Slacko 5.7 - March 2014

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#31 Post by 01micko »

Just an FYI post.

In all previous slacko versions I did not bother limiting the browser cache. The only way I knew how to do it was to install a default profile in /root/.mozilla. If you decide to run the browser as spot then this totally defeats the purpose.

Mozilla in their infinite wisdom has decided to remove that option from it's gui preferences program. :roll: . The only way to do it now is manually through about:config.

With a bit of research I devised a way to limit the browser cache without installing a default profile.

A file; /usr/lib/firefox*/defaults/preferences/local-settings.js needs to be created (you can check it out at /usr/lib/firefox-17.0.11/defaults/preferences). It contains the following:

Code: Select all

//
//default home page and cache
pref("browser.startup.homepage", "data:text/plain,browser.startup.homepage=file:///usr/share/doc/home.htm");
pref("browser.cache.disk.capacity", 60000);
You'll notice that this also sets the home page.

The trick about this though was how to implement it without hard coding?

Well I did this at the woof level with a pinstall.sh. The relevant part of the pinstall.sh contains this:

Code: Select all

# work around for firefox bug to set cache
if [ `pwd` != '/' ];then
 FF=$(find usr/lib -type d -name firefox*)
 PKGSTATDIR=`find ../../ -type d -name status -maxdepth 3`
 PKGSTATFILE=`find $PKGSTATDIR -type f -name 'findpkgs_FINAL_PKGS*'`
 FFVER=`grep 'firefox' $PKGSTATFILE | awk -F'|' '{print $6}'`
 FFVER=${FFVER%%.*}
 if [ "$FFVER" -ge 21 ];then
   mkdir -p ${FF}/browser/defaults/preferences
   PREFDIR="${FF}/browser/defaults/preferences"
 else
   mkdir -p ${FF}/defaults/preferences
   PREFDIR="${FF}/defaults/preferences"
 fi
 cat > ${PREFDIR}/local-settings.js <<_EOF
//
//default home page and cache
pref("browser.startup.homepage", "data:text/plain,browser.startup.homepage=file:///usr/share/doc/home.htm");
pref("browser.cache.disk.capacity", 60000);
_EOF

fi
That will seem like jumble to some, but all it does is create the above file. One important note though; mozilla, again in their infinite wisdom, moved the location of where these type of files are read in firefox-21. From /usr/lib/firefox*/defaults/preferences to /usr/lib/firefox*/browser/defaults/preferences.

This should work for seamonkey as well but the version change over would have to be noted.

Many thanks to Mike's Musings.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

gcmartin

#32 Post by gcmartin »

Tried to use Shinobar's Google Chrome Portable Installation utility, but Failed with the message below. I went to the PPM to find it
Image
Chrome in Slacko57 requires libconf OR the installation fails. So I went ot the PPM. Error again.Image
Anyone know how to get the require library?


watchdog
Posts: 2021
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 18:04
Location: Italy

#34 Post by watchdog »

Result of hard testing with browser open in many pages: I have a problem with ram and some scripts accessing hd to almost freezing. Not experienced in slacko 5.6 and wary with the same firefox 27.0.1 and the same backuped /root/.mozilla. For two times after using abiword and posting to wordpress the laptop almost freezes. Tried vesa driver and downgrade of abiword. I think I'll go back to wary. My "ps -a" output:

Code: Select all

 PID TTY          TIME CMD
 6782 tty1     00:00:00 xwin
 6832 tty1     00:00:00 xinit
 6838 tty1     00:00:04 jwm
 6900 tty1     00:00:12 ROX-Filer
 6901 tty1     00:00:00 pup_event_front
 7000 tty1     00:00:00 freememapplet_t
 7007 tty1     00:00:04 network_tray
 7026 tty1     00:00:01 parcellite
 7030 tty1     00:00:00 powerapplet_tra
 7034 tty1     00:00:05 retrovol
 7371 tty1     00:00:08 firewallstate
12087 tty1     00:05:01 firefox
12106 tty1     00:00:03 sylpheed
12314 tty1     00:00:00 dbus-launch
12763 tty1     00:03:50 plugin-containe
29391 tty1     00:00:00 urxvt
30337 pts/0    00:00:00 ps-FULL

giannis4
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri 28 Jun 2013, 13:26

#35 Post by giannis4 »

Hello,where is the disable screensaver option?.I cant find it.

