Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 08:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-630 & 631 Final (May 12 2014)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 38 of 41 [601 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1410
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2014, 22:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
I am new to fatdog64 and don't know what this all means about the end of support or what ever. I am also trying to install but don't know where to put the "Save File" can some one help? Can't find much info on fatdog accept for this thread.


There's a few ways to do that. Generally it's best to put it on the root of a partition.

See:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/faq.html

and more specifically:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/harddrive.html

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/boot-options.html

You can specify where your savefile or save folder is located:

Code:
 Some examples:

    savefile=direct:device:sda1 --- use savefile named fd64save.ext4 located in root directory of /dev/sda1, save directly to it
    savefile=ram:device:sda2:/fd600/fd64save.3fs --- use savefile named fd64save.3fs located in /fd600 directory of /dev/sda2, use RAM layer
    savefile=ram:usb --- use savefile named fd64save.ext4 located in root directory of the first found usb device, use RAM layer
    savefile=direct:multi --- use multisession on device /dev/sr0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 270
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 00:58    Post subject: Internet Data Counter  

Can anyone suggest me any Data counter I can use in Fatdog.

I connect my droid by USB tethering, or sometimes I use my Huawei 3G modem.

I am on tight leash (only 1Gb/month plan).

I would like to keep informed how much I have used in my billing cycle.

Can a simple script be made?

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4288
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 02:19    Post subject:  

Hello @Neerajkolte

You may want to use an app on your droid with an alarm built-in to signal milestones. Java apps can be made to work, too.

I'm not sure, but why tether with a cable? Could you wifi as a "spot" for your PC(s) to route thru?

We have begun to reach an age of integration beginning with marriage of these at home,

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 270
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 05:07    Post subject:  

Thanks for reply gcmartin,

I don't have a wifi dongle that's why I tether through cable. Also wired brodband and wifi here are considerably costlier.

My droid is duel sim. One sim I use for cheaper calling and sms, other for cheap 3G internet.
Sometimes when I go out and somebody at home wants to use net, I remove the other sim and use the Huawei 3G modem for them.
That results in data traffic that droid can't count.
Of course when I get home I can put the sim back in my droid and dial USSD code to check from service provider.

But in my plan as it's cheaper, even slight data overage costs me more than the original plan itself.

I will be taking a dedicated sim for my computer then while using the 3G modem I will need something that will set monthly data limits.
Right now I need something that will set daily limit.

I have downloaded two software's source codes, namely vnstat-1.11.tar.gz and ntm-1.3.1.tar.gz.

I will give compiling them a try. I don't know if they will suit my needs, that's why I asked if somebody knows any software that's any good and previously used in fatdog.

By the way the Huawei 3G dongle that I use comes with a software called 'Mobile Dashboard', which works great in windows. I can set data limits, make and receive calls, sms and even dial USSD codes through it.
It also has Linux version which people on Ubuntu's forum claim works nicely. But I have failed to make it work in Fatdog. (see the discussion a month ago few pages back).

Thanks.

- Neeraj

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 629
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 07:22    Post subject:  

Wilbert wrote:
Quote:
So does your TV but you don't expect to have to walk across the room to change it.


You want to get one of those new fangled remote controls. They are the next big thing apparently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wilbert

Joined: 08 Jun 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 07:54    Post subject:  

Keef wrote:
Wilbert wrote:
Quote:
So does your TV but you don't expect to have to walk across the room to change it.


You want to get one of those new fangled remote controls. They are the next big thing apparently.


Don't you think that was exactly the point i was making. Rolling Eyes

You have a remote for the TV so you should be able to remotely change the brightness of you computer monitor from the desktop , IE: from the driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 629
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 08:40    Post subject:  

Oh all right then. I'll give you that one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wilbert

Joined: 08 Jun 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 08:49    Post subject:  

Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 143
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 14:28    Post subject:  

Hi neerajkolte,

Here is a pet for vnstat. After installing, run this command to see what interfaces are available.
Code:
vnstat --iflist

on my computer it returns this;
Available interfaces: eth0 eth1 lo

Since I use eth0; in order to setup the database, I used this command:
Code:
 vnstat -u -i eth0

After vnstat has been running for awhile just type vnstat in the terminal, and it will show your usage. There are some html manpages in /usr/share/doc/manpages/man1.

vnstat will start as a daemon when the computer boots up. To start vnstat without rebooting, run this command:
Code:
/etc/init.d/88-vnstat start
vnstat-1.11-x86_64.pet
Description  Network traffic monitor
pet

 Download 
Filename  vnstat-1.11-x86_64.pet 
Filesize  76.02 KB 
Downloaded  19 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4288
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 14:57    Post subject:  

Hello @Neerajkolte and @WillM

Thanks for that explanation. Your problem is not unique. It shares a problem that many already face with desktop computers as the more and more of us with smart Phones or Tablets bring to our home needs.

This dialogue brings to light the integration issues that many in Puppyland can benefit from. Further, it is showing us a setup to use systems via this kind of integration. And, using the PC, there may be a way to capture logs for month to month analysis of data use, to validate what Telco are charging us.

One additional benefit is that a cable connection also means a charging station for the smartDevice. Thus we have one system which relies on another which relies on the one. That's integrtion.

