Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 10:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.7 - March 2014
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 18 [257 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2014, 03:49    Post subject:  

Hey techno. Thanks for giving Slacko a spin.

Do you have any idea why it was trying to load 3 xorg drivers at once? BK's new xorgwizard no help? I think it tries to be a bit too much "one size fits all", however in saying that there it's what we have at the moment and probably won't get a lot of improvement in the next iteration.

After that though, we are thinking of using the FatDog style xinit scripts, but that might leave some older machines behind. We'll see.

--------------------------------

canin .. sorry my site was down over the weekend. It's back up now but there is still an issue with sub-domains. You can reach it at 01micko.com/slacko57

EDIT: well.. what do I know? The sub-domains are working now! (just got email from my host).

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4376

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2014, 07:41    Post subject:  

I have a laptop with radeon graphics, external monitor port and modeswitching was getting its own device and vesa was listed too. ... Audio was a pain too because my actual sound device is device 1 instead of 0. I had been using akita with no problems and miss some of scottman's tweaks and tools.

I would recommend an xvesa fallback. We are maintaining it on github as tinyxserver (only xvesa and xfbdev, though now I may dig up the Radeon one and add my device ID) goingnuts even made a multicall binary of xinit, xvesa, jwm &rxvt static built in <1mb which is nice if for instance libc or libX11 or 1 of its deps breaks... you could still get a working desktop with terminal assuming busybox is built static too.

I was hoping more people would be taking advantage of my simple icon tray by now to eliminate some of the heavy running background processes, but I guess I'll have to write a unified tray app with it, but I want it to be public domain so it may take a bit since I can't just port the existing applications (unless the devs release their code)

I've been playing with various tiny public domain decoders lately mp3, mp2 and ogg-vorbis. The players will be released to public domain soon... each <50kb static. I am hoping to get them under 32k to fit in most caches eventually.

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1455
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2014, 11:57    Post subject:  

Hmmm. Coming from a Biker with a GED, with a
Compaq CQ-57 running Slack0 5.7 .exe inside of Windows 7,
So if I report this wrong. Just ignore me, No biggy.

Code:
# inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: biker Kernel: 3.10.32 i686 (32 bit gcc: 4.7.1)
           Desktop: JWM git-905
           Distro: Slacko Puppy Linux Linux 3.10.32 [ arch]
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard (portable) product: Presario CQ57 Notebook PC v: 068C110003204910000620100
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 3577 v: 24.48
           Bios: Hewlett-Packard v: F.42 date: 11/07/2011
CPU:       Dual core AMD C-50 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 3993
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1000 MHz
Graphics:  Card: ATI Device 9804 bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Display Server: X.org 1.12.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: vesa)
           tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.10.32
Network:   Card-1: Ralink Device 5390
           driver: rt2800pci v: 2.3.0 bus-ID: 07:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 2000 bus-ID: 06:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (23.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD2500BEVT size: 250.1GB
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 61.4C mobo: N/A gpu: 62.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 98 Uptime: 2:37 Memory: 285.4/1623.5MB
           Init: SysVinit runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 4.7.1
           Client: Shell (bash 4.1.01) inxi: 2.1.28


I installed moc
from PPM, updated PPM 1st. Salix repo moc verrsion.

It works. But. I start getting a freeze up of sorts. The cpu spikes in htop
to 100%. But. Only in split second pulsating intervals. I tried like hell to get
a screenshot showing the spike but missed it and then the freeze makes it hard to start all over again from scratch. I use Cntrl+Alt+Backspace
to restart JWM with xwin. mocp stays playing of course. But then I can use
Shift+q key to quit moc session in terminal.

Not sure if this is a moc inside of a Windows 7 issue. I say this because
a frugal or full Slack0 install never gave this problem. Only on the .exe
install I am running.

I'll maybe move on to using cmus instead on this unit. Just info report more than a "help me".

My screenys First one is moc not running/started yet. Second is moc running but I fail to show the cpu pulsating 100% spike in the shot (it is quick). Third is mocp running streaming radio station (which is what I usually use for lightweight streaming player)



Happy Trailz, Rok

_________________
If you know nothing about Linux, take some time to get familiarized with these courses.
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell Misery Loves Company.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2014, 14:41    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:

I was hoping more people would be taking advantage of my simple icon tray by now to eliminate some of the heavy running background processes...


Interesting... when having a play with Slacko 5.7 a few weeks ago (one danged sweet Pup!), one thing I did notice was a slightly higher idling CPU use compared to some other Pups & distros - maybe ~5-7%, IIRC. In further playing, I installed LxPanel from the PPM, and noticed the icon tray (Freemapplet - Retrovol??) had not loaded to the new LxPanel... and CPU use @ idle had dropped to basically nil... 0-1%. Seems there indeed may be some room for improvement in regards to the tray's resource usage.

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 01:41    Post subject:  

Iso-booting remastered with TedDog's ram2sfs. Just perfect for me No More popup windows asking for save the file at shutdown.
A little guide to Personalise Banksypup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mecZm9BrL00
slacko5.7.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   116.27 KB
 Viewed   1307 Time(s)

slacko5.7.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 588
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2014, 04:17    Post subject:  

Not sure if this has been posted before, too many pages to go through. The resize personal storage script is showing save file size as much smaller than it really is, smaller than free space even. Screen shot is for a 512mb save file.

Edit: This seems to work

Code:
ACTUALSIZK=`du -b $HOMELOCATION | awk '{print $1}'` #total size of ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save.3fs
if [ ! $ACTUALSIZK ];then
   ACTUALSIZK=`cat /etc/rc.d/pupsave.conf | grep SIZEPFILE | awk -F'=' '{print $2}' `   
   ACTUALSIZK=`expr $ACTUALSIZK \* 1024`
fi
ACTUALSIZE=`expr $ACTUALSIZK \/ 1024 \/ 1024`


Edit2: If du fails and it uses pupsave.conf then it also fails after a resize as this doesn't get updated Sad

Edit3: This updates pupsave.conf after a resize which should be updated regardless.

