Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 07:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
DebianDog - beta changed to stable version
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 29 [426 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2014, 15:43    Post subject:
Subject description: somthing strange with mounting of drive with /live on it
 

Okay, I am using the xfce version with porteus boot with changes directory, save on exit only. When I get logged in, sda3 (the partition with my /live directory) is already mounted. When I open it, it takes me to /mnt/live/memory/images/changes-exit instead of sda3.

However, when I ran "create module from changes" (which worked great btw), it then changed and was mounted to sda3 like it should be. This is even if I cancel out of it before I let it create the squashfs file.

When I tried to unmount it, I got this error.

Code:
Error umounting volume sda3: Script exited with exitcode 1
Output:
umount: /mnt/live/memory/images/changes-exit: device is busy.
        (In some cases useful info about processes that use
         the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))
umount: /mnt/live/mnt/sda3: device is busy.
        (In some cases useful info about processes that use
         the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))


The menu.1st entry I am using is:

Code:
title PorteusDog changes=EXIT:/live/
root (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,2)/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/ changes=EXIT:/live/
initrd (hd0,2)/live/initrd1.xz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2446
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2014, 16:16    Post subject:
Subject description: somthing strange with mounting of drive with /live on it
 

Hi, Dancytron.
dancytron wrote:
When I tried to unmount it, I got this error

The error is because it is the boot partition. It can not be unmounted while using /live folder.

Quote:
When I open it, it takes me to /mnt/live/memory/images/changes-exit instead of sda3.

I guess Fred will give better answer. It seems the same situation as using live-rw save file with live-boot-v2 which was solved with mnt-backing script. I think starting "create module from changes" (remastercow-porteus) restores the mount point to sda3.
I will test this situation tomorrow with both versions.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2014, 17:31    Post subject:  

okay, thanks.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2446
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2014, 17:36    Post subject:  

Edit: Thank you for testing. Seems there is a problem with amd64 module. No more testing needed for now. I will open this subject again when I'm ready to continue.

Hi, all.

Test on AMD64 processor needed. Unfortunately I do not have one. If someone can do the test sometime it will be great.

Make DebianDog frugal install. Download this archive and extract it in /live:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/DebianDog/Extra-modules/026-kernel-3.2.0-4-486-amd64.zip
This is kernel 3.2.0-4-486-amd64 module.
Use this boot code (sda1 for example). Note vmlinuz6 and initrd6.img:
Code:
title DebianDog Wheezy AMD64 live-boot-3x (sda1)
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /live/vmlinuz6 boot=live config persistence swapon quickreboot noeject autologin showmounts
initrd /live/initrd6.img

I need only test for now if DebianDog boots this way on AMD64 and if the installed programs start/work.
Thanks in advance!

Toni

Edit: Thank you for testing. Seems there is a problem with amd64 module. No more testing needed for now. I will open this subject again when I'm ready to continue.

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...

Last edited by saintless on Fri 18 Apr 2014, 02:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5028
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2014, 18:56    Post subject:  

Toni; I`ll do a test on my Athlon 64. It may take a little time, I`ll let you know...

# Update: Bad news...

1) deb-installer does not work for me, select /live & part., click [Install] and it does nothing.
"ps -A" shows that it appears to be stalled, I don`t know why.

2) After manually installing your setup my Athlon64 won`t recognize the USB drives.
All of the installs boot on my Pentium-D PC. So the Athlon must have BIOS issues.
The Athlon failed booting installs on several USB drives. I doubt it will work. Sorry...

# I`ll see if Olga`s HP laptop is an AMD 64 cpu ( it`s dual core ), when she gets home.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2014, 23:30    Post subject:
Subject description: somthing strange with mounting of drive with /live on it
 

dancytron wrote:
Okay, I am using the xfce version with porteus boot with changes directory, save on exit only. When I get logged in, sda3 (the partition with my /live directory) is already mounted. When I open it, it takes me to /mnt/live/memory/images/changes-exit instead of sda3.


Hi dancytron.

The result is actually the same using porteus boot method in the jwm version. But instead of clicking on boot device itself, I just always go to /mnt/home to open the filesystem on the boot device in xfe or rox.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2446
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 01:49    Post subject:  

Hi, Terry!
sunburnt wrote:
1) deb-installer does not work for me, select /live & part., click [Install] and it does nothing.
"ps -A" shows that it appears to be stalled, I don`t know why.

It works fine for me for iso and /live folder. Just tested again on ext4 and ext2 usb stick.
Does anyone else who tested the installer have similar as Terry's problem?

