Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 01:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 5.7.1 D600 hangs on shutdown
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
Erik

Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 15 Feb 2014, 19:21    Post subject:  Puppy 5.7.1 D600 hangs on shutdown
Subject description: Puppy 5.7.1 cannot complete shut down
 

On Dell D600 Tried Puppy 5.7.1 retro, installed Frugal, USB, LiveCD, and Internal HD SATA. It does not complete the shout down scripts, and requires power button intervention to turn off the computer.

Other than that it works flawlessly.

I have been following both forums and did not see any answers.

Currently using Puppy 5.5 wary USB.

Any info would help.

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 787
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sat 15 Feb 2014, 19:34    Post subject:  

hey erik

when it hangs again try ctrl-alt-backspace, a kind of 'escape' shortcut

it may just bring you to a # prompt or continue as intended

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Erik

Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 23 Feb 2014, 20:04    Post subject: shortcut idea
Subject description: I tried the shortcut idea
 

Thanks but no dice. The hang up is after the shutdown script has initiated.

I tried to exit via the prompt screen, no dice there either, it hangs up after typing in "shutdown".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4631
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 04:01    Post subject:  

Found this in the Precise 5.7.1 topic
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=731431#731431

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Erik

Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 03 Mar 2014, 22:38    Post subject: Thank you for the response
Subject description: Sounds like a good solution
 

Bigpup (or anyone else)

Thanks for the link to the work around solution.
Being a Newbie to Puppy Linux (and Linux in general) the description of what to do in order to resolve the hang at shut down issue is a little daunting. Is there a link or example of where the script is within the file system and how to make the change as you describe it??

I'm not afraid to make a mistake. Mr. mistake has been my best instructor.

Thanks

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 04 Mar 2014, 01:47    Post subject:  

Hi.

This sometimes happens, depending on the hardware configuration.

Where is your pupsave file located? On the thumb drive or on the HD?
If on the thumb drive, it may take a (+/- long) while to save the RAM to the USB stick.
If on the HD, everything gets saved to it as you go, so there shouldn't be any delay.

Various solutions include:

1) Since you're booting from CD, try typing
Code:
puppy pfix=nox

at the initial prompt.
Then when you get to the first stop, type
Code:
exec xwin jwm

According to forum member mikeb, this solved the problem.

OR
2) Forget # 1.
When you want to exit, don't use the menu entry, but rather type:
Ctrl-Alt-Backspace. That brings you to the initial black console. There, type
reboot
OR
poweroff, depending on what you wish to do.

There should appear a list of programs closing and drives getting unmounted.
Once that is done, your computer should do what you've told it to...

If it does not, wait a couple of seconds and type
busybox reboot
OR
busybox poweroff, as the case may be.

Good luck. (Kepp us posted?)
BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Erik

Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 04 Mar 2014, 20:19    Post subject: Response to musher0
Subject description: sucess
 

My current installation of Puppy 5.7.1 is HD based (easier for me to work with)(the d600 only has 2 USB's)

Option 2 Exiting to a prompt or using the CTRL+ALT+Backspace then typing "busybox poweroff" worked,Sweet, Cool.

("poweroff", did not work it lead back into the hang requiring a power button)

Regarding Option 1 as you describe it, would that work when loading from CD to do the installation, or is it just a temporary fix while the live session is up?

Is there a code change like option 1 that would be permanent??
(Which is what I thought bigpup was referencing).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 05 Mar 2014, 12:09    Post subject:  

Hi, Erik.

Regarding Option 1, I was just being a parrot for what forum member "mikeb" once
suggested. Maybe PM him with an invitation to join in this thread and let him explain.
As for me, I did try it a couple of times in various Puppies, with no noticeable difference.

As I mentioned earlier, this shutdown bug is not a general bug. However frustrating for
me or you when it happens from this Puppy on that computer, it doesn't happen for all
users on all Puppies on all computers. Try the same Puppy on another computer, and it
may well shut down when it's told to.

As well, the bug has been reported on other Linux forums (including a shutdown script
for icewm on Fedora, if my memory is correct).

I've been following this bug for a few years now. I believe that It's not a Puppy thing, it's
a speed-of-computer-chip thing. The author of Puppy is not at fault. I don't think a re-
write of the script is necessary.

