Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 10:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
TahrPup 5.8.4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 40 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5864
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2014, 00:31    Post_subject:  

However, frugal install no problem on this old Intel box.booted fine.

Code:
VIDEO REPORT: TahrPup, version 5.8.0.8

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 extmod glx kbd mouse

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh.  The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
379 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.754 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.140 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.146 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.143 FPS
377 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.344 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.138 FPS


-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Memory : 2065MB (211MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : TahrPup - 5.8.0.8
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 06 Jun 2014 11:31:17 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI Intel(R) 865G x86/MMX/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel ICH5
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5864
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2014, 00:35    Post_subject:  

Back to the Nvidia box......... booting the cd pfix=nox (using the savefile) and choosing the nouveau driver does get to a working correct desktop.

More fun testing later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5864
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2014, 00:44    Post_subject:  

JWM Config now working.....
5.8.0.8.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   85.24 KB
 Viewed   1180 Time(s)

5.8.0.8.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2014, 13:03    Post_subject: 5.8.0.8  

5.8.0.8

Cups doesn't recognize my USB 1050 Deskjet All-In-One printer. Tried with 3-11 and 3-14 drivers and latest foo update from rscn51's thread. Even Blacklisted 'usblp' no-go so reinstalled it again, no-go.

PPM lists some packages as 'installed' but in fact they are not, a reinstall of the package corrects the issue.

Overall. a nice puppy so far, fast and so far everything else works fine... still testing though!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 06:45    Post_subject: immodules.cache  

Tahr Puppy 5.8.0.8 and recent Puppies have /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules and a link to it at /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/gtk.immodules.
But the Gtk2 in Tahr Puppy 5.8.0.8 actually looks /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodules.cache instead.

To see what happens:
1. Launch the Osmo('plan' icon on the desktop).
2. Open 'Notes' tab.
3. Add a note with any name.
4. Double click the new note.
5. Right click on the note editor.
6. Select 'Input Methods'.
You can see no options.

Make a link /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodules.cache pointing /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules, you can find options for the 'Input Methods'.
osmo_input_methods.png
 Description   Osmo has no Input Methods options at initial state.
 Filesize   6.38 KB
 Viewed   939 Time(s)

osmo_input_methods.png

immodules_cache.png
 Description   Make a link /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodules.cache pointing /etc/gtk-2.0/gtk.immodules,
 Filesize   4.03 KB
 Viewed   845 Time(s)

immodules_cache.png


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 07:02    Post_subject: Google Chrome on Tahr Puppy  

Tried Google Chrome portable on the Tahr Puppy 5.8.0.8.
It shows lacking dependency.

Copied /lib/libudev.so.1 to /lib/libudev.so.0. The Google Chrome works.
chrome_error.png
 Description   Shows libudev.so.0 is missing.
 Filesize   2.03 KB
 Viewed   849 Time(s)

chrome_error.png


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 12:56    Post_subject: Tahr Puppy  

Manual frugal install to a 400x sdhc card.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 9 Jun 2014 on TahrPup 5.8.0.8 Linux 3.12.2 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 220] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GT216 Board - 0682vb12 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.15.1
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1049x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 220/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.17

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz
Core 0: @2003 1: @2003 MHz

I installed the proprietary Nvidia driver.

Not having much luck installing applications from PPM, kdegames
installed but doesn't run, xbmc-12.3 also installed but doesn't run.

getflash,resize savefile,and jwmconfig are all working now.

Thanks

# kpat
kpat(23885)/kdeui (kdelibs): Session bus not found
To circumvent this problem try the following command (with Linux and bash)
export $(dbus-launch)
KCrash: Application 'kpat' crashing...
KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/drkonqi from kdeinit
sock_file=/root/.kde/socket-My-Thinkcentre/kdeinit4__0
Warning: connect() failed: : No such file or directory
KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/drkonqi directly
drkonqi(23915)/kdeui (kdelibs): Session bus not found
To circumvent this problem try the following command (with Linux and bash)
export $(dbus-launch)
Unable to start Dr. Konqi
Not forwarding the crash to Apport.
#
# xbmc
/usr/bin/xbmc.bin: line 135: ulimit: core file size: cannot modify limit: Operation not permitted
xbmc: ulimit is unsupported by this shell
Fatal: no entropy gathering module detected
/usr/bin/xbmc.bin: line 154: 24551 Aborted "$LIBDIR/xbmc/xbmc.bin" $SAVED_ARGS
find: `/root/spot/.xbmc/': No such file or directory
Crash report available at /root/spot/xbmc_crashlog-20140609_131244.log
#
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   44.07 KB
 Viewed   814 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 13:22    Post_subject:  

sorry for not posting ... i had a bit of a big weekend!

thanks everyone for testing ...

built with woof-ce testing tahr-puppy 5.8.0.8
added missing libglamor thanks to 01micko
added WL wireless driver thanks to peebee
added jwmcongig thanks to peebee
added printbackends from precise thanks to jrb
added vmware video driver thanks to mavrothal
various missing libs added
latest flash
palemoon browser
pidgin chat
vlc media player
deadbeef
sylpheed
right click options 'don570'
packit & uxtract 'sfr'
check dependences 'rsh'
get libre office '01micko'

tahr puppy also has python built in.


here is a pet which hopefully fixes cups ... it also adds the two missing symlinks shinobar discovered in the posts above https://www.dropbox.com/s/di1w1h0njytzmky/tahrfix-5.8.0.8.pet

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 13:29    Post_subject:  

James C
my main comp has nvidia graphics and i haven't had a problem with it ... nouveau works straight away .. and the driver compiles and installs ok for me.

sszindian
i finally got cups to print something .... there is a fix (hopefully) in the post above

Billtoo
i've had xbmc & firefox from the ppm working fine in an earlier tahrpup ... i'll test on this one ... maybe something is missing. the PPM is saying somethings are installed when they are not!

