Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 23:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
QEMU Launcher + 32 bit QEMU pet and sfs
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 10 [147 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9017

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2014, 07:41    Post subject:  

Ok name has change so perhaps just unpack and click on it.

If it goes well the original pet will be updated and it might qualify as a beta release then Smile

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4502
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2014, 08:45    Post subject:  

Without uninstalling the existing PET, I moved the qemu_gui from /root/spot to /usr/bin. Here are the results:
Code:
bash-4.1# which qemu_gui
/usr/bin/qemu_gui
<root> ~
bash-4.1# qemu_gui
/usr/bin/qemu_gui: line 4: =/usr/bin/qemu-system-i386: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/qemu_gui: line 5: =/usr/bin/qemu-system-x86_64: No such file or directory
<root> ~
bash-4.1# echo "edit both lines 4-5 removing the '=' signs"
edit both lines 4-5 removing the '=' signs
<root> ~
bash-4.1# qemu_gui
<root> ~
bash-4.1#echo "No messages, BUT, no Menu. AND the utility opens a virtual PC without parameters. When guest is closed, a 2nd guest is opened. Closing a 2nd, returns to terminal."
No messages, BUT, no Menu. AND the utility opens a virtual PC without parameters. When guest is closed, a 2nd guest is opened. Closing a 2nd, returns to terminal.
 <root> ~
bash-4.1#
Editing the file and removing the "=" signs, it immediately goes directly to booting a virtual PC without any apparent parameters....twice! before returning to original terminal window.

Launching from the Menu>Utility>QEMU ... continues to execute the old version window with window titlebar and options in the window, still showing same as before.

Need review.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9017

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2014, 12:38    Post subject:  

OK should have been QEMU= and not $QEMU= .... mornings are not my strong point and blind testing means things like this slip by...
I reuploaded in the post so redownload for retest

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4502
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2014, 00:00    Post subject:  

Problem with latest version 0.2:
  1. Downloaded Launcher
  2. extracted Launcher
  3. moved Launcher to /usr/bin
  4. Open terminal and typed /usr/bin/qemu_gui
  5. filled in the ISO name, selected RAM, and clicked to run.
  6. Error without booting ISO (see below)
Your review.
Latest Launcher GUI.png
 Description   Line 18 errors out
 Filesize   184.59 KB
 Viewed   341 Time(s)

Latest Launcher GUI.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9017

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2014, 13:20    Post subject:  

Right then .. no mysterious bugs going on so I have a clear head...helps a lot.

Made a logical blunder with qemu binary detection...2 for 2 Very Happy

While I was in there I redid the /dev/shm setup especially as most pups now have it anyway.

Now its only created if there is none and its only resized if not sufficient for the virtual ram requested.

This and a couple of other things should stop any bogus error messages,

Since its modded it gets a new number and hopefully THIS TIME all runs and we can progress to other matters and make a fresh pet of it

if not I wish to move to a deserted island and write my memoirs

Also I think incorporating kqemu and kvm in the same gui might get confusing so will probably keep separate.

mike
qemu_gui-0.2.1.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  qemu_gui-0.2.1.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.75 KB 
Downloaded  79 Time(s) 

Last edited by mikeb on Sun 11 May 2014, 08:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4502
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2014, 16:22    Post subject:  

Further along in the GUI, V021. But, here's current results:
Code:
bash-4.1# echo "download and extract to root user app folder. Check system path"
download and extract to root user app folder. Check system path
bash-4.1# which qemu_gui
/root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
bash-4.1# qemu_gui
sh: 1075200
1075200
   above repeated 16 times
1075200
1075200 - 26624 : syntax error in expression (error token is "1075200
1075200
   above repeated 16 times
1075200
1075200 - 26624 ")
killall: qemu: no process killed
BOOTDEV="false"
BOOTDEV2="true"
CDROM="/mnt/Downloads/Puppy/01Micko/Slacko/32bit/V57/slacko-5.7.0-PAE.iso"
FILE_BROWSE_SAVEFILENAME=""
FILE_BROWSE_SAVEFILENAME2=""
FILE_BROWSE_SAVEFILENAME3=""
IMAGE="/media/NAS/LinuxBoots/vHDDs/Storage1.disk"
IMAGE2=""
KVM="true"
MEM="768"
NORMAL="true"
SIZE=""
VNC="false"
EXIT="EXIT-QUIT"
<root> ~
bash-4.1# echo "GUI does not start the virtual Guest."
GUI does not start the virtual Guest.
GUI pic below
Wont run this.png
 Description   
 Filesize   90.11 KB
 Viewed   282 Time(s)

Wont run this.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9017

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2014, 08:44    Post subject:  

Ok for some reason after successful testing I decided that $(( MEM * 1024 )) needed a $ on the MEM... mental lapse there...

reuploaded.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4502
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2014, 13:44    Post subject:  

Here's current results:
Code:
bash-4.1# ls -l /root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4505 May 10 15:08 /root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
<root> ~
bash-4.1# ls -l /root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4504 May 11 10:41 /root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
<root> ~
bash-4.1# which qemu_gui
/root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
<root> ~
bash-4.1# qemu_gui
sh: 1075200
     o
     o
     o
Same report as before. Same outcome: "Not lauching VM guest."
Unpack Launcher.png
 Description   Filedate
 Filesize   47.88 KB
 Viewed   268 Time(s)

