Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Nov 2017, 08:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
FbBox-5.0 - Released 23 Sept 2017
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 8 [116 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
davenull

Joined: 23 Feb 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 02:07    Post subject:  

radky,

The solution above didn't work by itself, but the original one in your PM to me with the extra lines creating the missing directories did.

The directories aren't persistent, but with the lines placed in a shell script at startup...

#!/bin/bash
mkdir -p /tmp/launchbar1 /tmp/launchbar2
chown spot:spot /tmp/launchbar1
chown spot:spot /tmp/launchbar2

...Pale Moon as spot is working great across reboots so far. I'll see if any further issues arise.

Thanks so much for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 13:32    Post subject:  

Hi davenull,

Thanks for confirming your success with palemoon as spot in FbBox.

To clarify, the following code sets correct permissions for palemoon in Tahrpup, and enables launching palemoon as spot from the Puppy menu in FbBox.
Code:
ln -sf /opt/palemoon/palemoon /usr/bin/palemoon
chown -h spot:spot /usr/bin/palemoon
chown -R spot:spot /opt/palemoon

The following code enables launching palemoon as spot from fbpanel launchers, and must be set manually for FbBox-4.0. However, in the next release (FbBox-4.1) this code will be generated automatically, with no need for additional manual scripting.
Code:
mkdir -p /tmp/launchbar1 /tmp/launchbar2
chown spot:spot /tmp/launchbar1
chown spot:spot /tmp/launchbar2

Thanks again for your comments.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Tue 11 Apr 2017, 04:35    Post subject: FbBox 2.0 for Thar as default in PuppyBang Linux 6.0.3  

FbBox 2.0 for Thar as default in PuppyBang Linux 6.0.3. No Difference with version 4.0 ? If i download version 4 above version 2.0, what is happening.. Feed back soon.
fbbox.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  fbbox.jpg 
Filesize  14.87 KB 
Downloaded  80 Time(s) 

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Tue 11 Apr 2017, 14:53    Post subject:  

Removed
_________________
PupMates

Last edited by radky on Wed 12 Apr 2017, 17:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Wed 12 Apr 2017, 09:05    Post subject: i will feed back in french  

i will feed back in french in this topic by Musher0 It's much easier to explain thing in our native language. Musher0 is bi-lingual,
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Mon 17 Apr 2017, 08:00    Post subject: a fbbox 4.0 bug?  

Hi Radky,

I've been putting FbBox-4.0 as the 'default' desktop manager in various woof-Ce builds I've done the past several days, and it all has been working quite good. Upon initial boot, user never sees anything jwm-related and fbbox-4.0 sets ups completely to its default settings & all its glory.

Anyhow, on a build I did just yesterday, a Slacko32 with kernel 4.1.11, all was working great, and then something weird happened, I'll recount the steps here exactly:

1) Via MENU button, I slid up and opened the "Control Center" for Fbbox Control Center"

2) Slid over to the "Settings" tab & clicked it

3) Wanted to modify the "Time Format"

4) In "Time Format", I elected (on the 2nd tab) to use "Custom"

5) I entered exactly "%d %b %n %I:%H:%S PM", and hit 'set' to set up this time format in the tray. It set itself up perfectly, showing on two lines in the fbpanel bttom tray beside the volume button:

17 APR
01:44:16 pm


6) I then closed the Fbbox Control Center out, and was using the browser for a half hour Googling something.

7) I then looked back at the time in the bottom tray panel, and realized I forget to put "%a" in front of "%d....." so that the 3 letter "day" abbreviation would also show.

Cool So, I repeated the process/steps above, and added "%a" in front of %d %b %n %I:%H:%S PM listed above.

9) I hit 'set', and then that's when 1st thte time disappeared in the tray panel, and 2nd, the "Time Format" in FBBoxCC completely quit functioning...it became unresponsive, and has stayed that way despite reboots and multiple times restarting both WM and X. The worse part is whatever adding the '%a' did, it completely wiped the time out of my tray panel, and it is like it never existed before, and I've no way to tell time by quickly glancing at the tray, Even the space for it beside volume is gone .. Sad


I search through /root/config and also .fbpanel looking for something/anything that went wrong, and/or trying to override whatever happened (like you can do in .jwm files), but I can find nothing in the fbpanel folders/files I've found to correct this, let alone know what went wrong.