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 15:36    Post_subject:  

666philb wrote:

Billtoo
i've had xbmc & firefox from the ppm working fine in an earlier tahrpup ... i'll test on this one ... maybe something is missing. the PPM is saying somethings are installed when they are not!


I think the problem is that I created a .spot-status file and chose to
run some applications as user spot.
The Quicksetup first run settings has the option to run internet
applications as spot and if click on that I'm pretty sure it will
throw a wrench into the works.
Slacko64 has the same problem.
Also, once you try running applications that way there is no undoing it.

I deleted my save file and started over, I compiled the latest wine
and have the windows version of xbmc-12.3 running now, I haven't tried
to install kdegames or xbmc from PPM on this new savefile yet but I will after taking a
snapshot.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.14 KB
 Viewed   733 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 15:51    Post_subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
I think the problem is that I created a .spot-status file and chose to run some applications as user spot.....Also, once you try running applications that way there is no undoing it.

On my desktop, I have a second icon called "safe browser". It links to this script.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
su -l -c "PATH=$PATH LANG=$LANG DISPLAY=$DISPLAY defaultbrowser" spot

In my case, defaultbrowser points to Firefox. Spot's browser profile is set to use Private Browsing Mode.

So I have two choices - my regular browser and one for the darker corners of the Internet (not that I ever go there).

If I suspect that Spot's browser has been hacked, I can just delete its profile and start again. Nothing is lost and an attack can never go beyond Spot's environment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5864
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 16:54    Post_subject:  

Problem may just be on certain Nvidia chips....another frugal install on a box with a different Nvidia chip....no problems.

Code:
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: TahrPup, version 5.8.0.8

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video



Code:
# glxgears
993 frames in 5.0 seconds = 198.568 FPS
1085 frames in 5.0 seconds = 216.952 FPS
1141 frames in 5.0 seconds = 227.956 FPS
1202 frames in 5.0 seconds = 240.398 FPS
1216 frames in 5.0 seconds = 243.040 FPS


Code:
-Computer-
Processor      : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory      : 3887MB (237MB used)
Machine Type      : Physical machine
Operating System      : TahrPup - 5.8.0.8
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Mon 09 Jun 2014 03:54:00 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution      : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.4, 128 bits)
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 607
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 17:10    Post_subject: Printer Problem  

Sorry to say philp, the above patch-pet did NOT fix the printer problem... again, tried with both 3-11 and 3-14 drivers!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 17:34    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
I think the problem is that I created a .spot-status file and chose to run some applications as user spot.....Also, once you try running applications that way there is no undoing it.

On my desktop, I have a second icon called "safe browser". It links to this script.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
su -l -c "PATH=$PATH LANG=$LANG DISPLAY=$DISPLAY defaultbrowser" spot

In my case, defaultbrowser points to Firefox. Spot's browser profile is set to use Private Browsing Mode.

So I have two choices - my regular browser and one for the darker corners of the Internet (not that I ever go there).

If I suspect that Spot's browser has been hacked, I can just delete its profile and start again. Nothing is lost and an attack can never go beyond Spot's environment.


I wanted to run xbmc and vlc as user spot as well, that can be done in
Slacko 5.7 by editing the hidden .spot-status file in the root
directory and then running loginmanager in the terminal.
Was Slacko 5.7 built in woof or woof-ce?
I backed up my savefile and xbmc from PPM installed and ran okay,
after installing 3 udev-136 wary pets from the quirky site on ibiblio
I got kdegames in PPM to install and run but not for long, next bootup
the whole works was broken again.

Maybe the 3 wary udev-136 pets wrecked something, or maybe I should
have done a new manual frugal install instead of just a new savefile.
I'm tired of this for now but will start fresh again at some point,
maybe tomorrow.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 18:51    Post_subject:  

Re printing:

Jrb's fix may have worked for his Brother printer, but it is not a general solution. 666philb's patch PET worked for me, but it's overkill. All I needed was the attached PET, which contains one additional CUPS filter. This worked with several printer models.

BTW, I noticed that an HPLIP package is included in the ISO. This is a bad idea - in a few months it will be obsolete.

Also, the CUPS intro screen has reverted to referencing the dreadful old Puppy CUPS help page. This thing should have been retired long ago.
gstoraster_s533-9.05.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gstoraster_s533-9.05.pet 
Filesize  9.93 KB 
Downloaded  68 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 40 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1155s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]