Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 19:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
FatdogArm Beta1 - 11 March 2014
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2044
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 03 Apr 2014, 09:31    Post subject: Re: obconf and pkeys  

mories wrote:
Regarding pkeys parameter (in my case pkeys=es) finds an appropriate map, but then loadkmap gives an error "not a valid binary keymap".


Try this patch to rc.sysinit (after you apply the previous one, otherwise, may have to apply manually):
Code:

@@ -127,35 +127,32 @@
 grep -q 'input/mice' /etc/mousedevice && modprobe usbhid
 
 # load keymaps and console fonts - rc.country no longer used
 # modified from original keymap loading code (c) Barry K
-[ -z "$pkeys" ] && [ -e /etc/keymap ] && read pkeys < /etc/keymap
+[ -z "$pkeys" ] && [ -e /etc/keymap ] && read -r pkeys < /etc/keymap
 if [ "$pkeys" ]; then
-   pkeys_path="$(find /lib/keymaps/ -name "${pkeys}*" | head -n 1)"
-   pkeys=${pkeys_path##*/}
-   if [ "$pkeys" ]; then
-      echo ${pkeys%%.*} > /etc/keymap
-      zcat $pkeys_path | loadkmap
-      case $pkeys in
-         de*|be*|br*|dk*|es*|fi*|fr*|it*|no*|se*|pt*)
-            modprobe nls_cp850
-            zcat /lib/consolefonts/lat1-12.psfu.gz | loadfont
-            echo lat1-12.psfu > /etc/fontmap
-            echo 850 > /etc/codepage
-            ;;
-         cz*|hu*|pl*|ro*|sk*|croat*|slovene*)
-            modprobe nls_cp852
-            modprobe nls_iso8859-2
-            zcat /lib/consolefonts/lat2-12.psfu.gz | loadfont
-            echo lat2-12.psfu > /etc/fontmap
-            echo 852 > /etc/codepage
-            ;;
-         *)   # default - empty fontmap, iso-8859-1 codepage
-            rm -f /etc/fontmap
-            echo ISO-8859-1 > /etc/codepage
-            ;;
-      esac
-   fi
+   echo $pkeys > /etc/keymap
+   loadkeys $pkeys
+   case ${pkeys##*/} in
+      de*|be*|br*|dk*|es*|fi*|fr*|it*|no*|se*|pt*)
+         modprobe nls_cp850
+         setfont lat1-12
+         echo lat1-12 > /etc/fontmap
+         echo 850 > /etc/codepage
+         ;;
+      cz*|hu*|pl*|ro*|sk*|croat*|slovene*)
+         modprobe nls_cp852
+         modprobe nls_iso8859-2
+         setfont lat2-12
+         echo lat2-12 > /etc/fontmap
+         echo 852 > /etc/codepage
+         ;;
+      big) setfont big ;;
+      *)   # default - empty fontmap, iso-8859-1 codepage
+         rm -f /etc/fontmap
+         echo ISO-8859-1 > /etc/codepage
+         ;;
+   esac
 fi
 
 ### other little things
 [ -f /etc/resolutionfix ] && eval $(cat /etc/resolutionfix)

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2044
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 03 Apr 2014, 09:32    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
thank you

not many streams come from youtube, popular ones are putlocker (firedrive?), allmyvideos and ishared

I did find a hack a while ago (can't find it now) that ran putlocker through a media player (think it was vlc) but only putlocker as they showed the stream url in the source code

thanks for your efforts!

Smile


Ok there is still hope, there is gnash and lightspark. We'll see Very Happy

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mories

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu 03 Apr 2014, 16:57    Post subject: Re: obconf and pkeys  

jamesbond wrote:

Try this patch to rc.sysinit (after you apply the previous one, otherwise, may have to apply manually):


With this patch the pkeys parameter works correctly .

Thank you very much for your attention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IhaveU3

Joined: 07 Mar 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 01:33    Post subject: wifi  

Hi James
Fred here Very Happy
You asked me:
Quote:
By the way, why don't you use the network wizard from control panel? Why the need to run wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd manually?

I had not been able to get the network wizard to make the connection to my router, hence tried the manual connection.
The error consists as follows: wlan0: deauthenticated from 00:1b:9c:08:70:95 (Reason: 15)
If I use wpa_cli and request status it will sometimes authenticate:
At the moment, I use the following script which is much more reliable
Code:
wpa_cli -iwlan0 disconnect
for i in `wpa_cli list_networks | grep ^[0-9] | cut -f1`; do wpa_cli -iwlan0 remove_network $i; done
wpa_cli -iwlan0 add_network
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 auth_alg OPEN
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 key_mgmt WPA-PSK
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 psk '"MyWord"'
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 mode 0
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 ssid '"Dogsbreath"'
wpa_cli -iwlan0 select_network 0
wpa_cli -iwlan0 enable_network 0
wpa_cli -iwlan0 reassociate
wpa_cli -iwlan0 status
sleep 1
dhcpcd wlan0