Would you have any idea what happened? Did adding the "%a" cause some self-destruct sequence to initiate and thus permanently disable having time in the bottom tray panel and/or having it even work when you open FbBox CC, Settings, and click on "Time Format'??? Why would fbBox show "%d %b %n %I:%H:%S PM" perfectly, but then completely crash & wipe itself when I added "%a" to get the three letter day abbreviation? To reiterate again,, clicking "Time Format' in FCC is completely dead and unresponsive, and I can't figure out how to get at least a basic time version back in the bottom fbpanel tray. Reboots, restarts, windowmgr restarts and X restarts do nothing. FDbBox-4.0 time is gone from the system it seems, lol.

Let me know what you think....I'd hate to have to do a complete rebuild just to get this working Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Mon 17 Apr 2017, 14:29    Post subject:  

Hi belham2,

Fbpanel reads the current clock format from the "ClockFmt" line of $HOME/.config/fbpanel/default.

If the strftime code of this line is corrupt, the clock may become unresponsive.

For your selected strftime code, you should see something like the following in $HOME/.config/fbpanel/default and /usr/local/PupClockset/fbpanelClockFmt:

Code:
ClockFmt = <span font-family="Sans" size="medium" weight="normal" style="normal" color="white">%a %d %b %n %I:%H:%S PM</span>


Also, you should see something like the following in /usr/local/PupClockset/fbp.rc, /usr/local/PupClockset/clock-variables.rc and /usr/local/PupClockset/clock-variables2.rc

Code:
FBPFONT_STRING="%a %d %b %n %I:%H:%S PM"


Please make any necessary corrections in those files, then restart X and check the panel clock.

If the problem persists, please try "grep -a" to force parsing the non-ASCII input string as text:

Go to line #70 of /usr/local/PupClockset/func

and change
Code:
grep ClockFmt $FBPANEL > $WORKDIR/fbpanelClockFmt

to
Code:
grep -a ClockFmt $FBPANEL > $WORKDIR/fbpanelClockFmt


---

In the recent betas of Slacko-7.0 I have noticed some scripts fail unexpectedly when parsed strings contain certain special characters or perhaps a specific sequence of special characters.

One possible explanation for this behavior is the altered binary-detection heuristics of grep >= 2.21, in which case some scripts may fail when grep fails.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=924668#924668

_________________
PupMates

Last edited by radky on Wed 19 Apr 2017, 17:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 03:26    Post subject:  

radky wrote:
Hi belham2,

Fbpanel reads the current clock format from the "ClockFmt" line of $HOME/.config/fbpanel/default.

If the strftime code of this line is corrupt, the clock may become unresponsive.

For your selected strftime code, you should see something like the following in $HOME/.config/fbpanel/default and /usr/local/PupClockset/fbpanelClockFmt:

Code:
ClockFmt = <span font-family="Sans" size="medium" weight="normal" style="normal" color="white">%a %d %b %n %I:%H:%S PM</span>


Also, you should see something like the following in /usr/local/PupClockset/fbp.rc, /usr/local/PupClockset/clock-variables.rc and /usr/local/PupClockset/clock-variables2.rc

Code:
FBPFONT_STRING="%a %d %b %n %I:%H:%S PM"


Please make any necessary corrections in those files, then restart X and check the panel clock.

If the problem persists, please try "grep -a" to force parsing as a binary file rather than a text file:

Go to line #70 of /usr/local/PupClockset/func

and change
Code:
grep ClockFmt $FBPANEL > $WORKDIR/fbpanelClockFmt

to
Code:
grep -a ClockFmt $FBPANEL > $WORKDIR/fbpanelClockFmt





Hi Radky,

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Interestingly, I had found the PupClockset folder in /usr/local/, but didn't quite know what to change.

When I looked closely, this is what I found:

1. fbp.rc - it was completely empty, like it had been blanked. So I copied what was in the "fbx.rc" file, and just changed the "x" to "p" and then made sure the "CLOCKVAR#" were numbered 1-8.

2. Clock-variables2.rc - the file started at "CLOCKVAR9="true", and also anything stating "FBPFONT #####" did not exist. I copied the entries for "FBXFONT....." & created new 1-8 "CLOCKVAR", setting them the same as all the others.

3. Clock-variables.rc - this file was exactly like "clock-variables2.rc" above. Made the same changes.

4. fbpanelClockFmt - in this file, all the entries were there, but the variables description (between the "") were blank. Re-entered the missing desc variables between the "" using what you wrote.

5. /root/.config/fbpanel/default - on line 1109 (using Geany), the "ClockFmt" had every "" set as empty (same as #4 above). So I also re-entered everything on this line, following what you wrote closely.


After doing all this, I re-started X, and for a brief second (as X re-started), the clock came back but then as X finished loading, it immediately disappeared again.