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#36 Post by rufwoof »

watchdog wrote:Result of hard testing with browser open in many pages: I have a problem with ram and some scripts accessing hd to almost freezing. Not experienced in slacko 5.6 and wary with the same firefox 27.0.1 and the same backuped /root/.mozilla. For two times after using abiword and posting to wordpress the laptop almost freezes. Tried vesa driver and downgrade of abiword. I think I'll go back to wary. My "ps -a" output:

Code: Select all

 PID TTY          TIME CMD
 6782 tty1     00:00:00 xwin
 6832 tty1     00:00:00 xinit
 6838 tty1     00:00:04 jwm
 6900 tty1     00:00:12 ROX-Filer
 6901 tty1     00:00:00 pup_event_front
 7000 tty1     00:00:00 freememapplet_t
 7007 tty1     00:00:04 network_tray
 7026 tty1     00:00:01 parcellite
 7030 tty1     00:00:00 powerapplet_tra
 7034 tty1     00:00:05 retrovol
 7371 tty1     00:00:08 firewallstate
12087 tty1     00:05:01 firefox
12106 tty1     00:00:03 sylpheed
12314 tty1     00:00:00 dbus-launch
12763 tty1     00:03:50 plugin-containe
29391 tty1     00:00:00 urxvt
30337 pts/0    00:00:00 ps-FULL
I'd guess its abiword. There seems to be a serious memory buffering problem with the installed dev version. I've no abiword installed (replaced with OpenOffice) and with loads of things running, watching SneekyLinux, watching/listening to a MP4, Office docs open, paint etc etc. it all runs fine.
Attachments
Screenshot_2014-03-10_123039.png
(170.4 KiB) Downloaded 2553 times

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#37 Post by rufwoof »

01micko wrote:Just an FYI post.

In all previous slacko versions I did not bother limiting the browser cache. The only way I knew how to do it was to install a default profile in /root/.mozilla.
When you remaster, what would be required to copy an entire image (home directory changes et al), but that ran the initial install to set up graphics, monitor and network?

My thinking is to have a Slacko 5.7 Office/Student version with OpenOffice (which is a easier transition from Excel IMO compared to Libre) replacing abiword and gnumeric, evince replacing epdfview, Thunbar added alongside ROXfiler and all of the browser/flash already set up (cache=0, download directory set to /mnt/home, PDF associated with evince ...etc. etc). Such that new users (XP migrants) could download and burn a ISO to CD (around 270MB), boot the CD, run through the initial graphics/setup and be left with a complete office desktop near ready to run straight out of the box.

I'm guessing not much : Do a complete image copy - which is individual PC specific, but perhaps delete .Xdefaults and ??? during the remaster process ?

TIA.

User avatar
ally
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:29
Location: lincoln, uk
Contact:

#38 Post by ally »

disable screen saver in desktop>pup x set>screensaver

:)

giannis4
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri 28 Jun 2013, 13:26

#39 Post by giannis4 »

ally wrote:disable screen saver in desktop>pup x set>screensaver

:)
Thank you!!!!!!

Jim1911
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 20:39
Location: Texas, USA

#40 Post by Jim1911 »

Hi Mick,

You continue to outdo yourself. This is the best yet and is working great for my usual applications. That is except Bibletime which still can't find libclucene.so.0 although it is present. Hopefully, you now will have time to work on the latest version http://www.bibletime.info/archive/2013/ ... 0-released

Thanks again for another great release. Incidently, your get libreoffice program worked fine in getting the latest stable release as you can see in the attached desktop picture. Bible Analyzer is a Windows program running under Wine.