Seems something about ipV4 not happy Jan Sad
Fred stumped again Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mories

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2014, 09:09    Post subject: Bootmenu  

@jb:

The idea/tool Bootmenu
http://jamesbond3142.no-ip.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/-wiki/KexecBootMenu
seems me very interesting and useful.
It's available some kernel / initrd for testing and use.
Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IhaveU3

Joined: 07 Mar 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2014, 01:51    Post subject: locate command  

Hi puppies Very Happy
Fred tried the updatedb command:
Results with:
Quote:
/usr/bin/updatedb: line 278: /tools/bin/sort: no such file or directory

how does one create the missing file ? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2044
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 04:05    Post subject:  

mories wrote:
@jb:

The idea/tool Bootmenu
http://jamesbond3142.no-ip.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/-wiki/KexecBootMenu
seems me very interesting and useful.
It's available some kernel / initrd for testing and use.
Thanks in advance.


It's available in all FatdogArm's kernel packages. All you need to do create the correct bootmenu.cfg and tell the kernel to use the bootmenu instead of the normal /sbin/init by specifying kernel command line "rdinit=/sbin/bootmenu".

I have found that recent kernels aren't very cooperative with it, though Sad the "kexec" call isn't very reliable Sad

IhaveU3 wrote:
Hi puppies Very Happy
Fred tried the updatedb command:
Results with:
Quote:
/usr/bin/updatedb: line 278: /tools/bin/sort: no such file or directory

how does one create the missing file ? Confused


Well that's a bug, one that I've just fixed here. But what you can do is just edit /usr/bin/updatedb and find all references to "/tools/bin" with "/usr/bin" and you should be good.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IhaveU3

Joined: 07 Mar 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 05:07    Post subject: Locate command  

Jamesbond wrote
Quote:
Well that's a bug, one that I've just fixed here. But what you can do is just edit /usr/bin/updatedb and find all references to "/tools/bin" with "/usr/bin" and you should be good.

Thank you James, all working here now, don't you just love squashing bugs, it's all that green stuff that squirt's out Very Happy
Just as a side note, I am sure you know already, as you shut down, the message displayed is Fatdog64, not FatdogArm, I know we are still in Beta testing and it's no show stopper Smile
Glad to have the locate command working, Thanks again.
Now where did I put that can of DDT Confused Oh I know, use locate Smile
Cheers Happy Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2044
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 10:45    Post subject:  

And just to be on the safe side I've updated GnuTLS and OpenSSL too Wink you need to pull it from the repo.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IhaveU3

Joined: 07 Mar 2014
Posts: 12
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 20:37    Post subject:  

Thanks James, did the update, all good Smile
Just got my Samba server mapped and accessible from my U3, good to go Very Happy Create directory /mnt/smb then
Used the following:
Quote:
mount.cifs //192.168.1.2/public /mnt/smb

HAGD Very Happy
Fred Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Wed 23 Apr 2014, 04:29    Post subject:  

@jamesbond

I now have my U3 and am very pleased with it. The next desire is to return to puppy and I noted:

"You want to dual-boot Android and FatdogArm (instead of Ubuntu/FatdogArm, which is easy)." from the Alpha4 thread.

By that comment I assume you mean it is easy to dual-boot Ubuntu/FatDogARM.

Please explain. I have Ubuntu on the SD card as supplied with the U3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2044
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 03:33    Post subject:  

It is indeed easy. I can't recall whether Ubuntu kernel has aufs, if it does, then just follow the steps in http://jamesbond3142.no-ip.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/RunSlackoInFatdog and replace slacko.sfs with fd-arm.sfs

If Ubuntu kernel doesn't have aufs, then you need to extract fd-arm.sfs. I'm a bit busy right now so I'll just write the overall idea; perhaps others can chip in too.

Extracting fd-arm - you only need to do this once
Code:

mkdir ~/fd-arm
unsquashfs -d ~/fd-arm /path/to/fd-arm.sfs
mkdir -p ~/fd-arm/{dev,proc,sys,tmp}


Entering chroot
Code:

for p in dev proc sys tmp; do mount --rbind $p ~/fd-arm/$p; done
chroot ~/fd-arm


leaving chroot
Code:

exit # make sure all other fd-arm programs have been killed
for p in dev/pts dev proc sys tmp; do umount ~/fd-arm/$p; done

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Sat 26 Apr 2014, 01:23    Post subject:  

Thank you. Like you I am busy. I will post how I get on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2044
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jun 2014, 12:35    Post subject:  

In the process of cubox-i bringup ... Wink
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2044
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 14:10    Post subject:  

Next release of FatdogArm will run on cubox-i - the i4 and i2 series.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0958s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]