Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 10 Dec 2017, 20:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
FbBox-5.0 - Released 23 Sept 2017
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 8 [116 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 1106

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 06:23    Post subject:  

message deleted.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 1106

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 06:25    Post subject:  

hmmm, message deleted, need more coffee...
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 09:08    Post subject:
Subject description: Enable tray clock plug-in
 

Bert wrote:
Thanks for the detailed help Radky.
I checked the points ypu listed:

1. fbBox version is 2.0 OK
2. Font is contrasting white color OK
3. Used the default.bak. OK
4. Checked the code you quoted OK

Still no clock...

Hi Bert,

Make sure the tray clock plug-in is enabled in the FbPanel configuration manager.

Also, PupClockset should be version 2.3, not 2.0

Thanks
image-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.31 KB
 Viewed   538 Time(s)

image-1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 1106

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 09:55    Post subject:  

Hi Radky,

1. Yes, tray clock plug-in is and was enabled in the FbPanel configuration manager

2. I was talking about the fbBox version 2.0, which has PupClockset 2.3.1, so that should be okay.

Thanks again.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 11:14    Post subject:  

Hi Bert,

In Precise 5.7.1 the tray clock is working correctly for me in multiple test scenarios. If I understand correctly, the tray clock displayed correctly for you until recently, so possibly there is file corruption on your system.

In /usr/sbin you can use pfbpanel-bak to restore the original pfbpanel file, then load the Fbpanel configuration manager and click "Apply" to reset the configuration files.

Also, you could try installing the PupClockset-2.3.1.pet to reset the corresponding executable and configuration files, then load PupClockset and click "Set" to update the configuration files.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61633

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 1106

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 12:09    Post subject:  

Hi again Radky,

radky wrote:
In Precise 5.7.1 the tray clock is working correctly for me in multiple test scenarios. If I understand correctly, the tray clock displayed correctly for you until recently, so possibly there is file corruption on your system.

When I first installed fbBox, the clock was there in its default 12-hour notation.
When I changed it to 24 hours in PupClockset, it was gone.
Changing back to JWM, it's there again, but returning to fbBox, it's gone again.

Quote:
In /usr/sbin you can use pfbpanel-bak to restore the original pfbpanel file, then load the Fbpanel configuration manager and click "Apply" to reset the configuration files.

Did this, but no result.

Quote:
Also, you could try installing the PupClockset-2.3.1.pet to reset the corresponding executable and configuration files, then load PupClockset and click "Set" to update the configuration files.


Yes, that worked. The clock appeared again. When I clicked it to change from 12 to 24 hours and clicked "Set", it was gone again. Crying or Very sad

Just to be sure: the clock is there, it's an empty field I can click to open PupClockset. It also has the date-popup working normally.
I also checked the font color again, it's white, so should be visble on the dark background.

Changing back to 12-hour format in PCS does not bring the clock back.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 12:28    Post subject:  

Hi Bert,

What is your Locale setting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 1106

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 12:30    Post subject:  

nl_BE (Dutch for Belgium)
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 12:32    Post subject:  

Bert wrote:
nl_BE (Dutch for Belgium)


OK - I will test in your locale.

Would it be difficult for you to test in en_US ?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 13:32    Post subject:  

Hi Bert,

Testing in nl_BE, everything works correctly for me.

At the moment, I have no explanation for your invisible clock numerals in the tray clock. Maybe change the "Sans" font to "DejaVuSans" or other font in PupClockset, and change the "color name" to hexdecimal format with the color selector, such as #ffffff.

Thanks

PS - When you change the locale setting in FbBox, the restartwm utility of Puppy does not support "openbox-session" (or lxsession). So, after changing the Locale setting in quicksetup, you must restart X manually (choose the restart X option in the Shutdown manager).

Thanks

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 1106

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 14:49    Post subject:  

Somehow your intuition was right Radky!

I changed to en_US and...bingo:



The time is two hours behind Euro time, but I'm used to that Puppy feature. Wink

I'll change back to my locale and report back.
Thanks a lot.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 1106

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 15:36    Post subject:  

Okay, changed back from en_US to nl_BE in JWM, then changed to fbBox.
Problem seems solved! The 24-hour clock is there:



At first sight, problem is now solved. But is it? Radky's advice to change locales was perfect. But it seems there's still a tiny bug hidden somewhere, affecting only non-english users.

Big Thanks to you Radky, for your patience and guidance!

Best Regards,
Bert

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2015, 15:42    Post subject:  

Hi Bert,

If I understand correctly, the fbpanel developer (Anatoly Asviyan) has added localization support to SVN, but I'm not sure this is available or implemented in the official fbpanel 6.1.

http://sourceforge.net/p/fbpanel/feature-requests/70/

Thanks again! Your evaluation and recommendations are very much appreciated. Smile

BTW, the next release (FbBox-3.0) is almost finished.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Skydog007

Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 30
Location: Mt.Somewhere

PostPosted: Thu 01 Oct 2015, 00:00    Post subject: Help!  

When puppy starts into FbBox it won't let me do anything. I see a creen like normal but I cant o anything with the mouse or the keyboard. I can turn it off however. I would like to manually uninstall but don't know how. Help me please Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Thu 01 Oct 2015, 14:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
When puppy starts into FbBox it won't let me do anything. I see a creen like normal but I cant o anything with the mouse or the keyboard.

Hi Skydog007,

Please provide specifications of your installation:

1 - What is your base Puppy (example: Tahrpup 6.03, Slacko-5.9.3, Precise 5.7.1 etc)
2 - How is Puppy installed (full, frugal etc.)
3 - Motherboard specifications (example: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2400 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
4 - Video graphics (example: Intel Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0102] (rev 09))
5 - Are your mouse and keyboard wired or wireless?
6 - I assume you have rebooted, but the problem persists?
7 - If you have a frugal installion of Puppy and can't boot to a usable desktop, then try booting with the ‘puppy pfix=nox’ parameter which takes you to a command-prompt where you can type "xwin jwm" to load the standard JWM environment.
8 - If loading the JWM environment is successful, you can uninstall FbBox through the PPM (Puppy Package Manager).

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 [116 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0554s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]