The idea is to be patient with the problem. The human brain is still faster than a
computer, and expects speed where speed cannot always be delivered. Because
some CPUs are just not crafted properly.

My 2¢. BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Erik

Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar 2014, 01:32    Post subject: Thank you for the help  

Thank you for the help.

Maybe my newbieness affected my wording of questions.

I fully understand that there is so many variations in computers etc. etc. that many computers have quirks, just like a used car that has the window that does not roll down.

I was not expecting my question to drive coding changes to Puppy 5.7.1, obviously the number of occurrences are very low.

I though that by some off chance that I could change my local copy of Puppy 5.7.1 to allow a seamless shutdown script, it would be cool.

Sound like this is just like the car window, and should be left alone, because it's just not bad enough.

I can continue to use Puppy 5.5 wary, which works awsome.

Thanks , have good day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar 2014, 11:29    Post subject:  

Erik wrote:
Is there a code change like option 1 that would be permanent??
(Which is what I thought bigpup was referencing).

The post referenced by bigpup related to a bug that causes the modprobe utility to hang when attempting to remove the snd_intel8x0 module. So the first thing to do is see if your hardware uses this module.

Please post the output from this command:
Code:
lsmod | grep intel8x0

If there is no output then the module isn't loaded, so no attempt will be made to remove it at shutdown, in which case something else is causing your problem and that fix won't work for you.

If it is loaded then perhaps we can determine exactly what you need to change to permanently work-around the problem on your system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Erik

Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2014, 20:14    Post subject: snap shot of window output  

Here is the screen shot of the coding input in the window.

I am a newbie, so I do not know what the output means.

Erik
capture7413.png
Description  here ya go.
png

 Download 
Filename  capture7413.png 
Filesize  18.07 KB 
Downloaded  61 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 12:51    Post subject:  

The output means that your system does use the snd_intel8x0 module, so preventing the /etc/init.d/10alsa script from attempting to remove it at shutdown may help you, as it did forum members step and yin. Or it may not. But there is a chance.

If you would like to try, here are my suggestions:

Make a copy of your /etc/init.d/10alsa file for a backup in case something goes wrong when you edit it. Do not save this backup file in your /etc/init.d/ directory; put it somewhere else, like your /root/ directory.

Using your favorite text editor, look in the original /etc/init.d/10alsa file for the following line (it will probably be line 89):
Code:
   lsmod | grep "^snd" | grep '0 $' | grep -Ev "(snd-page-alloc|snd_page_alloc)" |

(Note that this is one long line, although if your browser window is small it may look like more than one.)

Insert |snd_intel8x0 into the line so that the line looks like this:
Code:
   lsmod | grep "^snd" | grep '0 $' | grep -Ev "(snd-page-alloc|snd_page_alloc|snd_intel8x0)" |

Save the file, and try to shut down.

This should prevent the script from trying to unload the snd_intel8x0 module.

I do not have Puppy 5.7.1 Retro, nor does my hardware use the snd_intel8x0 module, so I cannot test this. I can make no guarantees about this change. I assume that there is a reason that the /etc/init.d/10alsa script removes the sound drivers, so preventing it from removing a driver is not ideal. But based on the experience of forum members step and yin, as referenced in bigpup's post, doing so may be the best work-around available at the moment for your hardware.

Good luck.

Last edited by npierce on Sat 08 Mar 2014, 13:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 13:12    Post subject:  

Whoops. Double post. Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Erik

Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 19:34    Post subject: I'll give it a try  

I'll give it a try this weekend, work life balance is a little off this week.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Erik

Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2014, 10:57    Post subject: Thank you for the help  

I was in the process of trying the suggestions mentioned above, and ran into other peculiarities. It is just the nature of the beast, old, used, refurbished, laptop. There were too may things that did not work the way they were intended.

Kind of the equivalent of not just one car window that does not roll up all the way, but having 2 back windows open all the time. not bad in the summer, but a bugger in the winter.

I decided to not work on 5.7.1 for my laptop anymore.
I went back to my USB Puppy 5.5 Wary, works flawlessly on my laptop.

Side note to the development team
I have been running puppy 5.7.1 retro on my 10 yr old desk top since it's release, works awesome, zero issues, (my teenager has not crashed it, that in it's self is cool)

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0768s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]