Unpack Launcher.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9017

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2014, 14:13    Post subject:  

Hmm curious...
I can boot with my qemu no problem now and shmfs is set to the correct value.

the sh: 1075200
suggests bash is not interpreting correctly .... is there something about the handling of such as
Code:
MEM=128
[ "`mount | grep shmfs`" == "" ]&& mount -t tmpfs -o size=154m shmfs /dev/shm

OR
Code:
[ $(( MEM * 1024 )) -gt $(( `df | grep shmfs | awk '{ print $2}'` - 26624 )) ]&& mount -t tmpfs -o remount,size="$(( MEM + 26 ))m" shmfs /dev/shm

I need to know about...more specifically $(( {numeric evaluation } )) ? I have bash 3.1 for testing yours is 4.1
Otherwise what is the output of mount and df when there is shm enabled?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4502
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2014, 20:10    Post subject:  

OK, up until now, I had done all of my testing on a LH64-602 desktop with the results shown in this thread.

I booted my FATDOG630 on my laptop, and am including the results below. Note: This shows use of a smaller ISO and ALSO no other changes in the default selections you present in the GUI window. The ISO was booted in the VM Guest. This code AND the picture below shows those results:
Code:
# echo $SHELL
/bin/sh
# which qemu_gui
# echo "ROX copy qemu_gui to this system"
# which qemu_gui
/root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
# ls -l /root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4504 May 11 10:41 /root/my-applications/bin/qemu_gui
# qemu_gui
BOOTDEV="true"
BOOTDEV2="false"
CDROM="/mnt/mynas/Downloads/Puppy/Rufwoof/s533t.iso"
FILE_BROWSE_SAVEFILENAME=""
FILE_BROWSE_SAVEFILENAME2=""
FILE_BROWSE_SAVEFILENAME3=""
IMAGE=""
IMAGE2=""
KVM="true"
MEM="128"
NORMAL="true"
SIZE=""
VNC="false"
EXIT="EXIT-QUIT"
# mount
   o
   o
   o
   o
shmfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=157696k)
# df
Filesystem               1K-blocks       Used Available Use% Mounted on
devtmpfs                   1740636          4   1740632   1% /dev
tmpfs                      1895152       3604   1891548   1% /aufs/pup_init
   o
   o
   o
tmpfs                       157696          0    157696   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs                      1895152        368   1894784   1% /tmp
   o
   o
shmfs                       157696          0    157696   0% /dev/shm
# bash --version
GNU bash, version 4.2.20(2)-release (x86_64-t2-linux-gnu)
Copyright (C) 2011 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>

This is free software; you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.
#
Also note the "SHELL" and the bash version.
ONLY add ISO-boots_BUT_slow128MB.png
 Description   terminal calls GUI. Add ISO and click RUN to get VM Guest
 Filesize   122.7 KB
 Viewed   169 Time(s)

ONLY add ISO-boots_BUT_slow128MB.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4502
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2014, 20:20    Post subject:  

Future idea
If possible, it would be potentially useful if the qemu execution command/command-attempts could be posted when run from the terminal.

Current problem status
  • The GUI is successful in FATDOG with changes appropriately made for VM guest resources.
  • Looks like the problem is local to the LH64 distro that I am running
Here to help
ONLY add ISO-boots_withGUIchanges.png
 Description   Change RAM and boot device
 Filesize   99.92 KB
 Viewed   231 Time(s)

ONLY add ISO-boots_withGUIchanges.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9017

PostPosted: Mon 12 May 2014, 08:45    Post subject:  

Hmm ok so I am not going mad....

LH64 not handling the script in the expected way.

Ok well since i do have that on one machine for testing I can compare results even if I cannot get qemu itself running.

Since its working on fatdog I will make into a fresh pet now and add the echo of the command line for you

Did it appear that kvm itself was working?... I would assume as such since no error messes were generated.

mike

edit ..pet updated to 0.2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2520
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 12 May 2014, 11:00    Post subject:  

you not going mad? looks like you are juggling multiple threads this morning you and JB are cross posting all over the place... Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2520
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 12 May 2014, 11:06    Post subject:  

Since the three guys with the most skills are here let me post a neat seg way to implement something cool..while reading up on QEMU I learned it can live migrate with nsf file system between two machines of different hardware. I wanted my little Mele to be a file server since it draws the least amount of watts and has sata drive support built in to hardware. So any takers in playing with this idea?
I lack the required skills to set this up but JB gcmartin and yourself know how each of the parts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9017

PostPosted: Mon 12 May 2014, 11:14    Post subject:  

You mean NFS ?

If so yes it works...just needs the 'insecure' parameter adding to exports plus you connect to iirc 10.0.2.15 not 10.0.2.2 or vice versa ie not the obvious one but its been a while....
Not tried this over a LAN but in theory should work ..qemu becomes part of the host machine in network terms.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 10 [147 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0935s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]