Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 11:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
TahrPup 5.8.4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 40 [598 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5970
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 09:43    Post subject: Re: Analysis of Pmount opaque display and fix
Subject description: Pmount
 

B.K. Johnson wrote:
Hi All
I complained here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=794716#794716
about the opacity of the Partview and Pmount displays. rcrsn51 invited me in the next post to look at his Partview 2014 here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=642160#642160
It is what I now use.

There was still Pmount.

That's now fixed-sort of. The forum does not allow for posting HTML so I have to send it as an attachment -
Analysis of Pmount opaque display and fix. Also attached is a web page with before and after screenshots.

B.K. Johnson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 18:42    Post subject: Analysis Pmount opacity and fix  

Hi all
Hope this comes through this time

B.K. Johnson
pmount_analysis.zip
Description  Analysis of Pmount opacity
zip

 Download 
Filename  pmount_analysis.zip 
Filesize  109.28 KB 
Downloaded  65 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 56
Location: 45°17'24.9"N 72°16'03.2"W

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 14:04    Post subject: Freecad-dev 0.15
Subject description: SFS
 

If anybody have interest in CAD ,check that, a Freecad 0.15 SFS .Look almost fully functional on TahrPup. Does need a decent machine to run,they say .Its big,but smaller then libreoffice...

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95481

Tahrpup 5.8.3 feel rock solid ,with savefile in folder.

Nice work !
Mr phil, Mr Kauler & all ,thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 00:50    Post subject: Announcng another successful switched-in kernel  

Successfully switched in kernel 3.15.4 to the base tahr-5.8.3 with k3.14.11.
I tried to go online without updating ndiswrapper for the new kernel and as expected failed. As soon as I installed the ndiswrapper-3.15.4, I was online.

@666philb
Thanks for the instructions, ndiswrapper and links.

B.K. Johnson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 01:19    Post subject: Firefox ousts Seamonkey from menu  

This is weird! I have seen it happen twice.

Palemoon comes OOTB with tahrpup-5.8.3. I installed Seamonkey-2.26.0 via quickpet and subsequently updated to 2.26.1. Both were open applications along with Composer in which I was working.

On one occasion, I clicked on a Firefox-30 pet to install it and the other time I installed Firefox via quickpet. Immediately following the petget messages in each case, the Composer page I am writing in suddenly closed and when I looked into the menu, Palemoon and Firefox were there under Internet, but Seamonkey was deleted. Seamonkey-2.26.0 remains listed as an installed app in PPM and so is the newly installed Firefox.

After rebooting, neither Firefox nor Seamonkey is in the menu, nor is there desktop files for either in /usr/share/applications. Seamonkey-2.26.0 is still listed in the PPM but no Firefox. whereis reports seamonkey at: /usr/bin/seamonkey; Firefox is at /usr/lib/mozilla.

It is not a pupsave issue: space available=382MB..

The first time, I was using tahr-5.8.3 k3.14.11; the second k3.15.4. It's not kernel specific either.

Any ideas guys? Can someone try to replicate?

B.K. Johnson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BHINTZ

Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 11:40    Post subject: amazon prime and HAL  

Could someone give me a clue on how to install HAL in tahr. I was able to do this in Lubuntu and could watch amazon prime, but would like to do it with puppy.

Thanks, bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1944
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 09:35    Post subject: Re: amazon prime and HAL  

BHINTZ wrote:
Could someone give me a clue on how to install HAL in tahr. I was able to do this in Lubuntu and could watch amazon prime, but would like to do it with puppy.

Thanks, bob


try installing the i386 debs from here https://launchpad.net/~mjblenner/+archive/ubuntu/ppa-hal/+packages?field.name_filter=&field.status_filter=published&field.series_filter=trusty then type
Code:
hald
into a terminal and then launch the browser.
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1944
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 11:21    Post subject:  

tahrpup 5.8.3.rc1

updated....

palemoon 24.7.1
geany 1.24.1
urxvt 9.20 (note that if you install the devx urxvt will have tabs)
isomaster 1.3.11
pavrecord 9.0.5
pburn 4.3.8
pfind 5.13
mhwaveedit 1.4.9
asunder 2.4
deadbeef 0.6.2
quickpet 1.4
sfs_load 2.2
grub4dos 1.9.2
ffconvert 1.4.2
defaults chooser 0.9
various ubuntu packages updated in build

added
ndiswrapper
azpainter (trying this as a replacement for mtpaint... see what you think)
iQpuzzle game

includes all bug fixes to date (hopefully)
fixed pmount to make more readable

removed libqt4webkit .... hopefully it doesn't break anything
removed gstreamer 1.0 (was only there for new skype)

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ibiblio/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-tahr/
capture24870.png
 Description   
 Filesize   101.55 KB
 Viewed   2086 Time(s)

capture24870.png


_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642

Last edited by 666philb on Thu 04 Sep 2014, 03:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BHINTZ

Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 12:02    Post subject:  

Thanks for response.

It certainly looked like the right stuff, but I couldn't connect.

I have updated to rc1 and still couldn't connect. I even tried it in palemoon, as I usually use firefox.

Even other suggestions would be welcome. When I tried to run "hald" I did not get any report concerning its activity, so I am not certain that it did anything. Could that be the problem.

bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1944
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 12:33    Post subject:  

hi BHINTZ

exit the browser and try deleting /root/.adobe see if it works then

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1927
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 12:54    Post subject:  

Wow, 666philb, TahrPup is amazing. Thank you very much for your hard work!
_________________
My homepage
My GitHub profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
perdido

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 96
Location: Omicron Persei 8

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 18:23    Post subject:  

Booted puppy_tahr_5.8.3.rc1.sfs with the optional kernel 3.9.94_non_PAE on a frugal install.

Computer Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop.

Had to rename the puppy_tahr_5.8.3.rc1.sfs to puppy_tahr_5.8.3.sfs to boot.

Everything looks good, time to play.

Thanks 666philb!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 251
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 19:41    Post subject:  

sketchman wrote:
666philb wrote:
sketchman wrote:
Weird thing just happened.

I plugged in an Android phone via USB, and it brought up the install partition for the MTP stuff which shows up in Puppy as an optical icon on the desktop.

Then all the drive icons disappeared and now they won't stay up.

I can restart X and they pop up as usual, then they disappear and don't come back until X is restarted.

Any ideas?


hi sketchman,

is the bug repeatable? can you try booting live and plugging your phone in to see if it happens again.

I will check and report back.


Tried it just now. Not only does the phone make it do it, but it seems that any optical drive via usb connection does it. I just did it with a CD-ROM connected vie usb. Same deal. As soon as the CD is unmounted and the icon disappears so do all the others, and they never come back for good. Just flash up for a few seconds and go away again.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BHINTZ

Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2014, 00:34    Post subject:  

I deleted /root/.adobe and restarted browser FF and signed in. It updated adobe and almost started, but then I got the sorry message and DRM problem.

otherwise, rc1 is outstanding

bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2014, 03:12    Post subject:  

Updated 5.8.3 without any major issues.
Nice build!
The only thing was that quickpet after an update offers and installs tahr fixes 1.5. Should it be so? Aren't all fixes included in the ISO or this is because of the update as oppose to fresh install?

BTW is that a fresh woof build or a "manual" remaster of 5.8.3. If the former, where is the code? Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 40 [598 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0931s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0103s) ][ GZIP on ]