FatdogArm Beta1/2/3/4- 16 April 2016

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

Re: obconf and pkeys

#46 Post by jamesbond »

mories wrote:Regarding pkeys parameter (in my case pkeys=es) finds an appropriate map, but then loadkmap gives an error "not a valid binary keymap".
Try this patch to rc.sysinit (after you apply the previous one, otherwise, may have to apply manually):

Code: Select all

@@ -127,35 +127,32 @@
 grep -q 'input/mice' /etc/mousedevice && modprobe usbhid
 
 # load keymaps and console fonts - rc.country no longer used
 # modified from original keymap loading code (c) Barry K
-[ -z "$pkeys" ] && [ -e /etc/keymap ] && read pkeys < /etc/keymap 
+[ -z "$pkeys" ] && [ -e /etc/keymap ] && read -r pkeys < /etc/keymap 
 if [ "$pkeys" ]; then
-	pkeys_path="$(find /lib/keymaps/ -name "${pkeys}*" | head -n 1)"
-	pkeys=${pkeys_path##*/}
-	if [ "$pkeys" ]; then
-		echo ${pkeys%%.*} > /etc/keymap
-		zcat $pkeys_path | loadkmap 
-		case $pkeys in 
-			de*|be*|br*|dk*|es*|fi*|fr*|it*|no*|se*|pt*)
-				modprobe nls_cp850
-				zcat /lib/consolefonts/lat1-12.psfu.gz | loadfont
-				echo lat1-12.psfu > /etc/fontmap
-				echo 850 > /etc/codepage
-				;;
-			cz*|hu*|pl*|ro*|sk*|croat*|slovene*)
-				modprobe nls_cp852
-				modprobe nls_iso8859-2
-				zcat /lib/consolefonts/lat2-12.psfu.gz | loadfont
-				echo lat2-12.psfu > /etc/fontmap
-				echo 852 > /etc/codepage
-				;;
-			*)	# default - empty fontmap, iso-8859-1 codepage
-				rm -f /etc/fontmap
-				echo ISO-8859-1 > /etc/codepage
-				;;
-		esac
-	fi
+	echo $pkeys > /etc/keymap
+	loadkeys $pkeys
+	case ${pkeys##*/} in 
+		de*|be*|br*|dk*|es*|fi*|fr*|it*|no*|se*|pt*)
+			modprobe nls_cp850
+			setfont lat1-12
+			echo lat1-12 > /etc/fontmap
+			echo 850 > /etc/codepage
+			;;
+		cz*|hu*|pl*|ro*|sk*|croat*|slovene*)
+			modprobe nls_cp852
+			modprobe nls_iso8859-2
+			setfont lat2-12
+			echo lat2-12 > /etc/fontmap
+			echo 852 > /etc/codepage
+			;;
+		big) setfont big ;;
+		*)	# default - empty fontmap, iso-8859-1 codepage
+			rm -f /etc/fontmap
+			echo ISO-8859-1 > /etc/codepage
+			;;
+	esac
 fi
 
 ### other little things
 [ -f /etc/resolutionfix ] && eval $(cat /etc/resolutionfix)
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#47 Post by jamesbond »

ally wrote:thank you

not many streams come from youtube, popular ones are putlocker (firedrive?), allmyvideos and ishared

I did find a hack a while ago (can't find it now) that ran putlocker through a media player (think it was vlc) but only putlocker as they showed the stream url in the source code

thanks for your efforts!

:)
Ok there is still hope, there is gnash and lightspark. We'll see :D
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

mories
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon 21 Dec 2009, 12:51

Re: obconf and pkeys

#48 Post by mories »

jamesbond wrote: Try this patch to rc.sysinit (after you apply the previous one, otherwise, may have to apply manually):
With this patch the pkeys parameter works correctly .

Thank you very much for your attention.

IhaveU3
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 02:17
Location: Sydney

wifi

#49 Post by IhaveU3 »

Hi James
Fred here :D
You asked me:
By the way, why don't you use the network wizard from control panel? Why the need to run wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd manually?
I had not been able to get the network wizard to make the connection to my router, hence tried the manual connection.
The error consists as follows: wlan0: deauthenticated from 00:1b:9c:08:70:95 (Reason: 15)
If I use wpa_cli and request status it will sometimes authenticate:
At the moment, I use the following script which is much more reliable

Code: Select all

wpa_cli -iwlan0 disconnect
for i in `wpa_cli list_networks | grep ^[0-9] | cut -f1`; do wpa_cli -iwlan0 remove_network $i; done
wpa_cli -iwlan0 add_network
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 auth_alg OPEN
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 key_mgmt WPA-PSK
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 psk '"MyWord"'
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 mode 0
wpa_cli -iwlan0 set_network 0 ssid '"Dogsbreath"'
wpa_cli -iwlan0 select_network 0
wpa_cli -iwlan0 enable_network 0
wpa_cli -iwlan0 reassociate
wpa_cli -iwlan0 status
sleep 1
dhcpcd wlan0
Seems something about ipV4 not happy Jan :(
Fred stumped again :D

mories
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon 21 Dec 2009, 12:51

Bootmenu

#50 Post by mories »

@jb:

The idea/tool Bootmenu
http://jamesbond3142.no-ip.org/wiki/wik ... ecBootMenu
seems me very interesting and useful.
It's available some kernel / initrd for testing and use.
Thanks in advance.

