Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 12:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise 5.7.1 Bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
april

Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar 2014, 06:21    Post subject:  Precise 5.7.1 Bugs  

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5453
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar 2014, 13:07    Post subject: Re: Precise 5.7.1 Bugs  

april wrote:
Precise 5.7.1
I notice the thread http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84718deals with a lan wireless adapter I use as , no doubt , do countless other potential users.
They would be walking away in droves scratching their heads and going to other distros as there is only a limited fix by "pemasu" for the one distro only (5.4.2) and it has not been incorporated in subsequent releases so none of them are useable for people with that adapter . I last looked at 5.7.1.

I see also a bug noted in this threadhttp://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85477with glipper failing to load reliably each time , sometimes it loads most times it does not and restarting the x server fixes it . If you are deep in the middle of something and want to copy text then everything has to be shut down first.

What is the point of continually updating distributions with new features if old problems are not fixed? I can't use any precise distro except 5.4.2. I guess the others are like that too huh?[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april

Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 14 Apr 2014, 06:19    Post subject:  

Had a look at connecting either of my two WIFI adaptors .
Neither worked and Pemasu's fix is the only one that can be used with the following two adaptors

Digitech USB 2.0 Wireless dongle 802.11N
TP-Link Wireless N USB Adaptor TL-WN723N


Both work with this patch but only with Puppy Precise 5.4.1 AFAIK
Pemasu's patch is attached
I will fill in the references to forum posts here as I find them again

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84718

Hopefully some kind soul will fix this in all distros as anyone new trying to set up their adaptor will just give up and chuck Puppy out.
They work simply with any Windows version I have used since 2000 Pro of course
8192cu-k3.2.29.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  8192cu-k3.2.29.pet 
Filesize  216.57 KB 
Downloaded  9 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 300
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Mon 14 Apr 2014, 14:45    Post subject:  

I compile 8192cu for precise 5.6.1, the thing is that with these kernel modules they only work for the kernel you compile it for. I compiled this in precise 5.6.1 that has kernel 3.2.44 so it will only work in puppy that has kernel 3.2.44.

only for precise 5.6.1 needs testing cuzz i dont have the wifi dongle, so cant test.
8192cu-k3.2.44.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  8192cu-k3.2.44.pet 
Filesize  254.82 KB 
Downloaded  8 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 420
Location: El salvador

PostPosted: Mon 14 Apr 2014, 15:57    Post subject: retro precise kernel 3.2.48  

Here compiled in retro-precise.
8192cu-k3.2.48.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  8192cu-k3.2.48.pet 
Filesize  255.13 KB 
Downloaded  12 Time(s) 

_________________
My blog


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3290
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 14 Apr 2014, 19:48    Post subject:  

Very Happy As a caterpillar might say >> "Not the end of the world."
Quote:
"As anyone new trying to set up their adaptor will just give up and chuck Puppy out."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april

Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 18:51    Post subject:  

Well Good work, Mick- I think
Slacko 5.7.0 works with my wifi adaptors above and connects to DHCP ! So I guess I will follow Slacko in future. . Hold on a bit ! After a little bit of testing perhaps I won't recommend this distro. The Adaptors get connected now via DHCP but they keep dropping out ? The browser or Mail keeps hanging so the script is not right in this distro after all !


Can the Quickpet for Precise be done for Slacko ? It is a really useful tool and it does not appear to work in slacko.

The two pets above for different kernels I tried with Precise 5.7. and neither worked. perhaps you might add which distro/s your kernel is used in 'nilsonmorales ' ( I dont know retro-precise) and therefore ,which distro/s the adaptors might work in. .Sorry 'scabz' I have still to get 5.6.1 and test it for you -soon

I do not understand you Semme - Strange. End of Puppy as far as a new user who can't connect their system to the net.

Couple of annoying things about the log in window
1/ When you get the window up it does not place the cursor immediately in the name text box. Simple programming choice.

2/ When you log in, then want to reply to a post, you get the log in window again and must do it again ? Ticking the log me on each visit button fixes this but I wonder why the necessity for this just replying or editing pages ?

Thank You all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4631
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2014, 20:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
2/ When you log in, then want to reply to a post, you get the log in window again and must do it again ? Ticking the log me on each visit button fixes this but I wonder why the necessity for this just replying or editing pages ?

You should only have to log in on the forum one time.
This should be active until you log out or close your browser.
If you do not post anything for a long time, it could be doing an auto log out, because of no activity.

From forum FAQ
Quote:
Why do I get logged off automatically?
If you do not check the Log me in automatically box when you log in, the board will only keep you logged in for a preset time. This prevents misuse of your account by anyone else. To stay logged in, check the box during login. This is not recommended if you access the board from a shared computer, e.g. library, internet cafe, university cluster, etc.


Are you keeping the browser open and at least one forum page in a tab?.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april

Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 04:33    Post subject:  

Yes and yes and my delay is only 30 seconds or so . If thats what it is its set too fine. Anyway not that dramatic as ticking the log me in box does the trick .

Just thught it was worth mentioning
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4631
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 18:37    Post subject:  

Should take a lot more that 30 sec. of no activity to auto log you out.
I stay longed on for hours with no problem.

Maybe change your login password.

I have seen that cause some issues.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fantazam

Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Today, at 09:09    Post subject:  

Can somebody create fix for Precise 5.7.1 with 3.9.11 kernel? Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1564s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0890s) ][ GZIP on ]