Regards,
Jim

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#41 Post by rufwoof »

For non-PAE at least :

Fix for mplayer not correctly displaying in full screen mode : http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... c7a15b5895

OpenShot SFS that seems to work : http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82046 (openshot-1.4.2 SFS)

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#42 Post by bigpup »

rufwoof,

All you ask would be possible by doing a remaster.
I think, at this point, you need to understand what to do to do a remaster.
Here is a good guide to follow:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71349
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

Les Kerf
Posts: 317
Joined: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 13:30

#43 Post by Les Kerf »

Installed Slacko 5.7 non PAE on a thumb drive and am posting from it while booted on the iMac.

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#44 Post by mavrothal »

Compiled the chrome video driver for VIA machines (which works fine) and I get a strange bug.
Switching window buttons in jwmconfiguration proceeds fine without errors but the buttons never change. xerrs.log shows

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/jwm
VESA BIOS Extension not detected
chrome
/usr/share/pixmaps/min.png:1: parser warning : unsupported version "1.1"
<?xml version="1.1" encoding="UTF-8"?>
which refers to the min.svg icon that min.png is symlined to.

Given that that all the svg icons with xml version=1.1 show fine, it appears to be a problem on the interaction of jwm with chrome.
The question is which one and how could it be determined.

PS: Just to make clear that this is a chrome-specific bug. VESA and vmware drivers I tried, switch fine.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#45 Post by rufwoof »

bigpup wrote:rufwoof,

All you ask would be possible by doing a remaster.
I think, at this point, you need to understand what to do to do a remaster.
Here is a good guide to follow:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71349
Thx bigpup. That was perfect (it was the deletion of locale and how to bo about changing /etc that I'd previously been stuck on).

watchdog
Posts: 2021
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 18:04
Location: Italy

#46 Post by watchdog »

rufwoof wrote:
watchdog wrote:Result of hard testing with browser open in many pages: I have a problem with ram and some scripts accessing hd to almost freezing.
I'd guess its abiword. There seems to be a serious memory buffering problem with the installed dev version. I've no abiword installed (replaced with OpenOffice) and with loads of things running, watching SneekyLinux, watching/listening to a MP4, Office docs open, paint etc etc. it all runs fine.
Back to slacko 5.7 after restoring my first backup. No more problems with built-in abiword. I think I was victim of a malicious attack.

PaulR
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 18:45
Location: UK

#47 Post by PaulR »

As per http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... &start=450

My savefile problem has returned with 5.7.

Booting off a USB, saving using the defaults (admin, 512mb, no encrypt etc) to sda1 (formatted ext4 and having just Linux Mint installed). Tried saving Puppy in ext2 and ext4 format with and without additional characters in the savefile name.

This is the non-PAE version on a Thinkpad T42 1GB - Puppy isn't installed in any way.

I can mount and browse the slackosave file I created at first shutdown and it all seems to be ok.

Paul

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#48 Post by bigpup »

PaulR ,

How was Slacko installed to the USB drive?
Be specific with the details.
What type drive?
USB Flash drive, hard drive, etc...?
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

PaulR
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 18:45
Location: UK

#49 Post by PaulR »

bigpup wrote: How was Slacko installed to the USB drive?
Be specific with the details.
What type drive?
USB Flash drive, hard drive, etc...?
In this instance it was burned with 'Imagewriter', a standard Mint 13 accessory but the same problem (on 5.6.x Slacko beta) was with an ISO burned from XP using unetbootin.

It is the same USB stick (a 2GB of uncertain manufacture) but I can't think why it would behave in the same way twice i.e. works perfectly in all respects except doesn't seem to see the savefile when booting.

I'll try a different stick, see what that does. Thanks for the reply,

Paul

TechNot
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun 09 Feb 2014, 20:06
Location: not too far from Waco,Tx
Contact:

#50 Post by TechNot »

After having some time to tinker around on the new 57 nonpae I have noticed a few oddities...

Mostly non working buttons or key combo's ...

FnF4 sleep
FnF3 screen off
Fn space magnify
page back
page forward

also the half moon sleep light does not come on with lid closed.. Im not exactly sure its going to sleep or just that the screen turns off with lid shut

not that any of these are what you would call a deal breaker but I would like to get them working if at all possible
IBM Thinkpad R51 2888HU1 .. pent M 1.5 .. 2gig ram .. intel graphics

(This is the smaller 14 inch version) detailed specs in WWW link

Post Reply