Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Jun 2018, 15:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-630 & 631 Final (May 12 2014)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 41 of 42 [627 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Author Message
chapchap70

Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 205
Location: The Island Of Long (NY, USA)

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2014, 00:02    Post subject:  

Thanks; Got Bash version 4.2.49 working in FD620.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 271

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2014, 17:00    Post subject:  

Jamesbond.

Installed bash successful.

Thanks for the instructions.

Irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Wed 01 Oct 2014, 15:37    Post subject:  

Thank you jamesbond Exclamation
Installed bash following your instructions on FD630 and FD620 . It's working good now . Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 785
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 02 Oct 2014, 08:04    Post subject:
Subject description: bash update
 

I followed the instructions with the latest package for bash (bash-4.2-X86_64-4.txz), Everything is working fine. The latest package is usable. I tested the new version (4.2.51) using the following in a terminal window
Code:
curl --insecure https://shellshocker.net/shellshock_test.sh | bash
The particular code is from the post on the bash problem in Security. No vulnerabilities were found. Thank you for the instructions.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trackpoint-user

Joined: 31 Oct 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 17:24    Post subject: trackpoint scroll button
Subject description: for thinkpads
 

Hello, brand new Fatdog user here with one problem. My thinkpad has 3 buttons below the keyboard for when using the trackpoint. The middle of those three buttons usually works as a scroll wheel when held down. This doesn't work in fatdog64 and makes browsing the net not very enjoyable.

In puppy precise, I used a fix for xorg.conf found from some blog, which worked perfectly
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option      "Buttons" "5"
   Option       "Protocol" "IMPS/2" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   Option      "Name" "TPPS/2 IBM TrackPoint"
   Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "on"
   Option      "EmulateWheel" "on"
   Option      "EmulateWheelButton" "2"
   Option      "EmulateWheelTimeOut" "200"
   Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
   Option      "Vendor" "Sysp"
EndSection


Fatdog64, from what I can tell, has a different setup with the xorg.confs as there are 3 of them. Tried fitting that code in but it did nothing.

Anyone know how to fix this? The button currently pastes and I don't want that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 4013
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 03:34    Post subject:  

lol linux 3 button mice. Its a legacy thing. you are lucky it still works.. or unlucky, sorry can`t help you. Just wanted to point out the early problems with linux and the LACK of 3 button mice in the MSDOS/Windows world, back in the day.

[img]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mouse_button#mediaviewer/File:Logitech_3_buttons_mouse.jpeg[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1518
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 09:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
Fatdog64, from what I can tell, has a different setup with the xorg.confs as there are 3 of them. Tried fitting that code in but it did nothing.


Fatdog64 doesn't use a xorg.conf by default. Xorg is configured by the files in /usr/X11R7/lib64/X11/xorg.conf.d/. The 3 files you see in /etc/X11/ are skeletons for an old xorgwizard. So you have two options:

1) Create a blank file /usr/X11R7/lib64/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-mouse.conf and paste the tweaks you listed in there.

or

2) Open a terminal and type xorgwizard-kirk. That will create an /etc/X11/xorg.conf that you can edit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trackpoint-user

Joined: 31 Oct 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 12:18    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:

1) Create a blank file /usr/X11R7/lib64/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-mouse.conf and paste the tweaks you listed in there.

or

2) Open a terminal and type xorgwizard-kirk. That will create an /etc/X11/xorg.conf that you can edit.


Tried both, still nothing Sad Do i need to tell fatdog to look for either of those two files somehow, or is it automatic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trackpoint-user

Joined: 31 Oct 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 12:39    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
lol linux 3 button mice. Its a legacy thing. you are lucky it still works.. or unlucky, sorry can`t help you. Just wanted to point out the early problems with linux and the LACK of 3 button mice in the MSDOS/Windows world, back in the day.

[img]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mouse_button#mediaviewer/File:Logitech_3_buttons_mouse.jpeg[/img]


I find hitting the scroll button even on a normal mouse to be the best way to go through a document or webpage quickly. What you say is surprising because I assumed most people used it similarly. Guess I'm just weird

BTW can you please tell me what you did to add MTP to your remaster earlier in the thread? MTP support doesn't seem to be in the package manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 517
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 12:59    Post subject:  

trackpoint-user wrote:
BTW can you please tell me what you did to add MTP to your remaster earlier in the thread? MTP support doesn't seem to be in the package manager.
I am using go-mtpfs and MTPconnect 0.9 in Fatdog64. Thanks to @tempestuous and @can8v.

They work really well. It's fully automated.

go-mtpfs has both 32bit and 64bit versions. Get 64bit version for fatdog.
MTPconnect is same for 32bit and 64bit.


Thanks.

- Neeraj.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."
- Ken Thompson

“We tend to overestimate the effect of a technology in the short run and underestimate the effect in the long run.”
- Amara’s Law.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu 06 Nov 2014, 15:04    Post subject:  

Dumb newbie question: Does Fatdog631 use an SMP kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 4013
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 06 Nov 2014, 16:40    Post subject:  

yes.. I can't think of a 64bit single core... but there has to be one somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Avlijaner


Joined: 31 Oct 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 19:16    Post subject: tsMuxeR  

Hi guys! I am new to Fatdog64 and appreciate your work.
Is there a way to run tsMuxerGUI in Fatdog64 631 as I did in ubuntu and opensuse before? It's gui for app called tsMuxeR which basically muxes/demuxes .ts videos:
http://www.videohelp.com/download/tsMuxeR_2.6.11.tar.gz

(Not sure if this is right place for this kind of question)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6725
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 19:27    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
yes.. I can't think of a 64bit single core... but there has to be one somewhere.


We've got the old reliable Athlon 64....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athlon_64

I have several...solid,reliable old cpu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1045

PostPosted: Sun 30 Nov 2014, 12:22    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Ted Dog wrote:
yes.. I can't think of a 64bit single core... but there has to be one somewhere.


We've got the old reliable Athlon 64....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athlon_64

I have several...solid,reliable old cpu.
Running Athlon 64 as I type... Solid! Smile
_________________
Fatdog64-721|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 41 of 42 [627 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0940s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0423s) ][ GZIP on ]