Thanks for this posting by you and for the effort that @WillM has given all of us.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 270
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2014, 00:36    Post subject:  

Thanks @gcmartin for understanding the problem. Very Happy

Thanks @WillM for the pet, it has all three commands vnstat vnstatd and vnstati. First two works except vnstati command which needs libgd.so.3,

I have downloaded libgd-2.1.0.tar.gz, extracted it, then opened terminal in extracted directory and ran
Code:
# configure
# make
# make install
It gave me result that the lib is installed in /usr/local/lib. That folder contains following new files
Code:
libgd.a
libgd.so.3
libgd.la
libgd.so
libgd.so.3.0.0
Of which libgd.so.3 and libgd.so are symlinks pointing to libgd.so.3.0.0 in the same directory.

But when I ran vnstati it told me
Code:
vnstati: error while loading shared libraries: libgd.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Do the files need to be placed in another directory or may be symlinked?



Oh and I also tried installing ntm-1.3.1, it's GUI screenshots looked really good.
But it told me to get lsb_release and dbus.

I downloaded dbus-1.8.6.tar.gz and lsb-release-1.4.tar.gz.
Tried compiling and installing them.
Now I don't get error for lsb_release but i am still getting
Code:
# ntm
 

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ntm.py", line 25, in <module>
    import ntmtools
  File "/usr/share/ntm/ntmtools.py", line 28, in <module>
    import dbus
ImportError: No module named dbus
The directory /usr/local/lib contains
Code:
dbus-1.0
libdbus-1.la
libdbus-1.so
libdbus-1.so.3
libdbus-1.a
libdbus-1.so.3.8.6
Of which dbus-1.0 is a directory, and libdbus-1.so libdbus-1.so.3 are symlinks pointing to libdbus-1.so.3.8.6 in the same directory.

Looks like same problem. Any suggestions?
May be I should try again starting with a clean install.....

Thanks again.

- Neeraj.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 143
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2014, 09:45    Post subject:  

Hi neerajkolte,

Besides libgd, vnstati also requires LAMP, which is way to much overhead just to show bandwidth usage. I should not have even included vnstati in that pet.

/usr/local is not the right place to install libraries. When running configure it is necessary to tell it where to install stuff. Read the files named INSTALL and README, also run ./configure --help, before trying to build a program. So at the very least, configure should look something like this:
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr --libdir=/usr/lib64

There are other flags that can be used as well, depending on the program.
If you want to learn about compiling programs, and if you don't mind, I would like to suggest reading BLFS.
http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/blfs/view/svn/index.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 270
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2014, 10:01    Post subject:  

Thanks WillM for reply and the link,

I am a noob so my knowledge of working of linux is minimum.
I had seen the options "configure --help" offers.
But didn't know what to use.
While searching for dbus I briefly came across linuxfromscratch.org.
I will now give it a look.

Thanks again.

- Neeraj.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pcpunk

Joined: 19 Jun 2014
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2014, 14:55    Post subject:
Subject description: Save File
 

gcmartin wrote:
Hello @PCpunk

If you have booted from a DVD, simply allow Fatdog to save back to the DVD. On reboot, Fatdog will take care of EVERYTHING for you without your need to do anything placing you in desktop as if you never left. Everything that FATDOG would ever need, resides on that DVD. It will not change any other peripherals your PC might have. Safe and stable!

If you attempt to change to other media from DVD, then some user planning is involved.

Hope this helps

I should have mentioned I am on a LIveUSB (I believe that is the right term) and when trying to shut down it wanted me to choose where my Save Files should be put to. I would revisit and take some screen shots but it won't let me save them lol. omg.
I can't even remember how I installed it, via UNetbooting? is that how it's usually done? I did this from the Fatdog site so what ever it says there is what I did. Thanks guys I will be here more often in the future! Someone must know what I am talking about as there are quite a few choices to where to put the files. I guess I will have to go and copy all that info manually arghhh!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 155
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jul 2014, 06:03    Post subject:
Subject description: Booting Fatdog64 with Kexec-Loader
 

Hello jamesbond

I was considering the idea of "linux as a bootloader" to workaround the limitations of booting Fatdog64 from an SD Card via a USB cardreader, when I came across your piece about your Kexec bootloader for FatdogARM.

I have now tested Kexec-Loader (KXL) booting Fatdog64 630 from my SD Card, and here are my results, in case you are interested.

The "limitations" of bootloaders:
1) A PC BIOS only provides USB1 support, so we need a bootloader with USB2/3 support built-in.
2) Linux bootloaders do not yet support booting from F2FS.

My system has Grub4DOS in its own FAT12 partition in the spare space in the first cylinder, the way IBM OS/2 did its bootmanager. KXL is only about 800kB so it will fit in there too. I also tested with the KXL files on the SD Card. The SD Card has its original FAT32 format.

The times are from the G4D menu 'til the Fatdog desktop appears:

14 seconds, booted from the hard disk.
50 seconds, booted directly by G4D from the SD Card
35 seconds, booted via KXL from the SD Card

When booting via KXL there is no noticeable difference whether the KXL files are on the HD or on the SD Card. But, with the KXL files on the HD, I can reduce the BIOS load time by 3 seconds by disabling "legacy USD device support".

I assume that something like Kexec-Loader with an up-to-date kernel would also be able to boot from F2FS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 38 of 41 [601 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1115s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0123s) ][ GZIP on ]