Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 00:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to use TurboPrint 2.15 in Puppy? (Solved)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2943
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 20:37    Post_subject:  How to use TurboPrint 2.15 in Puppy? (Solved)
Sub_title: Returns strange errors -- printed document of 0 pages, or spooler canceled job...
 

At rcrsn51's insistence, I've started a new thread about this.

Background posts here (links below)... please read them all. I'm not retyping everything.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=774346#774346
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=774378#774378
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=774736#774736
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=774838#774838
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=775122#775122
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=775232#775232
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=777067#777067
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=777084#777084
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=777215#777215
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=778149#778149

The situation at this point is this: I cannot print from this printer. Most of the time the "error" is that it claims it printed -- a print job 0 pages long, apparently containing nothing, since the printer does not engage -- the status LED does not even blink! (It blinks green when it prints, green + amber when there's an issue, steady green when nothing's happening.) Sometimes I get an error that the job was canceled by the print spooler.

What do I do to fix this? Please help...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 20:44    Post_subject:  

This testing was done with a clean frugal install of Slacko 56. Be aware that TurboPrint is large and will eat up your savefile.

1. Go here and install debbi-1.1.pet.

2. Go to the TurboPrint site and download the Ubuntu/Debian package. Do NOT try to click-install it!

3. Run the command:
Code:
adduser -HDG lp lp

Ignore the "can't find" message.

4. Open a terminal and install TurboPrint with
Code:
debbi turboprint_2.33-1_i386.deb

5. Run the CUPS wizard.

6. Under Add Printer, select the device identified as TP-USB.

7. Under Make, click on Select Another Make/Manufacturer. Choose a TurboPrint category.

8. Complete the CUPS setup.

Note: If you have previously tried to install TurboPrint, possibly by clicking on its .deb file, you may be able to get it working by running:

Code:
adduser -HDG lp lp
cancel -a
/etc/init.d/cups restart
/etc/init.d/tpdaemon restart

If it still doesn't work, run Step 4. Then delete and re-install your printer in CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2943
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 21:50    Post_subject:  

[SOLVED] will edit first post shortly.

Here's what I did...

(1)
Quote:
adduser -HDG lp lp
cancel -a
/etc/init.d/cups restart
/etc/init.d/tpdaemon restart

...did not work Sad
(2) Opened CUPS. There were two installed Canon i9900's. Removed the one that didn't call itself tp0.
(3) Deleted and reinstalled the Canon from TurboPrint.
(4) Deleted the tp0 Canon from CUPS, reinstalled using your instructions -- select the TP_USB (or something like that) Canon in CUPS, *NOT* the plain Jane "Canon i9900". Then for the driver select CANON (TurboPrint). Set the default stuff.
(5) Noticed that the TP driver insisted on being unregistered. Hmm. I've got a *.tpkey file, and the program knows it.
(6) Attempted to register the *.tpkey file again -- it failed, of course, my WiFi adapter stayed downstairs, so no 'Net.
(7) Walked to where I could get a connection (barely) with the horribly anemic internal card. Reregistered *.tpkey file yet again. This time it worked -- for reals. I printed a "demo page" and it worked!

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY I can print from that printer. You know, if that was just another printer, at this point it'd be on Craigslist -- but that printer is one that can print on 11"x17" paper (aka Tabloid or Double size paper) and it's the only one I have. Mom got it at Staples YEARS ago for a rather princely sum -- and that was on clearance! Hard to believe, but Canon was not interested --at that time, don't know about now-- in the "inkjet model" of selling things (aka cheap printer, expensive ink)...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 22:55    Post_subject:  

Please change the title of this thread to "How to Use the TurboPrint Driver Package in Puppy"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2943
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 23:30    Post_subject:  

I've changed it, although not verbatim to what you've asked for. I'd like to be a little more accurate...

NOTE FOR ALL USERS AND WOULD-BE USERS.
I'm using TurboPrint 2.15 (obsolete version) in X-Slacko 1.1. I am using the full version. I do not recommend obtaining the full version in the manner which I used to obtain it (which I will leave for you to guess).

I guarantee nothing here, except that it works for me, right now, with my specific configuration, hardware, version of TurboPrint, and Puplet Of Choice. TBH, I don't even know what I did right -- I don't know how I fixed it!

'YMMV' is kind of an understatement here.

Good luck, everybody.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 20 May 2014, 00:49    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
I don't know how I fixed it!

Since you were able to fix it on your own, why did you keep demanding help from me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2943
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 20 May 2014, 01:19    Post_subject:  

You *did* help. I wouldn't have gotten any farther without your suggestions. I had basically given up at that point.
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0687s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]