IhaveU3
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 02:17
Location: Sydney

locate command

#51 Post by IhaveU3 »

Hi puppies :D
Fred tried the updatedb command:
Results with:
/usr/bin/updatedb: line 278: /tools/bin/sort: no such file or directory
how does one create the missing file ? :?

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#52 Post by jamesbond »

mories wrote:@jb:

The idea/tool Bootmenu
http://jamesbond3142.no-ip.org/wiki/wik ... ecBootMenu
seems me very interesting and useful.
It's available some kernel / initrd for testing and use.
Thanks in advance.
It's available in all FatdogArm's kernel packages. All you need to do create the correct bootmenu.cfg and tell the kernel to use the bootmenu instead of the normal /sbin/init by specifying kernel command line "rdinit=/sbin/bootmenu".

I have found that recent kernels aren't very cooperative with it, though :( the "kexec" call isn't very reliable :(
IhaveU3 wrote:Hi puppies :D
Fred tried the updatedb command:
Results with:
/usr/bin/updatedb: line 278: /tools/bin/sort: no such file or directory
how does one create the missing file ? :?
Well that's a bug, one that I've just fixed here. But what you can do is just edit /usr/bin/updatedb and find all references to "/tools/bin" with "/usr/bin" and you should be good.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

IhaveU3
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 02:17
Location: Sydney

Locate command

#53 Post by IhaveU3 »

Jamesbond wrote
Well that's a bug, one that I've just fixed here. But what you can do is just edit /usr/bin/updatedb and find all references to "/tools/bin" with "/usr/bin" and you should be good.
Thank you James, all working here now, don't you just love squashing bugs, it's all that green stuff that squirt's out :D
Just as a side note, I am sure you know already, as you shut down, the message displayed is Fatdog64, not FatdogArm, I know we are still in Beta testing and it's no show stopper :)
Glad to have the locate command working, Thanks again.
Now where did I put that can of DDT :? Oh I know, use locate :)
Cheers Happy Fred

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#54 Post by jamesbond »

And just to be on the safe side I've updated GnuTLS and OpenSSL too :wink: you need to pull it from the repo.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

IhaveU3
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 02:17
Location: Sydney

#55 Post by IhaveU3 »

Thanks James, did the update, all good :)
Just got my Samba server mapped and accessible from my U3, good to go :D Create directory /mnt/smb then
Used the following:
mount.cifs //192.168.1.2/public /mnt/smb
HAGD :D
Fred Happy

Mercedes350se
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 11:28

#56 Post by Mercedes350se »

@jamesbond

I now have my U3 and am very pleased with it. The next desire is to return to puppy and I noted:

"You want to dual-boot Android and FatdogArm (instead of Ubuntu/FatdogArm, which is easy)." from the Alpha4 thread.

By that comment I assume you mean it is easy to dual-boot Ubuntu/FatDogARM.

Please explain. I have Ubuntu on the SD card as supplied with the U3.

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#57 Post by jamesbond »

It is indeed easy. I can't recall whether Ubuntu kernel has aufs, if it does, then just follow the steps in http://jamesbond3142.no-ip.org/wiki/wik ... koInFatdog and replace slacko.sfs with fd-arm.sfs

If Ubuntu kernel doesn't have aufs, then you need to extract fd-arm.sfs. I'm a bit busy right now so I'll just write the overall idea; perhaps others can chip in too.

Extracting fd-arm - you only need to do this once

Code: Select all

mkdir ~/fd-arm
unsquashfs -d ~/fd-arm /path/to/fd-arm.sfs
mkdir -p ~/fd-arm/{dev,proc,sys,tmp}
Entering chroot

Code: Select all

for p in dev proc sys tmp; do mount --rbind $p ~/fd-arm/$p; done
chroot ~/fd-arm
leaving chroot

Code: Select all

exit # make sure all other fd-arm programs have been killed
for p in dev/pts dev proc sys tmp; do umount ~/fd-arm/$p; done
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

Mercedes350se
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 11:28

#58 Post by Mercedes350se »

Thank you. Like you I am busy. I will post how I get on.

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#59 Post by jamesbond »

In the process of cubox-i bringup ... :wink:
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#60 Post by jamesbond »

Next release of FatdogArm will run on cubox-i - the i4 and i2 series.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#61 Post by mavrothal »

jamesbond wrote:Next release of FatdogArm will run on cubox-i - the i4 and i2 series.
Will have more changes other than the kernel/bootloader(/video diver)?
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#62 Post by jamesbond »

Well, do you have a request? :wink:
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#63 Post by mavrothal »

jamesbond wrote:Well, do you have a request? :wink:
No, not really. There are apps that would be nice to have in the repo but I do not see the need for any core additions.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#64 Post by jamesbond »

I don't mind stocking the repo. Let me know what you have in mind :lol:
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

User avatar
Ted Dog
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 02:35
Location: Heart of Texas

#65 Post by Ted Dog »

Accesspoint software to turn it into a smart wifi AP. Also Shared drive software. Always wa ted my little MElE into a tiny file server for my server farm cross compile setup.

Post Reply