Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 17:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.7
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
dsj

Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 13:36    Post_subject:  Slacko 5.7  

I have a peculiar problem with slacko 5.7 non PAE. A frugal install on my hard disk boots up perfectly well on first boot. After creating a save file & rebooting the computer, everything goes well till copying files to ram. But X takes at least 6-7 minutes to load up & the response to any mouse command is extremely slow. Precise 5.7.1 & Lupu5.2.8 have no issues & they reside in the same partition of my hard disk. The hard disk is SATA & dual boots WinXP & Puppy Linux. SDA1 is the windows partition (NTFS) & Puppy resides in SDA5 (NTFS).

Athlon 64 3200, 3 Gb RAM, ATI Chipset motherboard , video driver loaded in precise ati
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 23:23    Post_subject:  

dsj wrote:
I have a peculiar problem with slacko 5.7 non PAE. A frugal install on my hard disk boots up perfectly well on first boot. After creating a save file & rebooting the computer, everything goes well till copying files to ram. But X takes at least 6-7 minutes to load up & the response to any mouse command is extremely slow.

Does this still happen after several reboots?
Any other version of Slacko on computer?

I have seen bad installs do this type of thing.
Quote:
Puppy resides in SDA5 (NTFS).

NTFS formats can get fragmented.
Could do a defrag, using Windows, to eliminate that possibility.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0396s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]