Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 08:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS released
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [46 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2014, 17:45    Post subject:  

Hello captsunset,
The Application "Hardinfo" has a battery monitor which may detect your battery. On some laptops it works on others not. Hopefully your one of the lucky ones. John

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2014, 08:04    Post subject:  

hey JB

have give 2.1 a spin on an old IBM T21 P3 800mhz lappy, really beautiful work (again)

she's all beat up but lovely display and the keyboard is a joy, much nicer than my newer T500

cheers

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 538
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2014, 16:20    Post subject:  

JohnBiles,...
the new LegacyOS 2.1 is pretty terrific! Thanks for all your hard work on this one. I have it on my second computer (Dell optiplex GX150,..pIII--1Ghz--512mb ram)..and Legacy has given it new life. It's much appreciated.

Now if I could just get LegacyOS to work with my computer that runs a 1366x768 monitor. I tried...but it won't give me that resolution Crying or Very sad

Oh well,...works on my other computer monitors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4790
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2014, 01:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
1366x768 monitor

Yes, indeed. There are some limitations in getting these legacy offerings running on legacy machines. Some old boards do not have an AGP slot, for example. Finding a posh PCI video card (and at a sensible price) is very difficult, even on eBay. Even if the board has on-board video, this is often limited to ~8Mb, maybe less. And that leads on to the memory issue if a memory resident or memory hungry OS like the Puppies is to be used. Again, without unreasonable cost, it is difficult to find even 256Mb SDRAM strips in the 'spares' box. Mine is full of 32/64/128 strips. Many boards are restricted to only two RAM slots making it a struggle to achieve 512MB in total. Another issue is the size of the .iso distribution disc. Many old machines, notably laptops, are limited to accepting CDs. So far john biles has succeeded in meeting the 700Mb boundary - most have not, many don't care! There must come a natural limit consistent with operating speed. Rationality also precludes throwing the $/£ weapon on a system that may soon follow its compatriots to the grave.
But, take heart mon braves, we are not there yet, thanks to the sterling efforts of john, BK, micko and co.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 568
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 23:59    Post subject:  

John I've been able to download "Gamer", but have attempted 6 times with Legacy OS 2.1 LTS from a range of sourceforge mirrors. I repeatedly get a maximum iso size of 697mb where 730mb is otherwise reported - could you or someone who has successfully downloaded a working iso please provide the MD5? The target machine is a Pentium III laptop with 500MHz CPU and 512Mb RAM, and eXpand "Barbie" 2.14 works fine on it, would love to kit it out properly with your latest,
With Thanks.

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5790
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2014, 00:24    Post subject:  

Puppyt wrote:
John I've been able to download "Gamer", but have attempted 6 times with Legacy OS 2.1 LTS from a range of sourceforge mirrors. I repeatedly get a maximum iso size of 697mb where 730mb is otherwise reported - could you or someone who has successfully downloaded a working iso please provide the MD5? The target machine is a Pentium III laptop with 500MHz CPU and 512Mb RAM, and eXpand "Barbie" 2.14 works fine on it, would love to kit it out properly with your latest,
With Thanks.


My copy of Legacy OS 2.1 LTS, installed on an old P3 is 697 mb and the md5 sum is....

be39a1415afb64fbbc0e47f82933ce99 MD5

0ac1bf6a22f4f44c646e8f7f13889a6094d7cee5 SHA1

56f662d2c30735f1ff22aa11ebc62096c41704d44bdcd2455fce7d7de SHA256

HTH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 568
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 22:55    Post subject:  

Thanks James C - this time around I've installed the FF add-on "Downthemall" and included your MD5 in its automatic checksum... fingers crossed I get a valid 697Mb ISO Smile Download is pretty slow at present, 20% in 5 minutes...

EDIT corrupted download. Trying again Sad ....

No - 3 failed downloads and I'm giving up - I don't have the bandwidth to waste, unfortunately.

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1514

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 08:23    Post subject:  

Another good option if you want a browser which works well in Legacy OS2 and OS2.1 is Links 2.

I'm using and posting from it (in the graphics mode) at the moment. It should still be available as a pet (I've had this one for ages).

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running New Year's Pup 02, Puppy EmSee v2.2, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.

Last edited by Colonel Panic on Wed 23 Apr 2014, 12:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5790
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 19:41    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Puppyt wrote:
John I've been able to download "Gamer", but have attempted 6 times with Legacy OS 2.1 LTS from a range of sourceforge mirrors. I repeatedly get a maximum iso size of 697mb where 730mb is otherwise reported - could you or someone who has successfully downloaded a working iso please provide the MD5? The target machine is a Pentium III laptop with 500MHz CPU and 512Mb RAM, and eXpand "Barbie" 2.14 works fine on it, would love to kit it out properly with your latest,
With Thanks.


My copy of Legacy OS 2.1 LTS, installed on an old P3 is 697 mb and the md5 sum is....

be39a1415afb64fbbc0e47f82933ce99 MD5

0ac1bf6a22f4f44c646e8f7f13889a6094d7cee5 SHA1

56f662d2c30735f1ff22aa11ebc62096c41704d44bdcd2455fce7d7de SHA256

HTH.


For whatever it's worth, my copy of Legacy OS 2.1 LTS boots and installed fine but my md5 doesn't match the one from Sourceforge.The one from Sourceforge is
ba37c23ae62bbe7927befe65ae639528
legacy.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   49.9 KB
 Viewed   482 Time(s)

legacy.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 568
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 20:24    Post subject:  

Thanks again James C,
yes, I have a match with your Sourceforge MD5 download, which is a relief. However, the other proof of the pudding is just to click on the *.iso file - a valid iso mounts immediately, whereas I get a red warning dialogue "Failed mounting or unmounting".

So I've moved ahead with Legacy Gamer 2.1 as the Opentec RapidFire3 laptop I'm resurrecting (ex military) will be relegated to a babysitting role for my pre-teen kids. Bit of a gordian knot of hardware/driver mismatches, but I've found that Upup Precise 3.7.something works OOTB with alsa etc configured. PMCIA with usb2.0 ports seems to be eluding me for all Puplets tested, not a BIOS issue so looks like another dodgey hardware purchase from China Sad

Oh - had Gamer working but without sound properly configured, did a frugal/coexist install to a ext2-partitioned IDE-adapter SD-card with 500mb swap, but got flumoxed somewhere with grub2 and then grub4dos gldr issues from Legacy. (Or was it me, more likely) Something dropped out in the install, but I'm working on it -very sporadically - Cheers Smile

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Usman55

Joined: 11 Jun 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 21:28    Post subject:  Awesome!  

I must say you've done a great job. I'm downloading this right now. Will test it out tonight. Great work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2014, 09:33    Post subject:  

Thanks for your support, Legacy OS back in the top 100 at Distrowatch.
_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1051
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Aug 2014, 14:58    Post subject:  

Very interesting project. First site I visited told me that Opera was out of date. Any way to get Firefox on this puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 403
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Tue 12 Aug 2014, 20:03    Post subject:  

Congratulations on making it back to the top 100!

Great puppy, John!

Best,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1514

PostPosted: Thu 14 Aug 2014, 16:14    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Very interesting project. First site I visited told me that Opera was out of date. Any way to get Firefox on this puppy?


Hi,

The only way I know to do that in Legacy 2 is to install Wine and then the Windows version of Firefox.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running New Year's Pup 02, Puppy EmSee v2.2, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [46 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1091s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0307s) ][ GZIP on ]