_linux)" -D"KBUILD_MODNAME=KBUILD_STR(vboxdrv)" -c -o /tmp/vbox.0/linux/.tmp_SUPDrv-linux.o /tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c: In function 'vboxdrvLinuxUid':
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c:226:5: error: incompatible types when returning type 'kuid_t' but 'RTUID' was expected
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c: In function 'vboxdrvLinuxGid':
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c:235:5: error: incompatible types when returning type 'kgid_t' but 'RTGID' was expected
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c: In function 'vboxdrvLinuxEuid':
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c:244:5: error: incompatible types when returning type 'kuid_t' but 'RTUID' was expected
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c:248:1: warning: control reaches end of non-void function [-Wreturn-type]
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c: In function 'vboxdrvLinuxUid':
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c:230:1: warning: control reaches end of non-void function [-Wreturn-type]
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c: In function 'vboxdrvLinuxGid':
/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.c:239:1: warning: control reaches end of non-void function [-Wreturn-type]
make[2]: *** [/tmp/vbox.0/linux/SUPDrv-linux.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/tmp/vbox.0] Error 2
make: *** [vboxdrv] Error 2


I don't have expertise to interpret that. (In plain text "It all went over my head") Wink Very Happy

Any idea what should I do next....

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1845
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 16:46    Post subject:  

You should be able to start vbox from the menu under system.

There should also be a script in /usr/local/bin/vbox:

!/bin/sh
depmod
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv start
VirtualBox &

Try this script. It also might be worth a reboot if it doesn't run.

Good luck.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 16:53    Post subject: Re: Running Windows in Virtualbox 4.2.4
Subject description: My try to run Windows in Fatdog64
 

neerajkolte wrote:

I downloaded kernel-source-3.12.9.sfs and loaded it.


This is how I did install Virtual Box . Loaded the 32-bit sfs , devx sfs and kernel source sfs then used the script from the attachment ( thank's to Jamesbond) while beeing connected to internet . In the end I unloaded the devx and kernel source sfs .
install_virtualbox.sh.gz
Description  Install VirtualBox
gz

 Download 
Filename  install_virtualbox.sh.gz 
Filesize  402 Bytes 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 17:08    Post subject:  

I really want this to work on my latest Laptop.
But I am too afraid to fail because if I fail it takes
many days or weeks to recover due to my too
overly sensitive.psychologic body system.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 356
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 22:36    Post subject: Running Windows in Virtualbox 4.2.4
Subject description: My try to run Windows in Fatdog64
 

smokey01 wrote:
You should be able to start vbox from the menu under system.

There should also be a script in /usr/local/bin/vbox:

!/bin/sh
depmod
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv start
VirtualBox &

Try this script. It also might be worth a reboot if it doesn't run.

Good luck.


No luck... There is nothing named vbox in /usr/local/bin

Gonna try Gobbi's suggestion.
I have downloaded the script (Thanks Jamesbond).
I have a question though...
I have opened the script as text what I think it does is...
Use wget to find out what is the latest version of virtualbox and downloads its 64bit version(it looks for V.*_amd64.run).
So why should I need 32bit sfs???

I have started 32 bit sfs download anyway, should be ready in 20min.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 356
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 22:50    Post subject: Offtopic  

This is really off topic but tomorrow is Holi (festival of colours) in India.

I am gonna be drenched in many colours from head to toe.

I just wanna wish you all my friends Happy Holi,
May your life be filled with colours. Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
beau_tox

Joined: 01 Aug 2012
Posts: 30
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2014, 04:49    Post subject: ATI Catalyst pet not working
Subject description: ATI Catalyst pet not working
 

Frugal install Fatdog64-630 on usb flash drive.

Base install seems to work fine.