Code:
case ${EXIT} in
  save)KILOBIG=$(($KILOBIG * 1024))
   echo "KILOBIG=$KILOBIG" > /initrd${PUP_HOME}/pupsaveresizenew.txt
   echo "PUPSAVEFILEX=$SAVEFILE" >> /initrd${PUP_HOME}/pupsaveresizenew.txt #131231
   OLDSAVE=`cat /etc/rc.d/pupsave.conf | grep SIZEPFILE | awk -F'=' '{print $2}' `
   NEWSAVE=$(( $KILOBIG + $OLDSAVE ))
   sed -i s'/SIZEPFILE='$OLDSAVE'/SIZEPFILE='$NEWSAVE'/' /etc/rc.d/pupsave.conf
   ;;
   *)
    exit
   ;;
esac
resize_script.png
 Description   
 Filesize   60.2 KB
 Viewed   1060 Time(s)

resize_script.png


_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1098

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jul 2014, 08:02    Post subject:  

Hey Rg66

Confirmed. I think it has something to do with sparse files.

I see you've already found a solution, but might want to test also this one:
Code:
--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/resizepfile.sh   2014-01-06 21:02:31.000000000 +0100
+++ /usr/sbin/resizepfile.sh   2014-07-17 13:50:25.156486816 +0200
@@ -49,11 +49,8 @@
 
 HOMELOCATION="/initrd${PUP_HOME}${SAVEFILE}"
 SIZEFREE=`df -m | grep "$PERSISTMNTPT" | tr -s " " | cut -f 4 -d " "` #free space in ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save.3fs
-ACTUALSIZK=`ls -sk $HOMELOCATION | tr -s " " | cut -f 1 -d " "` #total size of ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save.3fs
-if [ ! $ACTUALSIZK ];then
- ACTUALSIZK=`ls -sk $HOMELOCATION | tr -s " " | cut -f 2 -d " "`
-fi
-ACTUALSIZE=`expr $ACTUALSIZK \/ 1024`
+ACTUALSIZK=`stat -c %s $HOMELOCATION` #total size of ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save.3fs
+ACTUALSIZE=`expr $ACTUALSIZK \/ 1024 \/ 1024`
 APATTERN="/dev/${SAVEPART} "
 PARTSIZE=`df -m | grep "$APATTERN" | tr -s " " | cut -f 2 -d " "`
 PARTFREE=`df -m | grep "$APATTERN" | tr -s " " | cut -f 4 -d " "`

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 588
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jul 2014, 09:39    Post subject:  

@SFR

That works, thanks. Stat -c and du -b give the same results so if there needs to be a fallback as the original had, I guess those two would do the job especially since ACTUALSIZE division is the same for both. Pupsave.conf is unreliable as pupsaveconfig sometimes overwrites the savesize info. I still think pupsave.conf should be updated after a resize though.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2668
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jul 2014, 04:28    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
I was hoping more people would be taking advantage of my simple icon tray by now to eliminate some of the heavy running background processes,
Think I've found the right link here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2014, 21:22    Post subject:  

Does anyone know where I can find the source for kernel 3.10.32?

The SFS manager in Slacko 5.7.0 lists the source code as an .sfs twice, but in both cases the result is "404, file not found" and "link broken".

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2014, 00:05    Post subject:  

eowens2 wrote:
Does anyone know where I can find the source for kernel 3.10.32?

The SFS manager in Slacko 5.7.0 lists the source code as an .sfs twice, but in both cases the result is "404, file not found" and "link broken".

Thank you.


I found this:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14/kernel_sources-3.10.32-slacko_PAE.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1792

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2014, 03:21    Post subject:  

eowens2 wrote:
The SFS manager in Slacko 5.7.0 lists the source code as an .sfs twice, but in both cases the result is "404, file not found" and "link broken".

It's a bug.
Fixed here

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2014, 08:00    Post subject:  

Thanks watchdog and mavrothal!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 470
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2014, 03:34    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.7 contains the pretty outdated version 0.0.8 of xclip in /usr/X11R7/bin. The problem with this version: UTF-8 selection strings are not properly supportet. This bug is fixed in never versions. I tested version 0.12 which I downloaded from http://slackware.org.uk/slacky/slackware-14.0/utilities/xclip/0.12/

Works fine now. Any chance to include a new version of xclip in Slacko 5.7?
xclip_0.0.8.png
 Description   Buggy UTF-8 support in xclip version 0.08
 Filesize   16.39 KB
 Viewed   400 Time(s)

xclip_0.0.8.png

xclip_0.1.2.png
 Description   Correct UTF-8 support in xclip version 0.1.2
 Filesize   15.91 KB
 Viewed   449 Time(s)

xclip_0.1.2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jul 2014, 21:57    Post subject:  

Has anyone had a problem compiling kernel modules using a full install of slacko-5.7.0?

I have added the sfs-mgr-patch-2.pet to the SFS Manager. The “kernel_sources-3.10.32-slacko_PAE.sfs” file is about 95 MB, but when I install it using the manager, the size of /usr/src grows from about 148 K to 2450 M (!!), apparently due to the new “linux” directory in /usr/src.

During the process of installation I got the message : “Warning: using this under Pupmode2 is experimental”, but not knowing any better I continued.

The modules compiled without error and seem to function O.K., but the reported size of /usr/src/linux is bothersome, and survives a reboot.

Is this only a cosmetic problem, a bug, or did I do something really dumb along the way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 18 [257 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1157s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]