I then went back into all the 1 -5 files above, and again, they all had either been blanked and/or the variable(s) description entires in- between the "" were blanked. So, once again I re-entered everything again in steps 1 -5 above.

Then, before re-starting X this time, I went to line #70 of /usr/local/PupClockset/func , and changed "grep..." to "grep -a....". I re-started X, crossed my fingers, and thankfully the clock came back & is appearing & working normally now. It seems my experience support what your suspicion thinks about recent editions of slacko 700: this has happened in no other builds I have done, not in Tahrs, Xenials, or dpup-stretch. It only has happened in slacko builds I have done the past 8-10 days, and it doesn't appear to matter if the slacko 700 builds are 32- and/or 64-bit.

Woof-CE overall Slacko builds are having some worrisome issues, almost turning me & others off to Slacko completely...for example, like this issue. Add in other issues like Xorg integration problems, kernel madness, and the mishandling of the 14.1 to 14.2 repos (a user cannot even install something simple like "conky' using the PPM without it failing and/or crashing that slacko OS you are on)....it is disappointing overall what has happened or is happening to Slacko woof-CE these past 12 months. Hope Micko can restore sanity & order to woof-CE Slacko builds and those builders who depend on Slacko to build their own OS variation. It's strange how now I consider the woof-CE builds of Tahrs and Xenials as the "stable" builds, and all "Slacko" builds as "unstable". Never ever thought I'd write THAT sentence..... Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 14:57    Post subject:  

Hi belham2,

Thanks for testing the fbpanel clock-fix, and for confirming the potential problems grep >= 2.21 may pose for some scripts in recent pups.

Some of the utlities in FbBox, such as PupClockset and PupSnap, parse special characters in various input strings, so the new 'grep' may fail in those scripts. The GNU grep developers are aware of potential issues with the new binary-detection heuristics of grep >= 2.21, but it seems there are no plans to change this behavior.

Consequently, for PupClockset and PupSnap, I will prepare updates that should (hopefully) provide compatibility with the new Slacko-7 series.

Thanks

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Sat 23 Sep 2017, 10:28    Post subject:
Subject description: FbBox-5.0
 

FbBox-5.0
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=769018#769018

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3265
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 25 Sep 2017, 19:29    Post subject: FbBox-5.0 - Released 23 Sept 2017  

Hi
Thanks for the new release, just giving it a try in xenialpup64.
*************************************************************
EDIT: I've changed to the sysinfobar, takes less room on the screen and all the info is there.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   72.25 KB
 Viewed   138 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   45.23 KB
 Viewed   161 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Mon 25 Sep 2017, 23:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Mon 25 Sep 2017, 21:10    Post subject:  

Hi Bill,

Thanks for testing the new FbBox desktop. Smile

I know you are a big fan of conky and gkrellm, but you might try the built-in SysInfoBar which features desktop system monitors plus optional sysinfo tooltips.

Thanks
sysinfobar.png
 Description   
 Filesize   15.78 KB
 Viewed   155 Time(s)

sysinfobar.png

cpu_tooltip.png
 Description   
 Filesize   18.89 KB
 Viewed   155 Time(s)

cpu_tooltip.png


_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3265
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 02 Oct 2017, 16:57    Post subject: FbBox-5.0 - Released 23 Sept 2017  

radky wrote:
Hi Bill,

Thanks for testing the new FbBox desktop. Smile

I know you are a big fan of conky and gkrellm, but you might try the built-in SysInfoBar which features desktop system monitors plus optional sysinfo tooltips.

Thanks


I'm using it on another pup using dual monitors, I like it Smile

Thanks again.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.04 KB
 Viewed   110 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
augras

Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1456
Location: france

PostPosted: Sat 07 Oct 2017, 10:53    Post subject:  

Hi radky,
I just see your new FbBox : Thanks for all this hard work.
I download it and will make you a feed back.
Philippe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
augras

Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1456
Location: france

PostPosted: Sun 08 Oct 2017, 04:07    Post subject:  

Hi radky,
Your FbBox works fine on Triton6.0, a remastered tarhpup6.0.5 by petihar.
Only 2 things :
- PupClockset have the same problem that i told you few months ago : when the clock display is changed nothing in the taskbar ; if you remember it's a problem in the french langpack, like in the spanish one ; i took the .mo that you have made at this time and it works fine ; but it's a .mo for the 2.5 version and it seems that some translations lake or are different.
- maybe you remember also that the marges in obconf are erased by fbpanel : you told me that it will works in the next FbBox, but it doesn' work.
It's just to let you know about these 2 things.
Thanks again,
Philippe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 8 [116 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1129s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0137s) ][ GZIP on ]