Installed ati-catalyst-14.1b-FD630-HD5000-and-up.pet


The ATI Catalyst Control Center that tells me I am using a Radeon HD 6310.

glxinfo and glxgears gives error messages.

xorg.conf is as follows:


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "aticonfig Layout"
Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
BusID "PCI:0:1:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

_________________
------------
Tahrpup 6.0 CE PAE
Frugal install to 8 Gbyte SDHC with savefile
Zotac AD03 BlueRay AMD E350 (1.6 GHz Dual Core) ATI Radeon HD 6310 GPU
8 GB RAM, Diskless
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 356
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2014, 11:00    Post subject: Running Windows in Virtualbox 4.2.4
Subject description: My try to run Windows in Fatdog64
 

Thanks Gobbi, Smokey01, Jamesbond.

I the script Gobbi gave it showed message as downloading. But no progress bar of wget. I don't know where to look for it. Due to my slow net connection it stopped and exited after 1hr with only 12mb file virtualbox-4.3.8-92456-Linux_amd64.run downloaded in temp folder.

So I downloaded the file directly from virtualbox website on my android and also downloaded extension pack for it, transferred them to my pc.

Installed virtualbox by just clicking on that .run file.
Now virtualbox manager starts from menu entry.
also I quickly cerated Precise Puppy machine and it boots OK.
Now going to try win7 64bit.

Just want to know if I start my fatdog with no savefile and install virtualbox and save multisession, later rename the savefile as a virtualbox.sfs will its loading unloading work as other sfs files?

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4449
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2014, 16:16    Post subject: Re: Running Windows in Virtualbox 4.2.4
Subject description: My try to run Windows in Fatdog64
 

Hi @Neerajkolte
neerajkolte wrote:
... Just want to know if I start my fatdog with no savefile and install virtualbox and save multisession, later rename the savefile as a virtualbox.sfs will its loading unloading work as other sfs files?
This is a very good and interesting question. It suggests that FATDOG can be booted pristine, then sometime after desktop start, this SFS can be loaded to make system current from its last use of the SFS. Then, at some point, maybe, this SFS during end of session can be updated and saved for future use in same-similar manner. Very interesting and logical thought.

It never occurred to me until just now, that this is probably what @JamesBond viewed when he introduced this save-session approaches we see at Bootmanager starts.

My gut feel is "yes you can", but, I feel something might be missing in my view.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2474
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2014, 16:35    Post subject: Re: ATI Catalyst pet not working
Subject description: ATI Catalyst pet not working
 

beau_tox wrote:
Frugal install Fatdog64-630 on usb flash drive.

Base install seems to work fine.

Installed ati-catalyst-14.1b-FD630-HD5000-and-up.pet


The ATI Catalyst Control Center that tells me I am using a Radeon HD 6310.

glxinfo and glxgears gives error messages.

xorg.conf is as follows:


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "aticonfig Layout"
Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
BusID "PCI:0:1:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection


Need the xserver.pet to pair up the changes. install the xserver first, reboot. May take two reboot cycles for the correct setting to apply..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2474
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2014, 16:43    Post subject:  

yes sfs multisession saves can be renamed and used much like a regular sfs. My trick is to set everything up. Compile until make install. Then force a save session prior to install.. That is my building and or source saved.. Then make install...
Play with it config etc then force a save session again that is my finished sfs to rename.. Laughing kinda sloppy but simple...
not good for mass distribution may also have other stuff saved with it.. But for family and friends a quick and recoverable method.. Wink

Also those sfs seem to work fine in Slacko64.... win win
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 17 Mar 2014, 02:05    Post subject:  

FatDog Devs have explained "all" about the save file in the FAQ
for Fatdog. I had this one first time and then changed to the
second example after all was set up and a savefile created.

Code:


title FatDog64 No save file
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /fd64/vmlinuz savefile=none
initrd /fd64/initrd



title FatDog64 with save file after using the above to boot first.
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /fd64/vmlinuz savefile=direct:device:sda1:/fd64save.ext3
initrd /fd64/initrd
 

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 41 [612 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 39, 40, 41 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1163s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]