Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 16:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to make a pet or sfs of Google Earth 64?.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jun 2014, 19:17    Post subject:  How to make a pet or sfs of Google Earth 64?.
Subject description: For Lighthouse64
 

Hi

I've downloaded and extracted the .deb of Google Earth 64, which only comes in .deb or .rpm... no .tar that I've been able to find.

It looks like I'm going to have to manually move all the files to where they go, then repackage it for a sfs or pet for lighthouse/fatdog.

Kind of at a loss where to begin with this...

Not even exactly sure what questions to ask, aside from not knowing where many of the files go.

Could some folks help me develop and implement a plan here?

Thanks in advance

Eathray

Note:
I should have mentioned I'm in the 5xx series for Fatdog and Lighthouse: Fatdog64-520 Lighthouse64-514b.

Last edited by Eathray on Sun 15 Jun 2014, 15:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 13:55    Post subject:  

Well...

okay, so i've extracted the deb files on the official package from google, and I see a lot of .so stuff, which I'm pretty sure go in lib64, and there's a bin file, which obviously must go in bin, but there's a lot of other files that I'm not really sure about. Should I just start putting things where I think they should go? I'm wondering if the end result will be understood by the system, or if I'm going to need a bunch of sym links telling files where to look for stuff...?

I tried something else as well. I found a deb to tar conversion tool online, so I uploaded the deb and converted it to a tar, downloaded it, and clicked it. The cpu spiked a bit, then nothing... so it tried to do something, but didn't. I right-clicked it and made it executable just in case... still nothing.

I guess my thought here is I need to get it working here in lighthouse before I do anything, then I can make a package for it.

Any suggestions as to how I should proceed?

Thanks

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8181

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 14:32    Post subject:  

No deb2pet utility in there ?.....

All I can do is quote what I do with debs... I open them with Xarchive and then extract the lot to a premade folder.

That folder then can be converted to a pet or sfs with the dir2pet and dir2sfs (if there is one)... everything should be in the correct place as determined by the deb.

A quick install method would be to extract to / but in that case there would be no uninstall available.

Of course lighthouse might not be so straightforward..I have a copy for testing qemu but I find it most confusing.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 14:44    Post subject:  

Hey Mike,

I can always count on you Wink

Well, if there's a deb2pet here... I don't know where it is (you mean as a part of lighthouse of course) but I'll look for it.

Where should a pre-made folder go to? root?

It seems like there should be a install process that takes place, but I don't really get anything. I know that the pet manager in lighthouse generally knows how to deal with debs because I've installed them before... but not this one. I tried some tar install code in a console, but that didn't do anything either.

?

The files for this thing all just remain in a folder... nothing really goes out there into the system.

Thoughts?

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8181

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 14:57    Post subject:  

hmm ok so its a stubborn deb then ...... do you have a link to the one you are trying and I'll see what its about.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 15:02    Post subject:  

Yup,

http://www.google.com/earth/download/ge/agree.html

I tried the 64bit deb because I don't know the first thing about rpm, which is also available.

Note:
I just read on a slack blog that this supposed 64bit gig from google is actually 32 bit in a 64bit wrapper... so I just mounted my 64-32 bit compatibility sfs and will try again. I don't know if this is reliable info or not.

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8181

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 15:43    Post subject:  

welll xarchived opened it and I made an sfs...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/110545536/Puppy/google-earth-64.sfs

menu entry might not work but should run from the command line to test

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 16:04    Post subject:  

What was that, Mike?

I couldn't hear over the sound of how awesome you are Cool

I'm going to delete my mess and try it out.

be back soon.

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 18:04    Post subject:  

well,

Nothing.

I tried it in Lighthouse64 and Fatdog64 and it returns an error. Failed to load child process. No such file or directory. This is referring to /usr/bin/googleearth-bin.

I went there, and there is a sym link to the file which is actually in /opt/google/ etc. Is a sym link not good enough? does it need the actual bin file to be located in /usr/bin?

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8181

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 18:57    Post subject:  

symlink should be no problem.

No file or directory...I got that today trying to run 32 bit QEMU in lighthouse pup which made me think of your earlier wrapper comments.

You're going to make me boot lighthouse...I can tell... well perhaps in a bit or tommorrow when I am in a suitable mood for the thing Very Happy

Well making the sfs was no problem...now we just have google earth to sort out. Very Happy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 20:23    Post subject:  

Appreciate it Mike... and hey... booting Lighthouse isn't a bad thing Razz Tazoc did a pretty amazing job on that rig.

I'll have to wait for you and others... I have no idea how to fix this one.

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 861
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 21:47    Post subject:  

Eathray wrote:
I tried it in Lighthouse64 and Fatdog64 and it returns an error. Failed to load child process. No such file or directory. This is referring to /usr/bin/googleearth-bin.

I went there, and there is a sym link to the file which is actually in /opt/google/ etc. Is a sym link not good enough? does it need the actual bin file to be located in /usr/bin?


I have never booted Lighthouse64 and have very little experience of the 64bit distros, but I can tell you that in the 32bit ones you have to add another symlink otherwise you get that error concerning googleearth-bin not found even though it is in the path.

So in /lib you have to add a symlink named ld-lsb.so.3 which points to ld-linux.so.2 (which in fact is also a symlink to another lib).

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8181

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 05:43    Post subject:  

ah that would make quite a difference if its looking for that.... symlinks save the day perhaps. In that case it probably will want a desktop file making and thats that.

Hmm have not got around to testing myself... I find lighthouse slightly horrible but perhaps its just got too many puppyisms for me and I like fast distros.

I found sfs_load broken when trying to load to ram due to some change in free.

Well you probably will have this running before me.. Very Happy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 09:50    Post subject:  

Hey Oscar,

Thanks for jumping in. I'll give it a whirl and report back.

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 10:48    Post subject:  

K,

OscarTalks said:
Quote:
So in /lib you have to add a symlink named ld-lsb.so.3 which points to ld-linux.so.2 (which in fact is also a symlink to another lib).


So I found ld-linux.so.2 in /lib32, and made the sym-link ld-lsb.so.3 then put it in the same location. No result.

I'm wondering if this link needs to be in /lib64 since that is the primary location for libs in Lighthouse64. Suggestions?

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0777s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]