Quote:
2) After manually installing your setup my Athlon64 won`t recognize the USB drives.
All of the installs boot on my Pentium-D PC. So the Athlon must have BIOS issues.
The Athlon failed booting installs on several USB drives. I doubt it will work. Sorry...

Thank you, Terry. At least it was worth trying. I guess it is possible some module for usb support also missing in the module and this could be the problem. But it is strange I can boot amd64 module till I get message my processor is not compatible. I will stop with amd64 trials till I get proper hardware for this.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 02:17    Post subject:  

Thanks for a very interesting and impressive puppy.
Quote:
Test on AMD64 processor needed.
On VIA Nano U2250 processor, with AMD 64 kernel, booted to desktop but no mouse or keyboard response. As far as I have tested, the porteus-boot version works except that the wireless card is not recognized.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2446
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 02:23    Post subject:  

Wognath wrote:
Quote:
Test on AMD64 processor needed.
On VIA Nano U2250 processor, with AMD 64 kernel, booted to desktop but no mouse or keyboard response. As far as I have tested, the porteus-boot version works except that the wireless card is not recognized.


Thank you, Wognath!
Can you just confirm you used vmlinuz6 and initrd6.img in your boot code similar to this one. None responding mouse and keyboard sounds like wrong initrd is in use:
Code:
title DebianDog Wheezy live-boot-3x (sda1)
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /live/vmlinuz6 boot=live config persistence swapon quickreboot noeject autologin showmounts
initrd /live/initrd6.img


Anyway I will edit the message for testing amd64. I will continue with this when I get proper hardware to test it.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
giannis4

Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 06:54    Post subject:  

I ve downloaded the DebianDog-Porteus-openbox_xfce-beta.iso,burned it to usb but when I am trying to boot from it I have an error about invalid kernel.Is this means that its not for my hardware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2446
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 07:20    Post subject:  

giannis4 wrote:
I ve downloaded the DebianDog-Porteus-openbox_xfce-beta.iso,burned it to usb but when I am trying to boot from it I have an error about invalid kernel.Is this means that its not for my hardware?

Hi, giannis4.
It is hard to tell without some more information.
First make sure the md5sum check is the same to be sure the download is good.
Is it the same "invalid kernel" message with any of the 3 boot options (initrd.img, initrd1.img, initrd1.xz)?
Please, post your boot code here and give some information what is your hardware.
In the meantime try this kernel:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/DebianDog/System-modules/023-kernel-3.9.11-porteus.zip
Download the archive and extract it in /live folder on your usb. Use this boot code (note you need to use initrd3.xz and vmlinuz3):
Code:
title PorteusDog (installed on sda1)
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/live/vmlinuz3 noauto from=/
initrd (hd0,0)/live/initrd3.xz


Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
giannis4

Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 08:10    Post subject:  

Sorry I cant follow your directions.Too much for me.I ve tried to extract the zip file where you have told me to but I got an error.I havent the same experience with other puppy versions,for example slacko is working without any manual configuration.I just burned the iso and thats it,done.I am not a programmer,I am a regular user and this is very confusing for me and a waste of time.Anyway thanks for your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 08:48    Post subject:  

giannis4 wrote:
burned it to usb


Actually, I'm a bit lost as to what 'burned to usb' means. I would ask if giannis4 meant "burned to CD" but if slacko is running and happy with that then that's good.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2446
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 09:13    Post subject:  

Small bug fixed in initrd1.xz for porteus-boot only.
Both iso versions replaced with new ones.
No need to download the iso again if you already did that.
Just replace initrd1.xz with this one:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/DebianDog/Extra-modules/initrd1.xz

dancytron wrote:
When I get logged in, sda3 (the partition with my /live directory) is already mounted. When I open it, it takes me to /mnt/live/memory/images/changes-exit instead of sda3.

Fred made fix for this. It is included in the new iso.
Replace /usr/local/bin/mountlink with the one from this archive:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/DebianDog/Extra-modules/mountlink.zip

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
giannis4

Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Fri 18 Apr 2014, 09:24    Post subject:  

mcewanw wrote:
giannis4 wrote:
burned it to usb


Actually, I'm a bit lost as to what 'burned to usb' means. I would ask if giannis4 meant "burned to CD" but if slacko is running and happy with that then that's good.


You know what I mean.Dont be arrogant,because I can be too.Sorry for my English...not my native language you see.I bet you cant speak mine also.
Oh,I see whats your problem is.I should have said "I ve created a bootable USB".Is that correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 29 [426 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1159s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0103s) ][ GZIP on ]